We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

What a lovely hotel, stylish renovations to the old house and fantastic modern rooms attached but blend in with the local scenery.
Beautiful spa with pool, steam and sauna, the jacuzzi was probably the worst I have used anywhere.
Delicious breakfast, excellent service and yummy choice.
The bedroom with delightful balcony overlooking the valley was a bonus. Massive bed, lots of exercise chasing the wife around it!! Lots of room, good toiletries and nice rain shower.
All in all, a really good stay with great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    648
    257
    120
    47
See reviews for
324
1,140
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed one night for a late Valentine treat for my wife, We were very gratfull for all the hard work and dedication required to make our stay a perfect pleasure.
We have stayed before , we were delighted with the quality and refinement of the food it was sensational and faultless and the staff are very friendly and hard working.
We had the Spa to our selves for are early dip and jacuzzi .
We will most definately stay again as soon as we can plan our dates.
Well done to all the team that made it a wounderfull relaxed weekend break.
Colin and Mary, Wembury Plymouth

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sembawang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just returned from The Cornwall, great hotel, fantastic grounds, we would say 7/10 - could of been 10/10 very simply with not much more effort.

Here are our observations, all fairly minor.

- Great room, tastefully decorated, very cold on arrival, toilet roll holder not correctly fastened.
- A touch of paint maintenance needed in some locations.
- The Spa was very nice, pool a little cool for February, as was the whirlpool.
- The service was friendly, trying a little too hard perhaps in the formal restaurant, one or two staff members a little over zealous.
- Lack of selection of red wine, they were "waiting for a delivery'.
- Food quality - Excellent, but not all available options highlighted.
- Bar prices, higher than expected.

All of that said, we would go back again and without doubt, do not let the negative views put you off, great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Hillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We spent a three day Spa Break here. On arrival we had been upgraded from our Executive room but the room we had been upgraded to did not have a bath and was quite small but in the main house. We asked for a room with a bath and were put in an Executive Woodland room which was much better than the upgrade room! I would advise staying in a Woodland room - they are bright, airy with the bathroom (not loo) unusually in the room which makes it much bigger and the bathroom less cramped. The bath was the most comfortable either of us had ever used and as my husband is 6ft 5ins that is saying something! Also the Woodland rooms have their own balcony/terrace. and are very quiet. The room was beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless with a huge comfy bed - our only criticisms were that the lighting was poor and we had to resort to using a torch to find things in the wardrobe and there was little space for clothes. The food was superb and we are used to eating in good restaurants ... all the meals were wonderful. We had two spa treatments each which were relaxing. The pool is of a decent enough size to actually swim but the spa pool is very cold and not at all relaxing therefore. We would definitely go back as it is close enough for a couple of night stay but our major criticism was the service. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do more for you but....we booked a table for dinner for all three nights and on two nights our table was not reserved depsite the fact we were on a dbb package. On all nights we had to wait a long time for an aperitif and on one occasion my husband had to go and get it himself from the bar as it took so long. The first night we waiting 15 minutes at the table before we were asked if we wanted a drink even though we had asked for one before we were seated. The wait between courses was too long to be comfortable and on Sunday we had to wait in the bar with several others for about 15 minutes before there was a table available for breakfast. We arrived back at our room at 3.30 pm on Sunday and it had still not been cleaned and we had to go and sit in the bar until it was ready - not acceptable really. There just didn't seem to be enough staff and there are clearly not enough tables in the restaurant - there is a brasserie but this was closed. The constant comment from the staff was "sorry for the wait" about everything. They really need to sort out how many people they can cater for because other people that we spoke to complained about the waiting time and slowness of service. Get the service better and this will be one of the best hotels in the country.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

A stunning hotel set in lovely grounds.
The spa, and the staff in the spa were amazing would go again just for this experience.
The only thing that let's this hotel down is the service in the bar. There was not always someone there, so you would stand and wait. The lady in charge would then say she'd send someone over if you took a seat, but never did. Why not just take your order, tell you to take a seat and bring it over herself!
Apart from this thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1ggle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We went for Sunday lunch and although the location is stunning, the service is very poor for a 4 star hotel. Our main course arrived before the starter and after 3 requests we were still waiting for wine list when starter arrived! We were not offered accompaniments, eg, horseradish. Vegetable dishes came without anything to serve them with and we were left surrounded by 4 used tables, none of which were cleaned in the hour we sat there. Very very disappointing and we would not return or recommend

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed for 2 nights recently and enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. The rooms are very comfortable, if a little hot (even with the heated radiator off). We enjoyed the spa, the pool is very attractive, sauna was out of order for one day (no notice to state this).
Evening meal at the Arboretum restaurant was a highlight (the strange concoction they served as pre dinner Martinis were not), food delicious. Breakfast was not such a hit. nice, but not great (service a particular issue and some items advertised on the buffet menu were not present)
Be aware that although they advertise Wifi throughout the hotel, it is hard to get in some of the more remote bedrooms like ours, requiring a visit to reception to pick up a connection, which is then lost if you don't use it for a while. Also, we reported an issue with a banging door outside our room on the main route to the spa, but this was never fixed leading to some disturbance.
all in all, a good stay, if they can iron out some of these little niggles, things could be great.
p.s. tip - take a pair of flip flops/similar so that you can go straight in your robe from your room to the spa and back. they don't provide shampoo in the spa showers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
17.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Property: The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing