We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We had a room in the original house that overlooked the garden. A lovely room with a very comfortable bed. The spa was great, well worth a visit.
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds.
One evening we had a meal in the Arboretum restaurant and this was excellent. During the meal there was a fire alarm but this was dealt with quickly and efficiently and a member of staff came round afterwards to personally apologise and explain. We also had a letter in our room to apologise these were nice touches to show how important the guests are. All the staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast was pretty good as well. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vickspick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and comments and we are delighted that you had a great stay with us. Sorry again about the fire alarm, better safe than sorry and thank you for being so understanding. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Fabulous time, staff were extremely friendly, accommodation and facilities were great - we will definetly be returning for another spa break - thank you.
Feel that the hotel has really thought through the full customer experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloggs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your really kind words of praise. The team and I were just delighted that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Myself and my wife who is six months pregnant stayed for two nights to relax before baby arrives. The location and pool are very nice but the service is poor. Staff are friendly but very inexperienced. After choosing their 'fine dinning' for dinner one night, the food was very nice but the service was poor, after asking twice for a glass of wine with my meal, I gave up in the end and just had water that was on the table!

I treated my wife to a treatment in the spa (which wasn't cheap), when she arrived they had over booked the treatment rooms so she had to sit behind the reception/waiting area while they carried out the treatment, very crammed in as two other treatments were happening at the same time.

The bedroom was nice and spacious, although we had two single beds pushed together with a very uncomfortable mattress on top.

The pool area is really nice and wasn't over crouded which was lovely.

We wouldn't rush back as we emailed the hotel twice after we left, also completed their customer card feedback form, they didn't bother to reply to any of these (not sure why they ask you to complete a customer comments card if they don't respond), all they sent through was their automatic email thanking us for our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marky2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Clearly we have continual training to carry out with our new employees; however that said there are areas in which we did not deliver our usual high standard and for this please accept our sincere apologies. We have received your second email and will be contacting you directly. Sorry one again but thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for the weekend in very nice large room !

Great company and fab weather so we had a good time!

However the rooms with balcony overlook a weed filled large gap between two buildings ! Not a good outlook !

The staff at the hotel were very inexperienced, two members of staff apologising for bad service by stating they had only been in employment there for a short time !

I had a facial in the spa which was not cheap ! However, this was done in complete silence by the therapist as there was that much interference on the music system that she had to turn it off. Then just as I was drifting off she had a text message ( or alert) come through on her mobile ! Not the best spa experience that I have had !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hils550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We can only agree with you, we have taken on a large number of new staff and are currently carrying out on the job training with them, so our apologies that this was more than noticeable until we have the new team members up to scratch. We were however horrified to read about the mobile phone issue and please be assured that this is currently being addressed - our humble apologies. The gardening team are working their way throughout the estate, this is behind schedule as the winter storms caused several problems throughout the 43 acre Estate – but I will make sure the weeds are made a priority. Thank you for your comments which we find extremely important to keep us focused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate last December to celebrate a friends birthday as we were looking for something a little different, and fancied getting away for a couple of days - we were not disappointed.

The Woodland Homes are beautiful, to the point we're considering investing in one. They are warm, comfortable, well equipped, and make you feel that you are living in absolute luxury for the time you are there. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen perfect for preparing dinner for 5 to 6 people, and the balconies lovely in the evening when you can sit out and just watch the world go by.

My one slight issue was that there was a group of kids wandering around on the Saturday night, one of whom chose to throw a stick at our window (I say stick, it was quite a large stick!) - but this can't be put on the hotel and by no means impacted on our enjoyment of our time there.

All in all we loved it so much that we are already looking to book for this coming December for a weekend once again.

Room Tip: Go for a Woodland Home if you really want to feel as if you're out and about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

What a lovely review and in taking the time and effort to put this on TripAdvisor. The Woodland Homes are just wonderful. I remember seeing inside them for the first time when I started and I fell in love them straight away. We have a couple of Woodland Homes for sale as this moment in time if I can tempt you further. We look forward to seeing you back again in December and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay. Nice modern room with a big sun-filled balcony looking over the vast grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening meal was good. The meal was maybe a little pricey compared to other local places if you were paying the listed price (we had a package) but then it is a hotel restaurant so maybe to be expected.

Didn't get chance to use the spa (and we didn't book far enough in advance for treatments as they're pretty popular) but our friends used the tennis court which they enjoyed.

If you're looking for a place to eat there was a nice place less than 5 minutes away by taxi called Kingswood Bar & Restaurant where we had some great food. We were lucky as we came late but you may need to book otherwise.

Overall we had a great time, wish it were longer and we'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDT1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your really wonderful review and comments. The Spa does get busy as you said and sorry that you were unable to experience this to the full. Hopefully next time you return you’ll be able to chill and relax with one or more of our fabulous treatments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My new husband and myself recently celebrated our wedding at the cornwall, the wedding coordinator Anji was wonderful, really efficient and nothing was too much trouble, unfortunately, when she leaves for the day you are left with some very inexperienced staff.

When we booked the venue we paid a £500 pound sole use fee for the arboretum restaurant, we were told it was ours to do what we wanted with for the night! However, this is not the case, at 11pm a member of staff turned our music down to background level and we were told we were being too noisy!

The cornwall need to consider when they take several thousand pounds from you that you may actually want to 'celebrate' your wedding!

A poor ending to a lovely day!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Angie is a star and I am delighted that she looked after you and your husband on your special day along with your 14 guests in our Arboretum Restaurant. We hire the Arboretum for small intimate weddings whereas we use our Acorns for larger wedding celebrations who have an evening reception with a band or disco and therefore expect a certain noise level for such an event. Whilst I am more than honest to hold up our hands and state that my Restaurant Manager should have handled the noise level in a more personable way, by requesting that the music be turned down as we have other guests in the bedrooms above – she automatically turned down your music without speaking to you. I have since discussed this with her and carried out remedial training. She was concerned for other guests in the hotel and for a small wedding party the noise was at an unacceptable level despite her making several requests to have your music turned down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
927 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing