We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just celebrated our first wedding anniversary at The Cornwall and had a fantastic time. Food was great, service fantastic and an amazing spa treatment topped it off. We visited for the first time 2 years ago and decided to visit again and this visit was as good as the first. Do feel it's more suited to couples rather than families.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank glamour1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at room 111 and 112, checking out tomorrow. Do not stay at this hotel, when we checked in the tvs and phones were not working. Breakfast on the 2nd was a disaster, no toast and cheese in the buffet, you need to order in advance, service is far too slow, they got us the toasts after we finished eating. Very impolite staff, they came and asked me to sign the bill while am still waiting on the toasts. Also the waitress wrote the order on her hands çz there was no paper to write on. Order on the 2nd day(today) never showed up, we are ordered the breakfast at 8 45 and it is now 9 30 and nothing, despite we called the reception twice. do not stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alloosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here last year with partner.good hotel & food was lovely.has really nice pool & spa area.would say is more of a hotel for couples not so much for children or young families.would be great for a special occasion for a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-louise1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for a three night break a few weeks ago, as we combined it with a trip to see Ellie Goulding at the Eden Sessions.

We had an amazing week, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

The food was fabulous, very tasty and I would highly recommend eating in the restaurant. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was lovely. Two evening meals we had as well, lush, lush food. The service was impeccable.

The room we had was lovely, very spacious and we had a balcony. Bathroom was very spacious and the cleanliness of the room and hotel was amazing.

It was very quiet as we staying Monday to Thursday, it was lovely.

We had a spa treatment whilst we were there, all over body massage, It was amazing.
I cant say enough about our stay here, even the weather was great.

Only downside we found is we took our bikes and there is no where to securely keep your bike under lock and key, so we had the pain in the rear task of using the bikes then putting them in the car on top of each other.

An amazing place to stay if you want luxury, amazing food, amazing spa, comfy bed.

Room Tip: Book the spa treatment way in advance. Look for special offers on their site for three night breaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michellephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went for a short family trip for 5 days to Cornwall with our three small boys. We had an abolutely wonderful time in both Cornwall and in the hotel The Cornwall. The hotel is a delight, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was very nice and the SPA was lovely.

We stayed in the lovely spacious Junior Suite which was a very nice sized room with a great bathroom as well.

With three young boys we can be a bit of a handful but the hotel was perfect for us and our children. There was plenty to eat for the children in both the lovely breakfast buffet and the kids menu in the restaurant. There is also a kids playground, a kids cinema in the afternoon and great fun to be had in the swimming pool. We all had a great time and hope to come back soon.

Highly recommended for both familes or a couple looking a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for two nights for our Anniversary. Very polite and attentive staff even when passing in the corridors. Excellent breakfast whether the buffet or chosen from the breakfast menu and again very attentive staff. We did not have an evening meal or manage enough time to use the spa facilities. That was our fault considering the price you pay is comparatively more than average. Room was excellent with the balcony catching the beautiful morning sun. We found the wi-fi very good. We would recommend the rooms on the upper floor. We would certainly book again.

Room Tip: We would avoid 141 or 140 as they are adjacent to the exit door from the Hotel to the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveJquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Cornwall as part of our Honeymoon, touring the West Country. On arrival we were greeted by a joy-less receptionist, who was clearly bored of having to rattle off the 'welcome to the Cornwall' spiel that she has to say every day to so many people. Our room was in the main house, where no attention to detail had been given. The lighting was poor, there was nowhere to sit and do your hair or make-up, there was no bin in the bedroom, the bed had seen better days (2 big dips either side where the bodies went, and a bit hump in the middle). Our room was directly overlooked by the chalet-type rooms behind, but there was no screen to our windows, meaning we had to either keep the curtains closed or give the people in the rooms opposite an eyeful! In the 'lounge' area of the room, people walking in the corridor could see directly in.

There is little or no sound insulation and we could hear every movement in the corridor and in the adjacent rooms. So when they started hoovering at 9am on Sunday morning, we were over the moon....

The bar had absolutely no atmosphere and each time we went we had to wait a good 10 minutes to be served, even though there were rarely more than half a dozen people in there.

There were one or two good members of staff. On the first night we returned late to the hotel and as we;d had a few bravery pints, we asked the barman to please turn off Norah Jones as it seemed to be playing on repeat from the moment we stepped into the hotel; and he obliged, replacing it with a bit of Abba Gold, to our delight.

Also the Spa staff are professional and welcoming. We both had an excellent treatment, and came out feeling incredibly relaxed.

On our trip we have stayed in all different types of accommodation, but we have to say that this was the worst, and one of the most expensive. However, we did have a wonderful time visiting the surrounding area, so all was not lost.

Room Tip: Dont ask for room 107! (it's the one with the pointless staircase to nowhere in it!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marita9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing