We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed. Five star prices; Four star decor; 3 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed. Five star prices; Four star decor; 3 star service”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

From their website the hotel promises so much but fails to deliver these promises. The food and restaurant are both excellent and much of the hotel has benefitted from recent refurbishment to a high specification. Sadly that is where it ends. Staffing appears to be the biggest issue; being cut to miminal to cuts costs with no thought to guest services. We arrived PM on Sunday 5th Sept for 4 nights. The personal greeting by the owners was pleasant but appeared pretentious rather than warm and it became evident it was possibly also through necessity as there were no other members of staff on duty.
We stayed in the Joanna room which looked like it's pictures on the website but did not live up to the quality expected. The en suite has not enjoyed the refurbishment and was looking tired with broken tiles, a badly repaired sink and other signs of old age. We were not advised of the switch for the pump for the Mira shower so endured a trickle for the first day or so. even with the pump in operation the shower was not the best as it was not possible to direct the jet correctly. Although the food was excellent and the canapes a superb touch, dinner on the first evening became overly protracted as there was only one member of staff to man reception, tend the bar and wait at table. Consequently guest service in each of these areas suffered and detracted from one's enjoyment. Booking one's evening meal had to be done at breakfast which removed any chance of spontaneity or flexibility. Often it would only be possible to dine as late as 815pm. This was necessary in order to keep the staff requirements down. The "Day Spa" consists of an indoor swimming pool which was well appointed and a 4 x person hot tub. Unfortunately the hot tub was located outside so was not a relaxing alternative during the horrendous rain endured during the first day of our stay. On checking in we were encouraged to consider massages in the 'spa' room which we duly booked for the following day as both my wife and I were experiencing back and neck problems. Having planned our day around the massages we duly returned a litle over an hour before the allotted time only to be advised 10mins before the appointment that neither massage could go ahead as the therapist was not available. Due to the torrential rain the option of relaxing in the hot tub was out of the question. The hotel is failing to live up to it's own illusions. Buscudle Manor makes a superior Guest House but not the exclusive hotel it considers itself to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juan_Cornetto_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    135
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
102
403
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The welcome we received on arrival with tea and a slice of home made lemon cake gave us a good introduction to the warmth of the hostess Sharon and her team. The room was very comfortable with a great living area to relax in. The location was ideal for visiting many of the local attractions.
The restaurant and evening meal was a great experience (to be repeated), Ian was a great host on our first night and despite a busy weekend, had plenty of time to explain the delights of the area to us.
The friendliness of all the management and staff made it an experience that will be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swalker911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked Boscundle Manor for the end of a week touring Southern England and paid £675 for 3 nights for 2 adults and a child and were looking forward to it. However, on arrival our hopes were dashed. We were met by the strangest of staff and the whole place had an overwhelming strange feel and overpowering stale food smell.

The decor and furnishings were lovely and somebody had obviously put a lot of thought into this. We stayed in the Rebecca Manor Suite and the room was very lovely. However the bathroom in contrast was quite alarming. Old damaged spa bath with black sludge coming through the air holes when turned on and cheap pvc shower cubicle with 1980s ugly electric shower. The bathroom was damp and smelt accordingley and we had to constantly keep the window open. The carpeted floor did not help this. We had a patio but as this was overlooked by the property next door this wasnt very private or picturesque due to the view of two old greenhouses (one in the hotel grounds and one next door) with rubbish tumbling out of the doors.

The food was good. We had dinner the first night and this was good. The price was also ok for hotel dinner. Breakfast was also good and a decent choice of hot food, the buffet was a bit scanty but not an issue. The first morning at breakfast we were asked to move before we had finished to accomodate other guests which seriously annoyed my husband.

The indoor pool area was again decorated very nicely but the dead frog my daughter found at the side put us off a bit as did the coldness of the water. The outdoor pool was filthy and unusable. The jacuzzi was also not very clean and had a strange smell to it and did end up out of order whilst we were there, maybe for cleaning.

Our room was over or next to the kitchen and the noise of banging and maybe a door swinging, on an evening went on until after 12.

All this aside the worst thing about this hotels was the atmosphere, which was strange and unwelcoming. I really believe that first impressions count and seriously suggest that they consider their frontline staff. There was an air of pretentiousness which was quite laughable considering the staff which were trying to pull it off and the amount of flaws this hotel had. With its decor and facilities this hotel could have been lovely but due to so many corners been cut and the people we saw ruinning this hotel it is seriously over priced and needs to get back to basics before attempting to be so grand and pompus.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank masterplaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwalldave, Owner at Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
The owners have apologised to the reviewer for a number of shortcomings they experienced during their stay, in particular the uncomplimentary comments about a particular member of staff, who showed such great promise at interview, however he completely failed to deliver in practice and, thankfully, decided to move on soon after this review was published (but not in time for us to get another poor "service" related review on September 9).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Loved the hotel and grounds but to be honest felt it was a little tired. We didn't get offered the complimentary tea and cake on arrival but were whisked up to our room sharpish. Room was pretty and lots of thought had gone into the decor, sadly one of the bathroom lights was faulty, two tiles were broken in the bathroom and the clock had stopped. Little things I know but they all add up. Our room had a private patio which would have been useful but when I sat on the bench the flaking paint came off all over my clothes - didn't try that again. The food, however, was lovely and service was prompt and efficient. Having to wait for a table for breakfast was also disappointing. But I guess if you overlook the little niggles the hotel is ok but we probably would stay elsewhere next time we visit the area.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DocPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. On the first night after a long journey down from Lancashire, the manager very kindly upgraded my room to the Louisa suite, so that I could prepare for my court case the next day at Truro. The room Louisa - was beautiful, clean and very plush. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath in it, which was very relaxing after a long drive down. The extra's by way of molton brown toiltries and dressing gown provided, added the finishing touches.

I was blessed with a window seat to take in the beautiful grounds and garden. I was fortunate with the weather on one evening and was able to sit beside the outdoor swimming pool and on the lawned area to read. It was very peaceful and relaxing..a lovely retreat for either business or pleasure.

the evening meal was lovely and further a wide choice at breakfast time. My only very minor grumble was that with having to leave early that it did not start before 7.30am, however, the staff and chef where very obliging and I left with a handful of hot pasteries to eat on the way with some fruit. Delicious.

The staff where all wonderful and very helpful . They assisted with carrying my bags to the room and to my car...and nothing was too much effort for them.

I also managed to indulge myself with the outdoor hot tub and take a dip in the indoor pool.. it was a pity that I had to work whilst down there, as the spa looked very appealing.
This is a hotel that I would recommend to friends and colleagues..and comes equal pegging for best hotel that I have stayed in all over the uk.

D Collins

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnacompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

An excellent, well appointed hotel, in a quiet location, but within easy distance of the towns of the surrounding area. The staff are excellent, and nothing is too much trouble to ask. The swimming pool, and hot tub are clean and well maintained. Food in the restaurant is second to none, and I defy anyone to better the fillet steak.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynebssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

First impressions of hotels rarley last once you pass the door but this hotel is completely different. The overall look and feel of the hotel has been well thought out and makes for a very comfortable stay. The staff are all very helpful and attentive. We were unable to get a table for dinner, so would recommend phoning ahead by a couple of days to get a table. We stayed in the Ann room, which was very impressive, and although small, again well thought out so that all the comforts you need are included. Our only problem with the room was the window. As expected from an attic room the window was small, and the information did say that the room had a limited view of the garden. But the reason for this isn't because of being so high up etc, it's because of ivy growing on the adjacent wall to the window. The ivy practically covers the whole window to the point where it is difficult to open. For a one night stay this wasn't a problem, but I can image that after a couple of nights it might become quite clostrophobic espacially in warmer weather as it is impossible for fresh air to get into the room. It also means the lights have to be on all the time as the room is so dark. Breaksfast was lovely with plenty to choose form on a buffet table and a good choice on the cooked menu. The hotel has a spa area so remember your swimming gear.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagsnrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,485 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
17.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Property: Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#7 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing