We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever - well worth visiting”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Better than ever - well worth visiting”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I reviewed the Polgooth a couple of times last year, after quite a few visits in June and September. A very sunny Friday night was our first visit this year. We got there early, about 6.30, knowing it would be busy.

Happily we found a table in the busy bar. The menu is extensive, with almost nothing we would not have enjoyed. Where possible they source local produce and apparently the menu changes around their kitchen garden.

We skipped starters and went for mains, smoked haddock fish cakes and belly pork in sweet chilli sauce. Both were excellent.

For desert we had wonderful profiteroles covered in a quite delicate white chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream.

As with last year the staff were wonderful and friendly. There was a difference though, last year when we visited the food was very good. On our most recent visit it was excellent.

This pub is the best family and dog friendly pub I can think of. Looking forward to several more trips there this week and perhaps some live music and a BBQ on Sunday.

Helpful?
Thank Prestonwalkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you so much
Really hope you did make it to our Sunday afternoon of Music & BBQ - it was great fun
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    324
    76
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Special occasions”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times.
On the pricey side but worth every penny.
Staff lovely and attentive.
Will visit again when the next special occasion comes along.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
So happy that you choose us to celebrate your special occasions
Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOKE GABRIEL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch in early June”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Recommended by our holiday home owners this pub lived up to all expectations. We (4 adults and 2 children) arrived without a reservation on a very busy Sunday lunchtime and found an outside table. A combination of Sunday roast and an excellent burger left us very satisfied. Good food, good portions and good value. We'll certainly visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PETER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
so happy we could accommadate you & you had such a lovely time
Many thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Camping trip”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We came here after staying at The Meadows lovely walk along the cycle trail to get here, well deserved meal after our walk here, the service & staff very friendly, such a lovely feel in the pub. My husband had the fish stew which was amazing and great taste and I had the crab salad washed down with a glass of fizz and a wobbly walk back to campsite! Worth a visit and will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaraStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Look forward to seeing you again on your next stay at The Meadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedhampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We came here after reading reviews on TA as we were staying locally and we weren't disappointed. The food we ordered was very good, the portions were of a fair size, well cooked and tasty. We also thought it was good value for money (certainly no different to other pub meals we have recently had) average main course for us was £10-£12 and kids meals with a dessert were £6, they also offer smaller portions of some dishes which my 13 year old son had - I think this was around £7.The atmosphere was pleasant and the staff were very helpful and efficient.
Cant fault the Polgooth Inn and if we were ever in the area again I would definitely return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunqueenBedhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review posted on Tripadviser
Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip o Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing