We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very welcoming”
Review of The Innis Inn

The Innis Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Innis Inn
Ranked #92 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and very welcoming”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just back home today after a 2 night stay. We chose the Innis Inn for its location close to the Eden Project. It's about a mile walk on good footpaths to the main gates of Eden,

The whole set up at Inis Inn is very relaxed, which suited us fine, nice pub on set with good food and a real welcome from Mark and his family. We hope to return next year. We camped in the large garden, s can't comment in rooms. Work is ongoing to extend and refurbish some facilities, so it will probably be even better in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Stewart_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
9
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We arrived at the Innis Inn for our 2 night stay bed and breakfast and were immediately greeted with a fresh cup of tea and a smile, both of which were very welcome after our long journey. The new owners Mark Taylor and his family are very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable throughout our stay. We were very impressed with our room which was clearly recently refurnished with lovely new bed, wardrobe and drawers, the en-suite bathroom had a very large shower and was clean. Although the rooms are above the bar area, we stayed on a Thursday and Friday night we had no disturbance at all and slept very comfortably in the crisp white sheets.
The delicious freshly cooked full English breakfast is recommended highly and utilises fresh locally sourced produce where possible. There was ample parking and all close to the entrance which was handy for unloading cases etc.
The Inn also offers camping facilities which looked to be idyllic, lots of space between pitches, the bar and dining area offering home cooked meals including many specials and a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere was felt all round. Due to the friendly, professional and relaxed approach from the new owners everyone seemed to be having a great holiday in a lovely countryside setting in the heart of cornwall. The Innis inn has been awarded VB 3 stars for its accommodation I would have to say that they offer a 5 star customer service to go with it!
The Inn itself is perfectly situated for numerous local attractions, the main one being the Eden Project which is well worth a visit and was within walking distance. We also visited St. Austell just a few miles away, a quaint little town with a selection of eateries and amenities in the town centre. There are plenty of beaches within easy reach too and lots of quality days out.
Truro is just a 20 minute drive away where there is a lovely town centre and also a fantastic Cathedral which is a must see.
All in all a great stay and provided the perfect 2 night stop over for us as we had wanted to visit the Eden project for some time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in an en-suite room for a long weekend - the room and bathroom were both very clean and the bed was comfortable.

On our first night there was a loud wedding reception taking place directly below our room so found it hard to get to sleep as all the noise traveled straight through the floor, but the second night was very quiet. It may be worth ringing ahead and seeing if there are any receptions/parties planned before booking as it seems to be a popular venue for the area.

The room we booked was advertised as 'Bed and Breakfast' - but we found that breakfast was only provided on request for an additional cost of around £8 (I'm not sure if this is unusual? but was a bit disappointing and we wound up going elsewhere to eat)

The owners were quite hard to catch hold of, and wouldn't say we had a particularly warm welcome.. however the location is convenient (very close to Eden Project and St.Austell/Charlestown) and the room was clean and good value if you're looking for a no frills place to spend a few nights.

Room Tip: Our room was an en-suite, but it seems the other rooms have communal bathrooms located just across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We plugged our Motorhome into the campsite at Innis Inn after being met by a very sweet and laid back owner who had not looked to see that we had a reservation via Pitched Up!
We were the only campers on site given the cold weather and week nights. We felt that we were overcharged as the price was the same as Old Oaks campsite and you simply can not compare the value given that the ablution block needs to be completely renovated.
We enjoyed the pub and the Jail ale as well as the company.
We wish the new owners good luck in this venture especially with their music festivals.
Great location for visiting the Eden Project and Charlestown as well as St Austell's Brewery.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTHER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We rang up last minute to stay for just one night - no problems - choice of pitches & so helpful, Thanks to Mark for making everything so easy. The boys went fishing & we were told we could leave whenever it suited us next day - AMAZING !!! Very quiet site - the facilities are very clean, though minimal - but they are in the process of replacing all the existing stuff - so we are looking forward to the changes envisaged. We ate in the pub on the site - very good, not expensive - good value for money - We will be back - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfCityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I went to Cornwall to visit Eden Project. I went via Exeter so was late to go to them
I booked a room at Innis Inn. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and cosy pub with fantastic food. There are few things which need update, and via a friendly chat the new owners they mentioned that they are kin to improve the facilities. For example the rooms are not en suite; the bathrooms are common but not inconveniently. They have great plans and I believe we can help them to achieve their target by booking in with them. You will be not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just spent a few days travelling around Cornwall and were hoping for really nice weather but like so many this year we were disapointed. Most of the camping and caravan sites were OK but on a rainy evening it get's a bit boring just playing cards or dominos and after many nights of the same it really does get depressing. By pure chance we found the Innis Inn.
The new owners were fantastic, helpfull and nothing was too much. Although they have only just taken over this marvelous setting just about 5 minutes from the Eden Project they made us feel at home. Renovations are currently taking place and the family have major plans to turn the Innis Inn into a well run and looked after place to stay. After a few days couped up in our camper, it was a breath of fresh air to park up and have a few beers without the hassle of driving down small lanes or paying excessive taxi fares back to a pitch black campsite located miles from the nearest village. Although we did not order any food we were told first hand that the food was brilliant and i must admit the menu did look good. This pace is well worth a visit.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
3.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Innis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Innis Inn

Property: The Innis Inn
Address: Innis Moor Penwithick, St Austell PL26 8YH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Hotel Class:3 star — The Innis Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Innis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Innis Inn Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing