We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I stay in a lot of hotels around the country as part of my work and this one is refreshingly good. From the moment I rang up to book a stay to our checkout nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The main hotel is full of interest from its collection of art to its varied menu and wine list. The spa facilities were superb, state of the art with everything you would need. It is so easy in this day and age to pick faults in everything, it seems to be part of our culture....for The Cornwall Spa Hotel it would take some effort to find fault...spot on! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    651
    261
    128
    50
See reviews for
332
1,151
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We were impressed by the general standard of the hotel and of our room. The food was excellent, congratulations to the chef Tom Bradbury.
However, the welcome was not great, we were not shown to our room and no assistance was offered with our luggage. The room was chilly and we found that both the radiator and the heated towel rail were turned off.
When the waiter told us that our dining table was ready we were left to carry our own drinks from the bar. I would have expected the waiter to carry them on a tray.
At dinner the wine list did not show wines by the glass although we found that they were available. A chowder was served but no spoon was provided.
We found that the staff were pleasant and willing but that mentoring by more experienced personnel would be of benefit. Moviing from the amateur to professional could make a satisfactory stay into a great one. After all this supposed to be a four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Quirky but fantastic rooms, lovely setting, breakfast good n well presented .... I doubt if Cornwall offers much better

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestChickenNumeroUno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2010

This hotel was poor, the function we attended was in a poorly heated Marquee and the service was below par and disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icklekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The facilities are great the, hotel in general is very nice. steyed in a Junior Suite the room was beautiful, but beware if there are any functions on you are right above them so can get a bit noisy if they go on til late. good value value for money and staff were very nice, sometimes had to wait a while to find one as the are quite short and are running about.
The breakfast was pretty good and Dinner was good, not fine dining but still decent, all good as part of the 2 night B&B and dinner package. Manager (didn't get his name) on reception was very good he made us feel very welcome and dealt with our every need. All in all a great place to relax just make sure if you are in a suite there are no parties while you are there, in which case stay in a woodland room whch are still lovely rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LABarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Does not live up to the web site. Very poor service and uninterested staff. The management of the hotel let's it down and staff morale is low. This makes a big difference and we should have realised after our first experience which was in booking through their reservation team.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Eberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this response regarding your visit with us. Can I say that I am sorry it did not come up to your expectations. We take all visitors comments seriously and always value constructive feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve our service. I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you whilst you were staying with us but I would still like the chance to discuss this further with you and would ask that you call the hotel so that we can make contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I booked this hotel as a romantic getaway for my husbands birthday. It has been done out with a lovely contemporary feel. We had a junior suite in the main part of the hotel which was decorated beautifully in modern gothic, with a huge, iron four-poster bed. Lovely huge windows with shutters. Bathroom had standalone bath with pleasant views over the front grounds.

The food in the restaurant was stunning for both dinner and breakfast and we cannot fault the service on either.

Yes, you do have to walk over to the spa but that didn't really both us, it's not really far. Spa was very quiet which is just the way we like it! Infinity pool is well designed and would be amazingin the summer with the foldaways doors open. The grounds have been planted nicely in front. I would have liked the whirlpool a bit warmer but as it cascades into the pool I guess this is not that easy. We had good massages during our stay and were made to feel really welcome.

Downside, if there has to be one: As the hotel was quiet it was a lovely room however I could imagine it would be a little noisy in summer/during weddings etc as you are directly above the bar. Also, if the front grounds/patio were being used you may need to keep the lower shutters closed in the bathroom to keep your dignity!

All round, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing