We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wow!!”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 November 2013

we stayed here 2 nights 3rd 4th november, booked a deluxe double with sea view, its just superb cant find anything at fault and i must admit i do look for faults, from the staff who cant do enough for you really, to the food which is outstanding!, the hotel itself, location is superb and the hotel owners obviously put alot of its profits back into maintainance and keepimg it looking great unlike alot of other so called 4 star hotels who just take the money and let the upkeep slip away which is a regular thing we see,. we stay in lots of four and 5 star hotels up and down the country and when you want a quality "4"star hotel look no further if your visiting st austell,,the hall of fame of celebretys who have stayed there including princess di and charlie, you will not be dissapointed,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
There are newer reviews for The Carlyon Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

A lovely setting, generally helpful staff except dining room, excellent breakfast, free WIFI....... but a few niggles stop it being a 5 star rating on this occasion.


These are:
1. Really hard pillows, despite guff in the hotel information about superb pillow options. I asked for a change but the new ones were no better.
2. Spa was excellent with really nice pool, but very pokey men's changing room
3. No flexibility over where to sit in the restaurant and although we were with 3 other people we could not sit with them for Sunday breakfast despite asking.
4.Paid an extra £20 per night for sea view but windows were small and given it was winter this was not worth it. Room was not big enough to sit in to admire the view anyway
5.Some agro in the booking process about the deposit that had been paid, which had to be sorted out and took time to do so.

The price included a round of golf a day, which we did not use and full use of the Spa, which I used for half and hour. If one were to make full use of these and had an inland room for £65 pp. per night then it would be a bargain, and certainly 5 star, despite the niggles.

Room Tip: It is not worth paying the extra for a sea view if you go in winter and are out during the day. Room...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family has been coming to the Hotel for over 25 years and myself 15. Every time we come to stay it feels like a second home, the staff are brilliant and the food is exceptional! From the moment you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by wonderful staff who treat you like royalty. The whole of the Carlyon Bay staff are brilliant and the hotel is a pleasure to stay in!

Room Tip: A sea view just makes those early mornings beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_lawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been before and have found the staff most welcoming. We had a blip this time when we arranged a family visit for my parents 60th Anniversary, they wanted all 6 of us to accompany them but after we had booked it our son had to postpone. They didn't make us feel uncomfortable about it at all and rearranged it for a different weekend. We had a fantastic weekend and my Parents were made to feel special. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

As you arrive and are greeted with a warm smile from the doorman in the pouring rain you know that you are going to be looked after the rooms were lovely and warm the breakfast is very hot and plenty of choice !! In the evening you had choice of restaurants and bars the golf course is superb then of course you have the spa and swimming pool very good

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank SeanGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This visit was just for lunch and afternoon tea and we chose Carlyon because it is always so reliable both in terms of service and comfort and the quality of the food. The comfort remains and the lunch was of a reasonable quality but the service, apart from the porters whose impeccable courtesy and welcome never fails, felt much less personalised than usual, particularly at tea-time. It was fairly difficult to attract a waiter or waitress's attention to take our order and when we did, the young waitress was not particularly helpful and the 'Victorian Sponge' that we all ordered was in fact a very sweet and creamy gateau. We left with our usual high opinion of the Carlyon slightly tarnished, sadly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

From the time we got there we were treated very well. The staff were excellent, especially the porter Barry who was faultless. Bar was fine. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday night, food was well cooked and very tasty. The mussels were fab :) Recommend staying there, will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pdub456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £150 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing