We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

As you arrive and are greeted with a warm smile from the doorman in the pouring rain you know that you are going to be looked after the rooms were lovely and warm the breakfast is very hot and plenty of choice !! In the evening you had choice of restaurants and bars the golf course is superb then of course you have the spa and swimming pool very good

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SeanGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    334
    105
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
746
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This visit was just for lunch and afternoon tea and we chose Carlyon because it is always so reliable both in terms of service and comfort and the quality of the food. The comfort remains and the lunch was of a reasonable quality but the service, apart from the porters whose impeccable courtesy and welcome never fails, felt much less personalised than usual, particularly at tea-time. It was fairly difficult to attract a waiter or waitress's attention to take our order and when we did, the young waitress was not particularly helpful and the 'Victorian Sponge' that we all ordered was in fact a very sweet and creamy gateau. We left with our usual high opinion of the Carlyon slightly tarnished, sadly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

From the time we got there we were treated very well. The staff were excellent, especially the porter Barry who was faultless. Bar was fine. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday night, food was well cooked and very tasty. The mussels were fab :) Recommend staying there, will definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pdub456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have been visiting the Carlyon Bay Hotel for over 20 years as part of a golfing society and privately as a couple. It never disappoints, but where the actual rooms are concerned, you do get what you pay for. The rooms at the back of the building (sea view) are considerably better than those at the front (overlooking the car-park). The views from the back rooms are stunning all along the coast line and these rooms appear to be larger and better equipped - but obviously cost more. Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in where cleanliness/housekeeping is concerned.

All staff are helpful and efficient and considering the numbers the waiting staff had to serve over the last weekend (golfing society) they coped fantastically well with politeness, good humour and efficiency. Food was up to its usual high standard with imaginative and tasty dishes, but I do feel the Amuse Bouche course is perhaps a little too adventurous with so many diners. It is very difficult for waiting staff to get through so many large tables - and the Amuse Bouce course just seems to take up so much time - wonderful for individual guests but not so for such large parties. Only a personal view.

Food in the golf club house is marvellous and the staff are friendly and welcoming. If guests play golf, Carlyon Bay is exceptionally good value for money as there are no green fees. What you save could easily be spent in the 2 wonderfully stocked pro shops - especially the ladies!!

This really is a comfortable and friendly hotel where one can sit for ages in the lovely lounge just enjoying doing nothing, admiring the view or passing the time of day.

Entertainment provided at weekends (Friday and Saturday) is usually very good - the acts do seem to play to their audience rather than just what they want to do. 11.00 p.m. cut off at does seem a bit early - maybe 11.30 would be more acceptable to people wanting the entertainment and those who have retired to their rooms. In all the years we have been visiting, (and we have had different rooms), we have never had any problem with noise from the entertainment area - and it did used to go on later than 11.00 p.m.

It is such a pity the beach is still in such a mess. Whoever is responsible for the fact that the beach has looked like a building site for at least 10 years now, needs to get their act together and return this area to what is should be, i.e. a beautiful Cornish beach, not millionaire style appartments totally inappropriate for the surroundings. The mess is a hideous eye-sore and so disappointing for visitors who have never seen the beach as it was/should be. Fortunately the beach cannot be seen from the hotel.

Carlyon Bay is a lovely comfortable base from which to visit other parts of Cornwall. There are so many sea-side towns/villages or in-land attractions - just a weekend is not enough. The head door-man, John, is fantastic - helpful, friendly and a font of all knowledge.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are stunning and worth the extra for longer stays. Avoid rooms in centre - by lift, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at the Carlyon Bay, however it turned out to be very average. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. We had a small double bed and our bathroom was so tiny, you could not move in it; no where to put anything. Food average. We will avoid this hotel in the future

Room Tip: Check the bed size. Most 4 star hotels today offer king size beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed two nights with a half board arrangement including golf for two days.
Very friendly, welcoming staff all the way from the snappily dressed front door man through reception and all the way to the dining room. The owners ( or manager) have obviously gained their staff well and they all seemed to have a sense of ownership for the hotel even though many were from distant climes. Could not fault the general quality of the food and service.
Two little blots on the copybook, however: the lounge waiter on our second evening was almost un- attractable. He walked back and forth from bar to lounge with his head studiously down, avoiding any eye contact. It took 15 minutes and almost a rugby tackle to get his attention. Second - our room 104 - was directly above the main entrance from the garden to the bar. Since there was a wedding reception on that evening, it meant a lot of noise from the garden and (since smokers are banished to the outside) cigarette smoke drifting up into our room. I would suggest asking for rooms with a higher end number - over floor number plus 10 - to avoid the same problem.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with low end number - e.g. 1 to 10 after the floor number - to get away from being above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

An excellent hotel for a short break the free golf is an added incentive the full price is expensive but by ringing the hotel direct there are deals to be had
Lots of facilities with a spa and outdoor pool tennis courts

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
17.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing