We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Woodpeckers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodpeckers
Ranked #30 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Everything about the entire stay was accommodating to the max. You see a lot of places get by offering the 'basics' (regardless of how nice the basics are) but Jo and Rob seem to make it their mission to ensure you can have more than you can ever possibly need - which really is a great thing. The room we stayed in was as nice as I think I've come across and the impeccably kept grounds and living areas make every area of the B&B relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and there's plenty more snacking to be had at pretty much every turn. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Staying at woodpeckers have changed my way of traveling, it's very difficult to put it down in words but it's an incredible place to stay! Every time you open a draw, you will find something new - hair masks, facial products, sweets, crisps, tourches, you name it! Absolutely fantastic service as well, I couldn't be happier with the choise of B&B, it's even more like an hotel!
Thumbs up til 100%, thank you Jo for the energy and effort you are putting down to make that place so faboulius and homely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajsa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A last minute decision to visit The Eden Project required overnight accommodation and having read the reviews on tripadvisor Woodpeckers looked ideal. Luckily there had been a cancellation and Jo the owner was able to fit us in. Everything was perfect from start to finish and the previous reviews say it all. The breakfast and accommodation were superb and no attention to detail was overlooked. We will definitely be re-visiting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Woodpeckers and we have to agree with all the previous reviews, it really is the best B&B we have ever stayed at.
Jo is a wonderful host and provides a beautiful, high quality retreat set in peaceful surroundings. We stayed in the "chalet" and it had everything we could possibly want and more. Milk and juice in the fridge, plenty of tea, coffee etc along with biscuits and treats should we want them.
The bathroom had a bath and shower and don't worry if you have forgotten anything as Jo has provided a wide variety of shampoos, conditioner, lotions etc for ladies and gents should you have forgotten to pack anything.
The breakfasts are scrumptious! Plenty of choice in the conservatory of cereals, bread and fresh fruit and should you opt for something cooked then you won't be disappointed. You must try the eggs, provided by the chickens of a neigbour, they are lovely.
Jo really is a welcoming hostess, she even booked a table for us for at a restaurant for our anniversary after we asked her about a good place to eat.
I can't recommend Woodpeckers highly enough. Thank you Jo for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Woodpeckers is a superb B and B. Everything that has been said in previous reviews is true. We had the "superkingsize double room" a spacious room, tastefully decorated. Lovely bathroom with a powerful shower (no bath in this room, which suited us) and a separate dressing room, spacious with hanging space and a dresser for bags, clothes, shoes etc and a full length mirror. The bedroom, bathroom and dressing room has plenty of natural light and a lovely outlook to the front and side of the house. Lovely gardens and conservatory to relax.
Breakfast to order is especially good made with quality and local produce.
Jo is a superb host and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Jo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Can't praise Woodpeckers highly enough. Everything was superb from arrival to departure. Jo has turned her home into a beautiful retreat set in a lovely quiet location but not too far from St Austell . Our bedroom was beautiful, spacious and immaculate with it's own dressing room and bathroom, stocked with a huge variety of toiletries. Not only was there tea and coffee in our room but also chocolate, orange juice and bottled water and a hamper full of goodies, everything from chocolates to a selection of savoury biscuits and crisps. Our breakfasts started with a fabulous selection of prepared fresh fruits, cereals, dried fruits and nuts, crumpets and even cheese and biscuits and of course the cooked breakfast which was amazing, not only was it delicious and beautifully presented, but plentiful and all locally sourced. Jo is a wonderful hostess and has catered for every possible need of her guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a long weekend here recently, Jo the hostess is very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the "chalet" in the garden, had everything you could possibly want for your stay, and everything top drawer. Breakfast was excellent, the surroundings quiet and tranquil, just the job to get away from everyday life. Will definitely be returning, don't be put off by what appears to be an "expensive" rate, when you see what you get, it's worth every penny - Highly Recommended *****

Room Tip: If you want a taste of luxury - have the chalet in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.2 mi away
Penarth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kernow Homes - Travel accommodation
1.1 mi away
Anchorage House
Anchorage House
#6 of 96 in St Austell
249 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cooperage
Cooperage
#8 of 96 in St Austell
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodpeckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodpeckers

Property: Woodpeckers
Address: Woodpeckers Tregrehan, St Austell PL26 8YA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodpeckers 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Woodpeckers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodpeckers Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing