We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Langdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale House
Ranked #23 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the minute the door was opened the smile and welcome was fantastic and it got better . We were booked into Valley View a delightful room with all the comforts needed. The bathroom was impeccable . We had a good nights sleep and breakfast was a delight and served with a smile and a friendly chat that wasn't overbearing. We stayed two nights and would definitely recommend staying at Langdale House and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
51
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This B&B is in a great location for visiting many parts of Cornwall by car, most places are less than 1 hour away! Our room was beautiful & very comfy, the bathroom even better! The staff are friendly, helpful & knowledgeable without being 'over the top' and they make a great breakfast! I would happily stay here again if visiting Cornwall

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckley wales uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

would recommend to anybody, nicely furnished, clean, comfortable, excellent host, good breakfast. we visited under difficult circumstances and the understanding shown was lovely. we have been lucky enough to have travelled extensively and stayed at some beautiful hotels all around the world and I have to say was doubtful about staying in a b&b, how wrong I was, twas lovely me ansoms give it a try, you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: we had 2 rooms during our stay. go for "valley View" bigger bedroom but smaller en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We made a last minute booking for an overnight stay after deciding to visit the Eden project. Not only was it exactly what we wanted (clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and close to Eden), but was also a nice surprise. We were welcomed by Chris, who is a friendly and helpful host and our room was lovely.

We were able to walk to the town for dinner and lots of information given on both the pub owned by Chris’s partner (excellent steak and huge portions!), but also other places to eat and visit. The full Cornish breakfast was delicious and certainly set us up for the day!

We had a really comfortable stay and will stay again next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here while we were travelling through Cornwall, and Langdale House is in an easy location to find, just off the A390. We were greeted by Chris, who offered us lots of welcome advice about where to go around St Austell, and he was a friendly and amiable host throughout our stay.

We stayed in the 'Valley View' room, which, as the name suggests, offers a stunning view of the valley beyond. The room was very spacious, with a large window ensuring the room gets maximum sunlight. The bathroom was excellent and well above the standard we'd expect, with a large walk in shower which has to be seen to be believed. Most impressive were the small details which are usually neglected like having a bottle of water next to the bed, big-sized cups for a proper cup of tea, a big HDTV, fast internet, a range of luxury toiletries... You get the idea!

The breakfast was also excellent, with a choice of a full English or smoked salmon - as well as the usual cereals, toast etc. I tried both breakfasts, and they were both very impressive with the smoked salmon a particular highlight.

There aren't really any reasons we can think of not to stay at Langdale House, and if I were to stay in St Austell again I'd definitely stay here. Due to the proximity to the main road and the fact that the windows are open in the summer heat the noise of the traffic can be quite loud at night, but to anyone used to living in a town or city this is to be expected. All in all, one of the cleanest, most homely (without feeling intrusive) B&Bs we've ever stayed in, and one that is wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Chris is a great host. Warm and welcoming but not encroaching on your privacy. There was no problem with a late breakfast and checkout and Chris even kindly gave us a lift to the station. The room was clean and comfy. The road is busy but not that noisy. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admicjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

On August 12, 2013, we stayed at the Langdale House in the "Valleyview" room after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, we were "greeted" by an envelope posted on the door, addressed to us. Within it, was a note from the owner saying he was sorry that he wasn't there to greet us, but to call him for a security code to get a key to enter the house. There wasn't any explanation from him to why he wasn't there to let us in. We tried phoning him, but he didn't answer. We also left a message and we never got any kind of response. Also on the note was his partner's number, which we also called. We asked for her, but instead, got a member of staff from the pub she owned, so we didn't speak directly to anyone responsible for the B & B. After relaying the message from us to her, the member of staff gave us the security code needed to open up the lock box. We could have been anyone, so anyone could have had our room and I didn't appreciate our names being posted on an outside door for all to see. The room itself was as advertised and lovely, but it was a very hot day, and after reading the reviews and knowing it would be noisy with the windows opened, we went there thinking we could ask for a fan, but because there was nobody around, we couldn't, so we had a disturbed night. In the morning, we went down to breakfast. The lady that was there, served us promptly, and the food was ok but, she never checked on us after that to see if we were ok or needed anything. It would have been appreciated if she had asked us if we wanted anymore juice or toast. Overall we were sadly disappointed with the lack or absence of a welcome, service or even a farewell! As such, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Langdale House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Diana T

No mystery. I was taking some other guests of Langdale House sailing from Fowey and I stayed overnight. However, your Review is fair. I took my eye off the ball for a day and I apologise. By way of compensation I would be happy to invite you to stay again on FOC basis the next time you are in Cornwall and will ensure that I am available for proper hosting which according to the other reviews it seems I do well. Again, Diana, with my apology, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Heights
Alexandra Heights
#31 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cooperage
Cooperage
#9 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#18 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karmary Guest House
Karmary Guest House
#28 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale House

Property: Langdale House
Address: 1A Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing