We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
458
157
53
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
157
53
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubelizabeth roomred letteron arrivaleden projectindoor poolfree upgradecold buffetcoffee and cakescallopslounge arealovely poolrelaxing stayspa treatmentscooked breakfaststayed longerlovely touch
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We booked quite late and are just coming to the end of our weeks break. The hotel is lovely, old and quaint. From the moment we booked we were met with pleasant and polite responses to any questions we asked.
The thing we have enjoyed the most about the hotel is that it is very easy to stay here, no hassle just polite understated good service. When we arrived we were greeted with friendliness and shown around the hotel, the luggage was delivered to our room without any fanfare. There is an indoor pool which is fine, not large but adequate and there is an outside hot tub. We only had dinner on the first night, it was perfectly fine but we would have preferred an option for a straightforward steak or piece of fish without all the sauces etc,
Breakfast was just perfect for us, a small buffet with home made granola, yoghurt cereals and fruit etc and that was followed by a perfectly cooked breakfast which was to order. We noted prior to arriving that some people said they could have eaten more but we certainly did not find that the case!!!
Our room/suite was really lovely, a full kitchen with American fridge freezer, dining area comfortable lounge with large flat screen tv. The internet connection was very good. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The only thing I would improve on would be a decent magnifying/ make up mirror. There was a whirlpool bath which we did not use and a rain shower over the bath which was perfectly acceptable. The towels and bed linen were changed regularly and the room was beautifully maintained.The location of the hotel is really good, close to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. There is a local pub about a five minute walk away which serves food all day, not wonderful but perfectly acceptable. Our favourite eating place was Sams on the beach at Par which served amazing seafood with a wonderful sea view.
All in all a lovely break, not the cheapest but if you are looking for understated service in a great location then this is an ideal choice.

Room Tip: Demelza Suite
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely Manor house just near Eden Project . Stayed for one night , staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming , breakfast was lovely too. Didn't have time to use facilities but recommend this hotel if you are exploring this area

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lozziehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

If you are over 6 feet, you are bound to bump your head every now and than. Breakfast is ok, room of the smaller variety, complicated building with various staircases going every which way and don't count on dinner, the chef takes the rest of the day off if there was an event such as a wedding.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GZ1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The hotel was very pretty from the outside, the location is great and it is in the middle of the nature. I really loved that. The staff was friendly and smiling. The property amenities are nice, I liked the Bar and the entrance salon.
What I was disappointed about was the room. Ok, I booked last minute and wasn't expected to get the prettiest room in the building but still, I paid 150 £ for the night. The condition of the room was ok and clean, but we had no water coming out of the shower. The bathroom was tight and after a day in the beach it was very uncomfortable not being able to take a proper shower. One night stay was fine but I couldn't have stay more. We informed the Front Desk about the shower issue, hope they will fix it.

Room Tip: Don't book "Joanna" Room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mailysdelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a four night break but checked out after 1 night.

For the first time we booked a hotel on booking.com that was dog friendly but having booked a very nice looking room on line we found out the night before that there were only 2 dog friendly rooms and whilst informed it was as good and wonderful as the one we had initially booked it was terrible. It had a private yard, which was a good idea, but that was very dirty with overgrown trees. It had a tiny very old bathroom with an electric heater shower over the bath which we didn't bother with.

The "spa" is an indoor pool, a hot tub and a treatment room but only 4 loungers squeezed in to the pool space. The outdoor pool was closed and emptied and looked as if it had been for some time. Ok the weather wasn't good to be able to use it but if it had been hot this would have been a major disappointment.

The breakfast room in the morning was small, noisy, very tired with old seating and damp looking walls.

To cap it all the chef had walked out that week so the restaurant was closed.

The one positive was the receptionist who was very smiley, friendly and chatty and tried hard but sorry Boscundle Manor it wasn't a good experience particularly with the price that was going to be charged.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews