We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my sister for a one night spa break. It was lovely and we were even given a complimentary upgrade to
Suite which was a nice surprise as it was my sisters birthday. We had afternoon tea before we had our treatments and this was a big let down! We paid £30.00 for a few finger sandwiches, 1 rock hard scone each and two extremely tiny cakes each (not even a mouth full per cake) really not worth £30.00 in the slightest so that was a disappointment! Our treatments we had were lovely and dinner in the evening was good apart from the main I had gnocchi which came out in huge balls not the normal small size gnocchi you get, it was so hard I had to leave it because I couldn't cut through it! The chef did send his apologises though. Overall a really nice stay, friendly staff and hopefully we would stay again but certainly not for afternoon tea!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloeh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Whilst we were pleased to read all the good points we were disappointed that the afternoon tea experience didn't live up to our expectations as well as your own and please accept our apologies. We are having a meeting tomorrow to review this and to make the necessary improvements. I know that chef has already reduced the size of the gnocchi after you mentioned this so thank you for your valuable feedback. We are of course relieved and delighted that this has not deterred you from returning and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I don't usually write these reviews as I either agree with the ratings or don't see much point in writing them!
However me and my boyfriend decided to stay here for a night with bed&breakfast using the spa facilities and having an evening meal there also. I have to say it was lovely!

I noticed a few reviews downgraded the Acorns restaurant so I was slightly reserved about eating there for dinner and breakfast but wow. Service was lovely, food was incredible; very filling and worth the money!
The spa was a slight let down with the water in the pool being cooler than liked but still great experience.
The room we had was excellent. The view from the balcony was lovely, the bed was gigantic and bathroom was amazing!
The surroundings and greenery were lovely to explore and sunbathe on!
Overall a fabulous experience in a place worthy of great reviews from a normal person's perspective. A great bit of R&R for a couple :)

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkh109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

You’re welcome and we are just delighted that you felt compelled to write about the great time you had with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Cornwall and do come back for some more R&R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

What a weekend excellent acomodation excellent staff excellent everything Kerri my therapist was amazing such a lovely young lady can't wait to come again and relax and enjoy didn't want to come home girls night in package is perfect for what we wanted are lodge was gorgeous and immaculate throughout

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

What can we say but thank you and we are just thrilled that you all had such a great time. Our Girls Night In & Cosy Night in offers are just perfect for friends (and family) who want to get away for that all important break in our self-catering Woodland Homes. Kerri is a great member of the team and she was delighted to see her name mentioned. Thank you once again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Visited with my mum for my 20th birthday, we got a great last minute deal which included breakfast and use of the spa facilities - definitely check out booking.com and travelzoo, as well as secret escapes & laterooms...weather was perfect, hot and sunny, and we got to the hotel a bit early, about 3 - luckily our room was ready early, so we settled in and had a glass of the complementary sparkling water on the balcony in the sunshine! After that we had a lovely (and decently priced) cream tea on the terrace at the front, it overlooks the meadows...the scones were the best we've ever had!

The spa closes at 8pm on Saturday, so after a quick jaunt to the beach, we headed to the spa - the infinity pool is beautiful, and the sauna/stream room/jacuzzi are all pretty good - the pool wasn't particularly busy so had a very relaxing swim! Afterwards, we got fruit smoothies from the juice bar in our robes and sat outside in the sun (there is a terrace outside the pool with beautiful views over parkland). As we booked last minute the spa was fully booked for treatments, but we still had a very relaxing experience, and will definitely be visiting again for massage.

Had dinner in the Acorns brasserie, pretty decently priced and really delicious food, but not a great deal of choice, and also slightly on the slow side - however waiting staff were very friendly and attentive. Ended the evening with a lovely bubblebath, the bathrooms are done to a very high standard, and had an excellent nights sleep on the super comfy beds!

We got up early on Sunday - another beautiful day - and walked the cyle trail to Pentewan beach, you can pick it up just across the road from the hotel, and it goes through woodland, fields etc, really beautiful, and great for hearing early morning birdsong! The terrain is flat and mostly concrete/path/road so very accessible. We didn't quite make it to the beach, as need to head back for breakfast, but definitely worth doing if you've got a spare couple of hours.

Breakfast was fantastic. We had it out on the terrace at the front, and it was a buffet style, with a large range of options, mini pastries, fruits, cereals, juices, cooked breakfast, scrambled eggs and everything was very well judged...the coffee was great, and the clotted cream porridge was delicious! Waiting staff were very attentive.

All in all a fantasic stay, the most memorable thing was the amount of birdsong - because the hotel is surrounded by woodland, there is a lot of birdsong, which was really calming. The whole site has a chilled vibe, and it was just a fantastic birthday getaway, will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank person94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Many happy returns once again and thank you for your really kind and generous comments. Our best priced offers are available by signing up to our email newsletter which can be found on our website especially our “Cornwall Mini Break” which is our best price. -just a handy hint. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you return back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Amazing spa and treatments and had a lovely room. Food could of been a bigger selection but it was still nice. All staff where really helpful and friendly and made me feel welcome. I visit Cornwall once a month and I will definitely be coming back as it was good value and has lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

You have really made our day with your great review and thank you for taking the time and effort to let us know. Of course we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Myself and 5 friends had the most amazing time. The spa treatments were a delight. Nothing was to much bother for the staff. The accommodation was immaculate and well presented. We had self catering accommodation which was made even better as there was a fantastic welcome pack which included bread, milk, jam, butter and apple juice. All the products were locally produced and really helped to showcase Cornwallis products.

Definitely going to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumsweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your really kind words and review. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at The Cornwall. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Visited for lunch and then use of the spa with a treatment. We were lucky as the weather was lovely and we could relax outside in the courtyard and in the walled garden by the pool. There were quite a few people but it was not crowded and there was a sense of space. The atmosphere was definitely relaxing. The facilities were very good and clean - with an infinity pool opening up into the garden and large jacuzzi. Little disappointed in the lunch at the spa as a little dry and bland. Will try lunch at the hotel next time. Had The Clearing as a massage and it was excellent. I have a bad shoulder and the masseuse took notice of this. Would recommend this spa and am looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We were just delighted that you had an enjoyable day at our Clearing Spa and really lucky with the wonderful weather. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you return back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
905 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing