We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little bit special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at Bosinver and have to say the place is really quite special, we have never stayed anywhere like it.

Our Cottage (Laburnum) was amazing, extremely comfortable and well equipped and conveniently perched at the top of the hill next to the swimming pool with beautiful views over fields and hills.

They have thought of absolutely everything to make sure you enjoy your stay, and all the things freely available to "borrow" (beach equipment, fishing equipment, DVD's, board games etc) with such trust and openness just adds to the special feel about the place.

We spent much more time on the complex than we thought we would as there was so much to do and the kids just LOVED it. The play areas were great, everything was spotlessly clean, in good condition and obviously well looked after. We especially enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds, walking the trails &round the lake and generally just relaxing and having a great time with the kids. The staff do a great job putting things on for the kids and making sure everyone is enjoying themselves.

Honestly if you are thinking about booking the place but are not sure just do it, you will not be disappointed, it's a very special place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatsy-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
266
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is an excellent farm holiday which we so much enjoyed with our son and his lovely family. Our four year old granddaughter was so happy that she wanted to stay. Wonderful for little children especially and for the rest of us to watch them grow in confidence. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very pretty cottage called Veronica. It was ideal for us, our children and grandchild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our weeks stay. This place was fantastic and is the best place we have ever stayed at in years of holidaying in the Uk.
Every last detail has been thought of for the children and all the staff were very friendly (just don't turn up before the booking time as Nanny Pat gets angry!)
Already planning to book our stay next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from our fifth visit to Bosinver, this time staying in Hillside. Like the last reviewers, we wondered if we had outgrown the resort or would be bored, but how wrong we were. I think that this was our best trip ever. Hillside was smaller than the other properties we have stayed in, but was quiet, cozy, and expertly cleaned. It also has a wonderful conservatory overlooking the meadow of happy horses, bunnies, and chickens, which was the venue for many glasses of wine after the children had gone to bed. By the end of the week, we had decided that Hillside is our new favourite, although we always say that at the end of a Bosinver trip. But the cottage is just the tip of the iceberg. There is just so much to do on site at Bosinver that we were utterly exhausted by the end of each day while finding that we hadn't gone anywhere ... Animal feeding, pony riding, playbarn, playground, trampoline, zip wire, games room, wild kids club, forest and farm hunts, and to top it all off, the beautiful new indoor swimming pool. This was one of our best holidays ever, and it is so wonderful after all of these years to see how confident the children are on the farm and in the forest. Pat, Dave, Helen, and Elaine do such a wonderful job. We've already booked for next year.

Room Tip: The cottages are all lovely and all have individual character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our second holiday to Bosinver and although a little worried it wouldnt live up to our first stay here, it by far exceeded expectations. SIMPLY MAGICAL.

This year Mum, Dad, two children ( 5 and 2), and Grandma stayed in the wonderful and extremely spacious upside down house called ` Higher Hill`. The decor and styling was amazing and upon arrival absolutely spotless.

Our two boys loved the daily animal feeding ( except sat) and the weekly pony riding session. Our 5 yr old had eagerly waited 1 whole year to cook marshmallows on the campfire and together with making and throwing mud balls, building a swans home and making bashing bunting the ` wild kids` session was a definite highlight!
Even when it rained we were able to set out on an adventure in our wellies and onsie waterproofs, completing one of the many trails the brilliant team at Bosinver had put together.

The playbarn is brilliant, and provides a perfect place for the kids to play early evening whilst dinner is cooking.

The indoor pool is wonderful and kept impeccably clean. We went swimming every day and although all the cottages were all booked only twice did we have to share the pool! Our eldest learnt to swim unaided for the first time, a truely special and unforgettable moment!

The zip wire, slide, trampoline and other play areas are a definite hit with the kids and never once did the children watch television.

We were able to borrow books from the childrens library, borrow buckets, spades, nets and body boards for the beach and Mum and Dad even squeezed in their yearly tennis match whilst Grandma babysitted of an evening!

Bosinver is a true Gem of a place, i am sooo glad we were able to book again for next year as no other holiday could ever beat it!

Many thanks to the Bosinver Team


Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from our holiday at Bosinver in cornwall what a lovely time we all had . It was my ninth time and this time stayed in Pentree . Everytime we visit there is always something added to make the holiday even more special ......thanks Pat Dave and Helen..... who run it so so well. The indoor heated pool is fab we couldn't get our two year old out she kept saying more more. The boys loved the games room and welcomed free pool and the trail challenged even my teenager. I have booked for the next two years .....cant wait to come again thankyou Caroline Steve Jordan Jenson and Scarlett

Room Tip: if you have under fives stay near playbarn very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our party was 4 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 4. We had 2 "adjoining" houses, Pear and Apple. Everything and everywhere was spotlessly clean ( apart from the farmyard but that is down to Dave). The all free facilities are marvellous. The owner Dave (he prefers to be known as farmer Dave) is lovely with children ensuring all get a fair turn at feeding chickens and ducks etc. He always has a smile on his face and clearly loves to delight parents and children alike. One night he organised a 15 a side football match and ran around the pitch non stop for an hour (how did you feel the next day farmer Dave.

I understand Bosinver is fully booked for this half term week next year so you need to get in quick to beat the "regulars".

Many thanks to Dave and his team !

Room Tip: all houses are sufficiently far apart to ensure peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
20.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
17.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Property: Bosinver Farm Cottages
Address: April Cottage Bosinver Lane, St Austell PL26 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland Gold award for best self catering in country, South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014/5. Individual detached cottages sleeping 4-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including new indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Club sessions for den building, pond dipping and campfires in the wood. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing