We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Valley Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
193
29
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
29
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstatic caravanplay areagames roomzip wirepolgooth innlovely siteground sheethard standingdog walkswimming poollovely family rungravel pitchesexcellent parkexcellent holidaycycle pathfamily run siteinformation room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Camped August last year and have just booked for this year, which prompted this review. Have stayed at a number of campsites across the country and I have to say, this is one of the best. The amenities on the site are excellent; the pool is large and shower block very clean – in fact the whole site is spotless. I like that the site doesn’t have a big entertainment complex – it’s always very quiet and peaceful, with no rowdiness in the evening that you’d find at larger sites.

Location wise, I can’t fault River Valley, it’s easy to walk to Pentewan – a great beach – and local pubs and restaurants. Plus, St Austell, with supermarkets and lots of restaurants, is only 5 mins drive away.

Finally, I have to mention the staff who are all very friendly – particularly the reception staff who are a font of local knowledge. Their recommendation of Sam’s on the Beach was spot on – we tell our friends about the restaurant even now!
Top marks all round – can’t wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This site was just right for us. We visited in early July 2012, with a touring caravan, for 8 nights. A well maintained site with good facilities. A fairly small site but this was an advantage, not a disadvantage. The swimming pool is a bonus, something you wouldn't normally find on a site of this size, and there is no charge to use it. Toilet facilities and washing up area are top notch. Pitches are a good size but choose an outside pitch when booking. It's also worth booking a larger pitch. Although near the road, noise wasn't constant so didn't spoil the holiday. Our only negative comment is the children's play area - fine if your children are over 5. Our daughter couldn't get up to the slide and there wasn't a swing. The site is perfectly located for days out. Pentewan Sands is 5 minutes drive down the road, where there is no charge to park and the beach is the best anywhere. There is a large commercial campsite there with an indoor swimming pool (charge) and a soft play suite (free). You can also use their bar facilities and get a nice lunch/evening meal there too. Well worth a day out without the traffic headaches. St Austell, 5 mins away, is a good size town with several of the larger stores and there is an Asda and Tesco within easy drive of the site. We visited Dairyland and Eden Project. Both worth a visit. Staff are very friendly and helpful, even putting a blackboard up with 'things to do' out & about, on a daily basis. No shop on site but a very useful shop opposite site entrance, sells provisions and newspapers. We will definately go back again next year, as didn't get around to hiring a bike from the site and cycling to Pentewan!

Room Tip: Look at site plan and request a pitch no. when booking. They will do there best to accommodate. Look at site on Google Maps.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneillsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband, three year old daughter and myself choose the best week to go gorgious sunshine all week.
Biggish square all weather pitch with grass around it. The centre pitches do not have much privacy as the hedges are not established.
Very good facilities though with planty of very hot water!, clean and well maintained. A pool which looked lovely but as the weather was good we didnt use as was at the beach. Indoor games room, again not used. only a couple of washers which was fine but in the height of summer might get busy.
Lovely play areas for the children, which we sat for ages in the sun and watched them all play together. lots of dogs here which was fine all were well under control. It was mentioned by someone that on the dog walk along the stream that dog poos were not picked up and there was no bin for dog waste.
At night you could hear the owls which was amazing, our criticizism was the road noise. Which seemed quite loud, busy road going from St Austell to Megavissey. It didnt quiet down until 9-10pm each night. some people were not bothered by this though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and had a fabulous time. The site is very well maintained and has plenty of things to keep children interested. The swimming pool was ideal for our two children (2 and 4) - always clean, big enough for them and warm enough too. The staff at the site are really helpful - making recommendations for beaches to visit, places to go in the wet weather and places to eat. The staff we met were all local to the area and when they recommended something you could tell it was because they loved it. They were also honest enough to tell you when something wasn't very good (normally polite enough to say 'we've had mixed reviews'). We'd certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StreetDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We went to The River Valley in August 2012 for a week camping.
The site is family run and is in a good location and not far from our favourite beach in Gorran Haven.
We pitched our tent on hard standing, which is a first for me with a tent ! Bent alot of pegs, so take spares.
It was a good spot at the back of the park and backed onto the Pentewan trial which is a country walk to Pentewan village.
To the left of our pitch was a caravan storage location with a ramp, which the family also do.
We had 2 days of decent weather , but then it just rained, rained and rained!
Our Outwell Montana tent stood up well to it , however the ground gig that saturated , we had a most around the tent and eventually had a pond under the tent!
We had to leave after 5 days. I feel that the ramp from the caravan storage location allows the rain from the higher level to flow down to where the tents are pitched and this then ruins your pitch in the far left corner!
A bad design.
If booking and unsure on the weather , try and get a pitch away from the far corner !
I would stay again !
The shower facilitys were good, although only 3 showers in the gents. Powerful showers!
Games room, swimming pool are good!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GorranHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews