We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day golf/hotel break with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
teignmouth
1 review
“2 day golf/hotel break with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

4 star hotel with 5 star service and food. Excellent service by young, friendly and energetic staff.
Golf booking well organised and the course in first class condition.
The room was spacious and the views stunning, out of a Cornish novel. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Sea views are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    333
    105
    35
    25
See reviews for
255
746
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The service was questionable for the status of this hotel. I stayed here with my family in May 2013 for my Father-in-Laws Birthday celebrations. Attention to detail is paramount in hotels of this standing, unfortunately it let me down on the following fronts:

1. Our table in the bar/lounge area was not attended to, consequently we had a number of empty glasses and plates etc. piled at one end of the table. We spent most of the afternoon in here chatting and drinking whilst other members of the party played golf. The staff seemed to do a lot of chatting at the end of the bar.
2. The family room was just a double room with a cot and small child's bed squeezed in beside the double bed, you pay extra for this of course. However, with all four of the family in the room there wasn't much room to maneuver.
3. On checkout there was around £20 extra on my bill for drinks which were not ours. The receptionist questioned this, so much so that they went and got the bar manager who came out with the receipt and told me what I had! Never before in all my traveling days on business or pleasure have I seen such protocol! To be questioned whilst there is a queue of people behind you waiting to check out? I found it highly inappropriate, we were in bed at the time these had been added to our bill anyway, but that isn't the point. As our stay was over £350 for 1 nights dinner bed and breakfast I cannot believe this was even questioned, is this standard procedure? If it is they need to change it.

So I'm afraid I rate this a terrible as I left the hotel feeling terrible......

Room Tip: Check the size of the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colditzPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Why, Oh why, can't this hotel learn from its sister hotels in Barnstaple, Sidmouth and Falmouth? The rooms are fine, if a bit small, but that's due to the age and design of the building, the beds comfortable, the swimming pool excellent (the changing rooms small) but the service!! I really resent having declined an offer to take dinner in the hotel having been asked over breakfast, the reason why. What business is it of the hotel's? And by the way, I can't even help myself to the cooked breakfast without being told that I must be served my egg first. (The breakfast was fine by the way). and what's more, the ability to sit with friends was a problem as tables had been allocated by room - and it took 15 minutes to have milk replaced on the table. I mustn't forget to mention that a female friend of mine has to change in the bathroom when a chambermain didn't have the courtsey to leave the room for the duration and that I had to chase a bartender three times to serve a group of us in the Green Bar. A second drink requested by us residents before midnight was refused as the bar was closed. I have family based locally and I recall that the hotel was not up to scratch when my late mother's birthday party was held here and I hoped for more. I was very disappointed. And please can you get your reception sorted out, I really don't expect to be told that reservations made in February for November can't be found and someone else needs to be called to sort things out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth.UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been visiting Carlyon Bay Hotel for some 10 years or more on a regular basis, with my wife. For many years we enjoyed good service, good food and the golf. However our most recent stay in September was very disappointing. We both felt that over the past few years the standard of service has been slipping particularly in the dinning room and the lounge. There has also been an evident rearrangement of the dining room to accommodate more diners. Overall the dining experience was poor although food standards remain generally high.

As a result of our most recent experience we thought it appropriate to write to the hotel general manager and outline our views. His comments were invited. The letter was dated 1st October. We still await the courtesy of a reply!

Standards slipping?

Alasdair and Jackie Jones

Room Tip: Regrettably you will have to stump up the extra cash to get a reasonable sized room. Don't be fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alasdair_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Jones

Thank you for your review, may I first apologise for the apparent discourtesy of not reply to your letter, however as I explained during our telephone call your review was the first I was aware having not received your letter, we do apologise for this. It was good to talk through you comments as I feel any feedback is very valuable and rest assured I have already taken steps to rectify the issues you identified. Once again thank you for your constructive comments and I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Carlyon Bay in the future.

Mr Peter Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we stayed here 2 nights 3rd 4th november, booked a deluxe double with sea view, its just superb cant find anything at fault and i must admit i do look for faults, from the staff who cant do enough for you really, to the food which is outstanding!, the hotel itself, location is superb and the hotel owners obviously put alot of its profits back into maintainance and keepimg it looking great unlike alot of other so called 4 star hotels who just take the money and let the upkeep slip away which is a regular thing we see,. we stay in lots of four and 5 star hotels up and down the country and when you want a quality "4"star hotel look no further if your visiting st austell,,the hall of fame of celebretys who have stayed there including princess di and charlie, you will not be dissapointed,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A lovely setting, generally helpful staff except dining room, excellent breakfast, free WIFI....... but a few niggles stop it being a 5 star rating on this occasion.


These are:
1. Really hard pillows, despite guff in the hotel information about superb pillow options. I asked for a change but the new ones were no better.
2. Spa was excellent with really nice pool, but very pokey men's changing room
3. No flexibility over where to sit in the restaurant and although we were with 3 other people we could not sit with them for Sunday breakfast despite asking.
4.Paid an extra £20 per night for sea view but windows were small and given it was winter this was not worth it. Room was not big enough to sit in to admire the view anyway
5.Some agro in the booking process about the deposit that had been paid, which had to be sorted out and took time to do so.

The price included a round of golf a day, which we did not use and full use of the Spa, which I used for half and hour. If one were to make full use of these and had an inland room for £65 pp. per night then it would be a bargain, and certainly 5 star, despite the niggles.

Room Tip: It is not worth paying the extra for a sea view if you go in winter and are out during the day. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family has been coming to the Hotel for over 25 years and myself 15. Every time we come to stay it feels like a second home, the staff are brilliant and the food is exceptional! From the moment you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by wonderful staff who treat you like royalty. The whole of the Carlyon Bay staff are brilliant and the hotel is a pleasure to stay in!

Room Tip: A sea view just makes those early mornings beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack_lawry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
17.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing