We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A first class stay from start to finish. The hotel is beautiful and the room was one of the finest we've stayed in. The hotel is situated in stunning grounds and conveniently close to lots of interesting locations. The staff were very pleasant and we felt very welcome and relaxed throughout. The spa is excellent and we enjoyed it very much. The highlight had to be the amazing evening meal we had. The quality of food and service is as good as anywhere we've been before. This is an excellent choice for a special weekend away!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    664
    269
    133
    51
See reviews for
344
1,174
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our second stay at the hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. We like the location which is great for Eden, Heligan and not far from all the other places in Cornwall. We are very impressed by the service provided by the staff team, they are friendly and professional. The bed is amazing, the balcony is a great outside space to chill and the pool and spa facilities are great. We will be back!
Peter H

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had one night there, stop over. Nice place, very friendly staff, beautiful rooms, nice pool but.. Poor breaky..? I mean i had far better ones in premier inn... Just wasnt much to choose from n if u are picky eater then oooh not good...But! Still, would stay again. So give it a go.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night only, as we went to see Elbow at the Eden Project. It was our first time at the hotel and we had no trouble finding it. It is located in the countryside, with pretty gardens and nice views. The hotel is decorated very nicely and was very clean and tidy. There were lots of staff on hand, who were all very friendly and welcoming. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was one of the lodge style rooms, with a balcony. It was a large room, with a modern bathroom and very tastefully decorated. Bed was lovely and comfortable. We ate in the 'Acorn' restaurant for our evening meal before the gig and it was a very nice meal and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice. It took us 15 Minutes to get to the Eden Project. Thoroughly recommend staying here and will definitely stay again when we go to the Eden Project.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismaning, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Although the hotel is only 4 years old it is already showing signs of wear and tear. It has the atmosphere of a hotel that the management have given up on. In fact the hotel is currently up for sale. The grounds have been allowed to become overgrown, the view from my balcony was of a piece of waste ground containing discarded building material, the restaurants were shabby and in parts not very clean. I sampled the food by chef Paul Stephens who claims to have trained under Heston Blumenthal, all I can say is he was not paying attention. The food was far from fine dining, being rather ordinary and only just to an acceptable standard. I noticed several of my fellow diners complaining about aspects of their meals.

The room was comfortable but a long, long walk from reception, up stairs and sloping corridors. (Having stairs and sloping corridors is completely unacceptable in a modern hotel.) The balcony like much of the hotel could do with some routine care and attention especially to the peeling paintwork.

Car parking is terrible, as mentioned by another reviewer, a goodly walk from the hotel, up a long flight of steps and through the overgrown gardens. I did notice, on the way, the children's play area with a sand pit more weeds that sand and some interesting tree carvings almost completely covered in vegetation.

Also visited, but did not use, the spar which is in a building separated from the main hotel. As this is Cornwall my visit involved an unpleasant walk in the rain.

The staff were in the main very pleasant, however they were few in number, generally overworked and not well trained.

The public rooms did not seem adequately sized for the size of the hotel and contained a mixture of artwork by a modern artist I did not care for and uninspiring Victorian landscapes

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, it was expensive and very poor value for money. Perhaps when it has changed hands and some professional management has been installed it could become a good hotel again.

Room Tip: Access to all the rooms is difficult for all but the fit and active
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a gem of a hotel, set in quiet country surroundings. Friendly staff, very accomodating. Praise must go to Head Chef, Paul Stephens, who has created four unforgettable meals whilst I stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TG-Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Impossible to give this hotel a good rating because the parking arrangements are so terrible.
I didn't expect to find myself parking in a field and having to take a detour around wire fencing and then right around the hotel to reach reception, this would be unacceptable in good weather but even worse when it rains, it poured when I visited but the remoteness of the parking and the clear lack of security shows a lack of consideration for drivers.
A pity because the staff and the hotel are excellent otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quarryjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
20.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing