We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

What an amazing Hotel and Staff. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us in such a family manner, nothing was too much trouble. This hotel has to be the best hotel with exceptional staff superb food and views that you can only dream off. The Golf course is also fantastic.

Whether it is business or pleasure this is the hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: All the rooms we amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for such a fantastic review, it is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback. Your comments with regards to our “superb staff” will be passed onto the team. Here at The Carlyon Bay Hotel we strive to provide excellent customer service and feedback is an essential part of our training.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    343
    113
    35
    25
See reviews for
266
768
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We recently stayed here and thought the staff were very attentive and helpful. The rooms with a sea view are great when looking out in the morning while enjoying that first cuppa! The golf course is excellent and there are many places to visit in the area. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwmbranwales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel has to be one of the best in uk. The food,cleanliness,surroundings all make this a .great place to spend a relaxed stay. We could not fault anything and the polite,efficient friendly staff omly added to the great atmosphere!.We have stayed in many hotels in this country and this has to be one,if not the best.My husband and i spent our 33rd anniversary at the hotel and would like to thank Andy, and indeed all the staff for making our stay "just perfect". We would reccommend this hotel to everyone !. Just a tiny hiccup, we were slightly dissapointed that we couldnt have our champagne that our children arranged for us with our anniversary dinner !, we didnt want to drink it in our room !. but nevertheless this didnt spoil anything with our stay at this fab hotel.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a sea view its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinecwmbranwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent quite a few weekends at the Brend Hotels and the Carlyon Bay is one of the very best hotels in the SW. Superb food, very attentive staff and absolutely brilliant surroundings. Nothing to fault, absolutely first class. Will definitely make this a regular trip.

Room Tip: Even the inland facing rooms are very well appointed and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely hotel, with excellent service and facilities, and superb food. In very good location for visiting Cornwall.
Cannot fault it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kltoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel has amazing views of the bays. The service is excellent and the quality of the restaurant is outstanding - highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a very pleasant stay for 3 nights at this hotel in October and although it’s more of an upper class golfer/retired wealthy gentleman’s hotel, we still found most of the staff quite pleasant. There seemed to be a dress code for the restaurant which we gave a miss and went into the town instead for food. There isn’t too much choice though as the town is quite small.

The hotel is located just in front of the cliff path, so great if you like to walk! Good base for exploring the Eden project which is about a 15 minute drive and about 45 minutes if you want to visit Padstow.

The rooms are quite small but very clean with nice bathrooms. The breakfast was fabulous, with a huge choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts, juices, breads, cheeses, ham, and a great cooked breakfast.

I think they price this hotel very high to attract a certain type of ‘class’, overall it was a great stay, but we couldn’t help thinking it was aimed more at the older generation!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
641 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing