We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Langdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langdale House
Ranked #20 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Chris is a great host. Warm and welcoming but not encroaching on your privacy. There was no problem with a late breakfast and checkout and Chris even kindly gave us a lift to the station. The room was clean and comfy. The road is busy but not that noisy. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admicjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

On August 12, 2013, we stayed at the Langdale House in the "Valleyview" room after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, we were "greeted" by an envelope posted on the door, addressed to us. Within it, was a note from the owner saying he was sorry that he wasn't there to greet us, but to call him for a security code to get a key to enter the house. There wasn't any explanation from him to why he wasn't there to let us in. We tried phoning him, but he didn't answer. We also left a message and we never got any kind of response. Also on the note was his partner's number, which we also called. We asked for her, but instead, got a member of staff from the pub she owned, so we didn't speak directly to anyone responsible for the B & B. After relaying the message from us to her, the member of staff gave us the security code needed to open up the lock box. We could have been anyone, so anyone could have had our room and I didn't appreciate our names being posted on an outside door for all to see. The room itself was as advertised and lovely, but it was a very hot day, and after reading the reviews and knowing it would be noisy with the windows opened, we went there thinking we could ask for a fan, but because there was nobody around, we couldn't, so we had a disturbed night. In the morning, we went down to breakfast. The lady that was there, served us promptly, and the food was ok but, she never checked on us after that to see if we were ok or needed anything. It would have been appreciated if she had asked us if we wanted anymore juice or toast. Overall we were sadly disappointed with the lack or absence of a welcome, service or even a farewell! As such, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Langdale House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Diana T

No mystery. I was taking some other guests of Langdale House sailing from Fowey and I stayed overnight. However, your Review is fair. I took my eye off the ball for a day and I apologise. By way of compensation I would be happy to invite you to stay again on FOC basis the next time you are in Cornwall and will ensure that I am available for proper hosting which according to the other reviews it seems I do well. Again, Diana, with my apology, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We traveled from Penzance to St Austell to start the second part of our trip throughout Cornwall. After leaving The Lost Gardens of Heligan, we drove to St Austell to begin our next stay at Langdale House just off the A 390 on Trevanion Rd. and Southbourne Rd. It is really easy to find!

We met the owner, Chris Witt, who settled us in immediately and gave us some information as to where to eat, things to see and do and made us very comfortable.We stayed in the Gold Room which contained an en-suite shower, very comfortable bed and the room was very nicely equipped and decorated.Chris suggested places to visit, the best way to get there and made suggestions for our anniversary dinner in Fowey @ Food For Thought, a wonderful restaurant where the staff was great and our dinner was perfect. The restaurant staff also arranged for a taxi to take us back up to the car park which seemed to be at the top of the mountain which, as we are "flat landers" from Houston, thought would be a difficult climb after dinner. Without Chris' thoughtfulness and suggestions we may have never have eaten at some of the restaurants or seen some of the sights we saw. We would highly recommend this B &B.

The first night we were in St. Austell we had dinner at Ameena's Hop & Vine Pub which is in walking distance from the B &B. The food was very good. My wife had a chicken curry dinner and I enjoyed a chicken tajine. Both dishes were delicious.

We left for St Mawe's the first full day after a very filling complete English breakfast cooked by the housekeeper, Andrea.

St. Mawes is a beautiful small coastal village or town containing St. Mawes Castle, a castle constructed for Henry VIII, which is still one of the most complete type of this defensive fortification remaining today. It has a tall central tower with three semi-circular rooms attached to it and nice grounds to walk around housing several types of guns in use throughout the centuries. Do not believe a local if he tells you that the castle can be seen in a short amount of time as it takes at least an hour and one half to properly see the castle, grounds or take the audio tour.

We parked in a St. Mawes car park on the harbor from where the water taxi's depart for Falmouth and Pendennis Castle. As there were no taxi's to take one to Pendennis and the walk is about an hour up to the castle from the Falmouth harbor, we were not able to get to the 2nd castle as our time in the car park in St. Mawes would have expired. We thus took the ferry back to St Mawes. Not good planning on our part.

We left St Mawes and drove to Charlestown, about 5-10 minutes from the Langdale House B & B, visited the maritime museum, and enjoyed the harbor sights with its tall ships. We had fish and chips at Wreckers which were very good.

The next morning after a hearty breakfast we left to go to Pt. Issac to watch a filming of an upcoming segment of the "Doc Martin" series shown on American PBS channels and which was a very popular destination for tourists from all over the world. Apparently Doc Martin is popular everywhere as there were several tour buses and visitors from every imaginable country.It was fun and the village is very picturesque.

From Pt. Issac we drove to the Camel Valley Winery to visit on our way to the Landhydrock House & Gardens. As we had drunk a bottle of their bubbly on a trip three years earlier, we thought it only appropriate to visit the winery from which we had so enjoyed their wine at an earlier anniversary dinner. We shared the wine with Chris Witt at the B & B the next day and it was very good.

Landydrock House and gardens are beautiful with extensive gardens and over 50 rooms in a 19th century home to explore at your leisure. There are 6-7 rooms just devoted to the kitchens and meal preparation, several rooms dedicated to children's nurseries and many rooms one could just describe as both functional and extremely beautiful. While in the barrel vaulted drawing room, look up at the ceiling with its plaster drawings of various Bible stories.

We also visited Restormel Castle in the Fowey River valley which was a 14th century keep. It is now a shell consisting of a circular stone keep. The castle was at one time was owned by the Black Prince, son of Edward III. It is a nice ruin to explore and has a very interesting history. The view from the top of the inside walls was great.

The next day we left on the train for the Salisbury area which visit will be detailed in the next report of the B & B, Brook House, where we stayed in the village of Coombe Bissett, 3 miles outside Salisbury.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great with some containing showers and one or more having tubs. We asked about the whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell J. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Chris was very welcoming & friendly. We stayed in the Valley View Room. It was so well decorated and had a beautiful walk in shower. The best ever. The carpet was lush & how good to have decent size mugs for our tea! Breakfast was good plenty of choices. It was a cosy B&B. We wish we were there for longer. very good location hope to return one day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Chris, the friendly owner, was very welcoming, informative and helpful, even gave me a lift to a nearby restaurant in Charles town,which was fantastic. The room was clean, beautifully decorated, fully equipped and had a great view. Breakfast was cooked perfectly and was plentiful. Langdale House is well positioned for all the nearby attractions (Eden project, Fowey, Heligan gardens) and will definitely visit again. I highly recommend it. The only drawback, though it was not a problem for me, was limited parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very nice guesthouse, pristinely clean and with a touch of luxury most evident in the bathroom, where a powerful walk-in shower and a variety of scented body lotions await, but also in the tastefully decorated bedrooms.

The hosts were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast very good (they give you the option of choosing exactly what you want, out of a generous number of choices).

Overall, definitely a good experience, which proves once again why it's so much better staying at a cozy guest house than at an impersonal hotel.

Room Tip: The "Hill View" room seems the nicest of the three
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Langdale House is a lovely B&B, beautifully decorated, and the owner Chris was extremely welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in the amazingly comfortably Valley View room, which would be perfect except there is a main road outside so if you wanted the window open overnight you would need to be able to sleep through traffic noise. The shower and facilities in the room were of a very high standard, the breakfast was delicious and the little extra touches very thoughtful. The nicest B&B we've stayed in and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandP200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale House

Property: Langdale House
Address: 1A Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing