We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, facilities and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed for a weekend break with my partner and we were extremely pleased with our choice.

We stayed in a woodland room and considered it to be larger than the photos suggest, all brand new and stylishly decorated, giant bathrooms, and a good size balcony/patio too.

Breakfast buffet each day was superb and dinner in the bistro was tasty with good portions, although a little pricey for wine. All staff members were polite and welcoming and a credit to the company.

The spa and pool are worth a visit, even if just for a casual swim. The grounds are good and the hotel bar/terrace is sunny and comfortable, with nice views over the grounds.

The hotel is conveniently located for much of SE Cornwall and there are some lovely fishing villages nearby as well as the Eden Project.

We got fed up looking at typical tired British "hall" hotels and wanted something modern but charming and we got just that. Would stay again for sure!

two points:
- If staying in hotter months, the rooms are SE facing so get warm, if you don't close the curtains through the day! If you prefer to leave the patio door open overnight, and are worried about security, ask for an upstairs room
- At checkout, we were asked to pay in full - despite paying through Lastminute upfront! Upon checking, this was resolved. No idea what caused that, but take proof of payment with you if not booking directly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oversteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,037 - 2,043 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Went for a 3 night midweek break instead of a summer holiday abroad. Booked (and came accross the hotel) via laterooms.com and paid £160-£170 per night for a duluxe room.

Hotel is very new, rooms were fantastic and bed very comfy. Onsite gym and pool were great. didn't use the spa treatments becaus ethey're not really my thing and were quite expensive.

Every member of staff we spoke with was polite and pleased to help.

Hotel quite empty when we were there which was actually great for us! If you want a lovely short break as a couple I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossfromOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Just returned from a 3 night Great Getaway package in a Deluxe Woodland hotel room and can't stop raving about this place to everyone! From arrival to departure we couldn't have wished for anything more.

Our upper level room with balcony was stunning (spotless, stylish, lavishly cosy comfy with particularly beautiful wallpaper!), hotel and spa staff magnificent (friendly, attentive, charming, helpful and flexible), bar and restaurants utterly delicious (everything that passed our lips was a top rate taste sensation), grounds gorgeous (picturesque, peaceful and finally flourishing) and the spa heavenly (serene, sublime)... There just aren't enough positive adjectives to express how special this place is!

The staff provide all the extra little touches to make your stay feel bespoke and were happy to accommodate any cheeky requests we had, from late checkout to custom pizza toppings!

The location is perfect for enjoying all the delights Cornwall has to offer with the lovely lazy South coast a leisurely stroll, jog or bike ride away (down the fabulous riverside woodland trail, accessible opposite the hotel entrance), the buzzing North coast easily reached by car within half an hour, 10 mins drive to the Eden project and many more attractions to visit and explore if you can manage to drag yourself away from the hotel room/bar/spa!!

We were genuinely sad to leave and as much as we love to try new places we'd love even more to stay here again next time we venture down to Cornwall (ASAP!)

Incredible value too, worth every penny. Love, love, loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I have previously stayed in the Hotel but this time as my wife and daughter were with me we decided to stay in a 2 bedroomed lodge. The lodges are very luxurious and very well equiped. They are also very spacious. The only negatives I could say about them would be that they are quite close together, there is a lot of noise transfer between the rooms and there is road noise.
We had breakfast in the hotel and would have to say that it was a hap hazard affair. There were 3 different chefs while we were there and the difference was very noticable. Sometimes everything was perfect, other times you would not get what you ordered or they frequently ran out of choices. On our first two days our order was taken from the table. Following this we were told without explanation that the breakfast was now buffet and to help ourselves. When we did the food had been under heating lamps and had suffered. Service was similar and depended who was on. One lady was very friendly and professional. Whe she was on things ran smoothly.
I would hapilly return. Any of the negatives are far outweighed by the positives. If the staff recieve the proper training then their professionalism will match their friendly attitude. Reception were always very helpful. With a little more work this place could be outstanding. As it is you should have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We decided on the spur of the moment to go to Cornwall for a week, my Husband has never been and we stumbled across this resort through a search engine. The hotel exceeded our expectations from first to last. The accomodation is exactly as it is in the pictures. We stayed in a 2 bed lodge, it was equipped to the highest standard, beautifully furnished and spacious and very very clean. It was in a perfect location for lots of beaches and nearby towns. The staff were very welcoming, friendly & helpful and were just so nice with lots of little personal touches eg on arrival in our lodge there was fresh bread, milk, butter, jam, tea & coffee also when we went up to the main hotel for a cream tea they had run out of scones so gave us a huge plateful of cakes - enough for the 3 of us and more at no charge, and on the Wednesday we were using the pool at the spa and there was a fire alarm test! As an apology (though none was needed or sought!) they brought us freshly made fruit smoothies to the poolside! All in all the holiday was excellent, there is wi-fi in all the rooms at no cost - essential for a teenager and hard working husband! And the on site restaurants serve excellent food and have an excellent wine list. The place was fabulous, a real find we will be back as my Husband & daughter no longer want to go abroad anymore!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocktail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I found the hotel on trip advisor and was not at all disappointed. The hotel is very new, very clean, rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are both comfortable and large. The spa area is housed separately to the hotel and although not large, it is very nicely presented and the staff are fabulous. The gardens are 'work in progress' However, when they are complete, the setting will be quite special. We stayed three nights, eating there once, in the Arboretum restaurant. The food was fantastic and service excellent. A high quality, real dining experience. Jake, who runs the bar, is very keen to please and serve and helped to make the stay very enjoyable. The breakfast food is good, with plenty of choice. This room gets a little hot as the kitchen is an 'open' one. The air-con seemed to be struggling to keep up, or, maybe just needed turning up, but I'm sure they will get it right. All in all, a great experience, we will definitely go back and it is a good base from which to see some gorgeous bits of cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve795Leiicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peanutcups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
905 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing