We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - a Cornish gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a Cornish gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Am reluctant to shout too loudly about River Valley in case everyone wants to go! I organised a family gathering for around 50 people to stay dotted around the campsite in various static caravans, tents, cottages and B&Bs. Alison and the Clemo family were immensely helpful in the run up, recommending things to do, places to eat etc, and we had high hopes. From the second we arrived and met Alison, those hopes were more than exceeded and we had a wonderful time - the park and the caravans are SO clean and well maintained, and any issues are dealt with so swiftly (my shower was cold and within 10 minutes the thermostat was being changed!), the pool is deliciously warm and safe for children and the playground was a fantastic place for the children to meet and make new friends. The park is so family friendly, with everyone respecting the polite request of keeping the noise to a minimum after 10pm - there are no noisy stag or hen parties allowed, so it was perfect for those of us with young children. Being able to cycle out of the park and all the way to the beach,(or Mevagissey, or St Austell), all off road was a massive bonus. I honestly can't say a bad word about it and the children were begging to go back as we drove out of the park for the last time! We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
109
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this fairly last minute to be able to go and join some friends staying in Cornwall. My mum has a caravan in the Lakes so we're used to staying in a static home. The one we had was lovely, spacious (as caravans go) and very clean. We were lucky to be on the edge of the park, by the office, so it was very quiet and we didn't experience any of the road noise that another reviewer mentioned. My only gripe with the caravan was the lack of table lamps; it was main lights, or nothing! If, like me, you get in to bed and read, it feels odd to have the overhead light blazing. Same in the lounge after dark when you wanted to turn off the main light and watch tv.
The weather was great, there's lots to do, the Polgooth Inn is very nice and St Austell just up the road with two big supermarkets. Great site, great location, quiet, friendly and immaculate. If you have children and are out and about all day then a static caravan on a lovely site like this does the job very reasonably. Thank you for having us!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just spent a fortnight at river valley, what a lovely well kept site ! facilities spotless, if I have to fault anything about the site it would be that the showers could be a bit erratic, (hot one minute and cold the next minute !) one other little thing to mention are the speed humps on the site road a bit severe for touring caravans, everything thing else was just perfect and will return with out doubt. nicely positioned for touring cornwall, and there are some nice walks from the site, and a short distance to St Austell where you will find all you need.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a lovely place River Valley is - its so welcoming. Everytime you go over the little stone bridge you know you are in for a lovely holiday. You can cycle and walk from the site without traffic, a shop across the road that sells local bread and there's such a lot to do in the area. The swimming pool is one of the best ever and the peace and quiet and the friendly staff make this such a relaxing holiday. Just returned from our 5th visit - see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaravinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in a caravan during half term and thought the site was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are immaculately kept as are the caravans, and the swimming pool is a real plus. The walk/cycle along the river Winnick to Pentewan Sands is lovely (all on the flat) and the Polgooth Inn is well worth a visit, which we did frequently!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We camped here for a weekend with friends who are regular visitors of this park. We have visited many camp sites and I can say that this is the cleanest and best kept site I have ever visited. The grass looks like its been hoovered!! Only downside besides the screaming baby in a nearby tent that cried constantly is that we were not keen on putting the tent on the shingle base, however the reception desk were very kind and lent us an extra ground sheet! Particularly like the touch of fresh flowers in the ladies bathroom!! Lovely walks and beach nearby. Highly recommend!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fifth time at this beautiful holiday , no change from my last review, friendly run family park, spotlessly clean, lovely accommodation, static caravan number 2 marvelous location, no one could ask for anything better, we did 2 weeks this year and it still wasn't long enough, so sad to have to come home, River Valley makes our holiday just perfect, there is no where better in Cornwall in our view, 10 out of 10 for everything.

Room Tip: All static caravans are no more than 4 years old, pick any one, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommytorets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.8 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
702 reviews
13.4 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 77 in Newquay
308 reviews
15.5 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Holiday Park

Property: River Valley Holiday Park
Address: Mevagissey Road | London Apprentice, St Austell PL26 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
River Valley Holiday Park Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing