We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family site BUT light on facilities and it can get windy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview International Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great family site BUT light on facilities and it can get windy”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend in our rather large Outwell Vermont XL tent in ‘The Paddocks’. This was the very spacious camping area at the far end of the campsite and even with our enormous tent there was plenty of space. The pitch size easily exceeded 10 x 10 m and backed onto a line of tall trees and was separated from the other pitches by a well-trimmed hedge. We normally prioritise out locations by pitch size and this was possibly the biggest we have ever stayed on.

The ‘Luxury bathroom suites and campers kitchen’ were also amazing. I have never experienced a kitchen like it with a clean microwave to heat up kid’s meals (and the odd supermarket take-away) plus a freezer for ice-blocks. The showers were great with lots of room and always clean but the paid-for-baths were a disappointment. The water was barely lukewarm and there wasn’t much of it.

The other facilities on-site were fine for use but if you want a bar you will be disappointed. The take-away chips were great though; very handy for supplementing the BBQ sausages. The shop was pricey but what do you expect?

Our kids (8 & 5) loved the freedom of the site with little traffic and very friendly campers abound. We barely saw them and they had great fun playing in the kids’ area.
The nearest beach is a short, but steep, walk away and is quite small but quiet. Anyone who decides to drive down needs their head looking at as we saw several cars with scrapes and scratches. The walk up the hill is great exercise anyway.

The site is quite remote and you will need to take the car to visit anywhere else. This part of Cornwall is very quiet though and a visit to Mevagissey is recommended. It’s a great area for cycling with lots of narrow lanes and hills – perhaps not so great for the kids though. We loved the beach at Pentewan, which is dominated by the large, commercial campsite, but if you stick to the left you can find some hidden coves.

All-in-all, this is a site that appeals to the middle-ground. If you want wall-to-wall entertainment, this isn’t it. If you want complete seclusion with no kids, ditto. If you want a great blend of seclusion and good-quality facilities then you won’t find many better.

There is, however, one big ‘but’. When the wind picks up you know about it. If the weather is inclement you are on top of a cliff and unless your tent is up to it then it won’t be much fun.

Room Tip: All pitches are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRLR_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    38
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
94
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We took our tent here in August 2013 and absolutely loved it.

You have to get to it by driving several miles along some pretty tight country roads but its so worth it. They have a good reception building with very helpful staff who give you a welcome pack full of brochures about what you can do in the area and cornwall as a whole.

The pitch was huge - much more space than we needed and there were people there who took HUGE RVs and really big tents so you didn't feel like it was overly crowded. Each pitch also has electric hook up which is very useful.

The view is wonderful - overlooking the sea and if you walk out of the campsite and walk down the hill you get to a very cute and classically cornish beach - very cool.

Other features of Seaview include a very well-stocked shop with local fresh food (try the local eggs and yoghurt they are amazing!) and a small cafe where they do breakfast and dinner.
They have an outdoor pool which is popular with the kids and an outdoor patio seating area with some vending machines - quite nice to sit in the summer with a drink :)

There is a "camper's kitchen" with sinks to wash things in, a good shower block (including hairdryers) and even baths!

Overall, we found this campsite very well equipped, staff very helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere very relaxed and chilled out.

Would stay again in a heartbeat :)

Room Tip: Get a pitch with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizlong84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hi there everyone,we have been coming to Seaview for a few years now,and I have to say.What a fabulous camping and caravan site.We enjoyed it so much that for the first time this year we booked the caravan for 6mths on site,now coming to the end of the 6mths I will miss this life so much,and that is thanks to the site managers,cleaners and the shop and café staff,Thank you so much,I rate this place 10 stars wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband, 3 year old daughter and I rented a holiday home on the site mid-September. Upon arrival we found the unit to be very clean and some sachets of tea, coffee, and sugar had been provided which was a nice welcoming touch. The site really does overlook the sea which is quite beautiful and was quiet and tranquil. The outdoor heated swimming pool had just closed when we arrived so we were unable to try this out. The shop/cafe had also reduced its opening frequency. There was a nice children's play area at the top of the site and I understand this is due to undergo some kind of refurbishment within the next year. We used the site as a base for visiting many of the Cornish attractions. The local village of Megavissey is about 15 minutes drive away and is well worth a visit. We went there several times during our stay as there are some lovely unique boutiques, cafes and restaurants. The Harbour Tavern, Portuguese restaurant in the harbour, Cafe No. 5 and Sharksfin restaurant were particularly good. There were very few negatives to staying at the site 1) there is no bar or clubhouse on site so if you are interested in evening entertainment then this may not be the best place 2) the heaters in the holiday home were ok but if the weather was cooler it would be worthwhile taking a fan heater along 3) it is essential to have a reliable car as you need to drive to get everywhere including the decent beaches. We had a very enjoyable holiday and would definitely recommend this site.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We camped here in August and we are quite new to camping. The site is a little remote down some narrow lanes but we wanted a sense of getting away from it all and if you want a supermarket you can drive to st Austell about 15 mins away. The site has a small shop and cafe which provide a limited but good friendly service. The heated outdoor pool was cool and dominated by older kids and too busy when good weather to have a swim or take young kids in, there is a small bit at the side where toddlers can have a quick splash. 5 mins drive is fantastic carehays beach with a big car park. The site is friendly and level and the kids enjoyed just running around the grass and playing with other kids, quite back to basics. I did not find the facilities 5 star and spotless like some, I guess the paddocks would be much better and worth the extra perhaps. I struggled with the small cubicles with sink and loo in with the pushchair and wasn't too keen on the layout myself. Everyone staying on the site were considerate and friendly and it was a pleasant relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We been to Seaview several times over the years with our own children and now with our grandchildren. We first stayed there in a Eurocamp tent in 1990 and then progressed to several static caravan holidays. The luxury lodge we stayed in this year was fantastic and had everything that you could need including a washing machine and dishwasher with beautiful bedding and fluffy soft white towels that were changed at the end of our first week. The weather was not brilliant but then that is what Cornwall is like - raining one minute and sunny the next. We do feel that the children's play area could be upgraded as it has changed little since we first went to Seaview and the best thing, the zip-wire is no longer there! The only thing that let Seaview down was the 'Alfresco Cafe' as it is described on the board at the entrance to the site. It was very tacky inside and looked like a throwback to the 50's with plastic tablecloths and had absolutely no atmosphere at all. We were all looking forward to enjoying morning coffees there but after seeing the place nothing would have encouraged us to drink or eat there. As previous reviewers have stated the shop is well stocked and the staff there are all helpful and friendly. The pool area is well maintained but a few more sunbeds would be nice. Considering that the campsite looked almost full to capacity the pool was surprisingly not too busy on most days that we visited! Seaview is very close to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project is not too far away. These gardens are well worth a visit - we have been to both several times and still enjoy going. A nice find in St Austell shopping centre was that The Eden Project now have a cafe, which is fantastic. We had veggie breakfasts there twice and you can have as much of their lovely toast as you want with plenty of butter. Yes, as previous reviewers have stated Seaview is isolated but that is what most people go there for, peace and quite with lovely countryside, sea views and no club house!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazaniaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely clean campsite which had everything that we wanted for a long weekend away. The toilets and showers were always clean and there was always plenty of hot water - whatever time you showered! The shop was well stocked and we ate in the cafe twice. Reasonably priced food that you could take away and eat at your pitch if you preferred. Swimming pool was great and the children loved splashing around. The Barley Sheaf at Gorran was walkable and we had a lovely meal although it was very busy so advisable to book before setting off on the walk! The beach was such a bonus. A ten minute walk down a windy road, or across the fields if you preferred but so worth it for Hemmlick Beach! A very quiet beach where the children could swim, paddle, make sandcastles and body board to their hearts content! They didn't even moan about the walk up hill back to the campsite! The play area was well equipped with wooden climbing frame, tennis nets and a football pitch which the children loved. Will definitely be back.
PS Agree with the earlier comment about not following sat nav as it takes you through Mevagissy which is very busy in August!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangetout5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
7.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
6.8 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
586 reviews
4.7 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview International Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview International Holiday Park

Property: Seaview International Holiday Park
Address: Boswinger | Gorran, St Austell PL26 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaview International Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview International in Cornwall is a beautiful 5* family holiday park view incredible views of the sea. With a range of accommodation, from level, grass camping pitches through to luxurious 3-bedroom holiday lodges. Complete with heated outdoor swimming pool, Sea Breeze Cafe, convenience shop, off-licence and a fantastic games and recreation area. The whole Park is now covered by WiFi so you can always stay in touch. With BBQ areas, first-class, shower blocks, and a short walk to the beach, this is Cornwall at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Seaview International Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview International Holiday Park Hotel St Austell
Seaview International Holiday Park Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing