We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River valley holiday park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“River valley holiday park”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

A wonderfull holiday park. Privately owned and the lady that runs it takes charge of everything, any problems and she is there to resolve it immediately. Couldn't wish for better service. Pool is clean and the adventure play ground was good. And plenty of room for the kids to run around and everyone has to be in caravans with no noise after 10 pm which led to a peaceful nights sleep. Caravans were in excellent condition which included a DVD player as well as TV which was a nice touch. Very peaceful setting and close to st Austell

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    28
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
105
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and found this place to be one of the best campsites we have been to in 5 years of motorhome travel. The pool is very clean and warm and changing rooms are kept up together and in good order. Reception was well run and check in was very quick and easy, it stocks some local produce, more is available just over the road in a small shop. The local cycle route is a gem, my family (10 and 5 year old) made it to the beach with ease, highly recommended. We found the site very quiet, settled in a woodland setting you can spot a lot of wildlife when out and about. If you are looking for a Haven type campsite, do not come here, if you are after a family run, clean very well maintained break give this one a try. I will return to cycle to Heligan and try a couple of local pubs on our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Am reluctant to shout too loudly about River Valley in case everyone wants to go! I organised a family gathering for around 50 people to stay dotted around the campsite in various static caravans, tents, cottages and B&Bs. Alison and the Clemo family were immensely helpful in the run up, recommending things to do, places to eat etc, and we had high hopes. From the second we arrived and met Alison, those hopes were more than exceeded and we had a wonderful time - the park and the caravans are SO clean and well maintained, and any issues are dealt with so swiftly (my shower was cold and within 10 minutes the thermostat was being changed!), the pool is deliciously warm and safe for children and the playground was a fantastic place for the children to meet and make new friends. The park is so family friendly, with everyone respecting the polite request of keeping the noise to a minimum after 10pm - there are no noisy stag or hen parties allowed, so it was perfect for those of us with young children. Being able to cycle out of the park and all the way to the beach,(or Mevagissey, or St Austell), all off road was a massive bonus. I honestly can't say a bad word about it and the children were begging to go back as we drove out of the park for the last time! We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this fairly last minute to be able to go and join some friends staying in Cornwall. My mum has a caravan in the Lakes so we're used to staying in a static home. The one we had was lovely, spacious (as caravans go) and very clean. We were lucky to be on the edge of the park, by the office, so it was very quiet and we didn't experience any of the road noise that another reviewer mentioned. My only gripe with the caravan was the lack of table lamps; it was main lights, or nothing! If, like me, you get in to bed and read, it feels odd to have the overhead light blazing. Same in the lounge after dark when you wanted to turn off the main light and watch tv.
The weather was great, there's lots to do, the Polgooth Inn is very nice and St Austell just up the road with two big supermarkets. Great site, great location, quiet, friendly and immaculate. If you have children and are out and about all day then a static caravan on a lovely site like this does the job very reasonably. Thank you for having us!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just spent a fortnight at river valley, what a lovely well kept site ! facilities spotless, if I have to fault anything about the site it would be that the showers could be a bit erratic, (hot one minute and cold the next minute !) one other little thing to mention are the speed humps on the site road a bit severe for touring caravans, everything thing else was just perfect and will return with out doubt. nicely positioned for touring cornwall, and there are some nice walks from the site, and a short distance to St Austell where you will find all you need.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a lovely place River Valley is - its so welcoming. Everytime you go over the little stone bridge you know you are in for a lovely holiday. You can cycle and walk from the site without traffic, a shop across the road that sells local bread and there's such a lot to do in the area. The swimming pool is one of the best ever and the peace and quiet and the friendly staff make this such a relaxing holiday. Just returned from our 5th visit - see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaravinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in a caravan during half term and thought the site was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are immaculately kept as are the caravans, and the swimming pool is a real plus. The walk/cycle along the river Winnick to Pentewan Sands is lovely (all on the flat) and the Polgooth Inn is well worth a visit, which we did frequently!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
175 reviews
9.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
686 reviews
13.3 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Holiday Park

Property: River Valley Holiday Park
Address: Mevagissey Road | London Apprentice, St Austell PL26 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
River Valley Holiday Park Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing