We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is a bit of a haven away from the hordes of tourists in the small seaside towns. The rooms are very spacious and have their own balcony. The staff are helpful and the food very good.
The patio on the front is a great place to enjoy one of their amazing cream teas. One of the best I have ever tasted. Croquet on the lawn and badminton were great to while away the odd hour on a lazy afternoon.
I have given this hotel a rating of four out of five simply because they seemed to be slightly understaffed which meant that service was quite slow. Ordering drinks from the bar seemed to take a lifetime as did the cream teas on the patio. Apart from this, the staff were faultless and endeavoured to be helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    651
    261
    128
    50
See reviews for
333
1,153
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel on Bank Holiday Monday. We booked 2 rooms and we arrived at the hotel at 15:05. Our rooms or at least one of them wasn't ready which we felt was extremely poor. The Receptionist looked bored and had no get up and go. We said we would sit in the bar area and get a coffee and wait for our rooms. We were disappointed that we were not offered complimentary drinks as the rooms weren't ready until 15:40 which is clearly after their stated check-in time. Unfortunately, this left me with the feeling that our rooms probably hadn't been cleaned properly as they had to turn them around quickly.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and was nice with an open plan bathroom, separate WC and nice view. What was disappointing was the lack of lights (especially for ladies putting on make-up and drying hair etc). Also disappointing was there was no air con and the room was very hot. We slept with the patio doors open. The pillows were also disappointingly thin.

We booked a table for dinner in the main restaurant and decided to have a drink in the bar beforehand. There was only one other party in the bar but we still had to go to the bar to order drinks. We also had coffee in the bar after dinner. Again we ordered our drinks at the bar even though we were the only guests in the area. The bar area was lacking in atmosphere. Dinner was nice and both members of staff serving were very polite and helpful.

Checkout the next day was ok however, whilst I was waiting for my husband to get the car a guest came to Reception and made a request regarding his room. When he left the Reception the Receptionist made a call probably to Housekeeping and I heard her say the guest was apparently awkward! Even if he was this was not very professional.

The following morning we had breakfast which was ok. There was several members of staff serving etc but the manager seemed to be running around doing a lot of the work. The milk and orange juice were not replenished sufficiently and the toast/tea/coffee took quite some time to arrive.

Overall my view of the hotel was a nice building and surroundings but had no atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie_P_2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My twin sister and I stayed here for our birthday and there are some lovely things about the hotel but also some things in need of improvement and some oddities.

We asked for a twin room they unfortunately couldn’t accommodate. We were also given one of the odd open plan rooms which means the bathroom (excluding toilet) is in the same room as the bed and lounge space. It’s the first time I’ve come across a room like this and found it odd, that tea and coffee is made next to the shower behind the bed. Not even a shower curtain for frosted shower screen for a tiny bit of privacy.

The hotel itself was nice and the food okay. The service was friendly but unfortunately incredibly slow, I mean really slow, don’t go the restaurant hungry because it will be ages before you’re even given a bit of crusty bread and you have to prod them several times for that. A friend left a gift at the hotel to be delivered on our birthday and it was delivered the next day just before we checked out, slow!

Highlight of our stay was the hot lava shell massage, fab.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just celebrated our first wedding anniversary at The Cornwall and had a fantastic time. Food was great, service fantastic and an amazing spa treatment topped it off. We visited for the first time 2 years ago and decided to visit again and this visit was as good as the first. Do feel it's more suited to couples rather than families.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glamour1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at room 111 and 112, checking out tomorrow. Do not stay at this hotel, when we checked in the tvs and phones were not working. Breakfast on the 2nd was a disaster, no toast and cheese in the buffet, you need to order in advance, service is far too slow, they got us the toasts after we finished eating. Very impolite staff, they came and asked me to sign the bill while am still waiting on the toasts. Also the waitress wrote the order on her hands çz there was no paper to write on. Order on the 2nd day(today) never showed up, we are ordered the breakfast at 8 45 and it is now 9 30 and nothing, despite we called the reception twice. do not stay at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alloosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here last year with partner.good hotel & food was lovely.has really nice pool & spa area.would say is more of a hotel for couples not so much for children or young families.would be great for a special occasion for a couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-louise1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for a three night break a few weeks ago, as we combined it with a trip to see Ellie Goulding at the Eden Sessions.

We had an amazing week, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

The food was fabulous, very tasty and I would highly recommend eating in the restaurant. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was lovely. Two evening meals we had as well, lush, lush food. The service was impeccable.

The room we had was lovely, very spacious and we had a balcony. Bathroom was very spacious and the cleanliness of the room and hotel was amazing.

It was very quiet as we staying Monday to Thursday, it was lovely.

We had a spa treatment whilst we were there, all over body massage, It was amazing.
I cant say enough about our stay here, even the weather was great.

Only downside we found is we took our bikes and there is no where to securely keep your bike under lock and key, so we had the pain in the rear task of using the bikes then putting them in the car on top of each other.

An amazing place to stay if you want luxury, amazing food, amazing spa, comfy bed.

Room Tip: Book the spa treatment way in advance. Look for special offers on their site for three night breaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
833 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing