We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornwall Break”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cornwall Break”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Carlyon Bay Hotel several times and have always had an excellent time. It is an extremely good hotel with excellent food, good facilities and very comfortable rooms and beds and all in a wonderful setting with expansive sea views. The staff are very friendly and efficient and go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    350
    116
    35
    25
See reviews for
271
784
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just had a lovely weekend at the Carlyon Bay.Wonderful views from our seaview room.This hotel was delightful and one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed In.The reception staff were very helpful especially Hannah who gave us lots of information and also all the other staff around the hotel.Breakfast was lovely and the dinner.Will definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our family spent Easter at the Carlyon Bay to celebrate the grandparents' 80th birthday. We grandparents have stayed at the hotel many times but would say that the quality of staff and the service we received was quite outstanding and the best we have experienced there. Every member of our extended family was extremely happy with the experience. Our thanks go to Peter Brennan and his staff for making our stay a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peveril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Group of friends booked golf and accommodation. Course busy, but moved steadily and a good test of golf with great views over the coast. 3 course dinner choice was excellent and well cooked and presented. Breakfast buffet had wide range of hot and cold choices. Accommodation clean and ideal for a couple of nights. Good choice of food also available in the clubhouse. Basically couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available, but not essential if spending most of your trip on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatM174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having stayed for the first time at this hotel - for two days on a golf break, I was very impressed. All the staff seemed motivated and cheerful and only too willing to help in any way they could, whether it was in the restaurant, in the bar, serving coffee, in reception, on the door, room service or portering, These days thats quite unusual. The food, bedroom and location were also very good.

Well Done All. .

Room Tip: I liked the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton47SalcombeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first trip to Cornwall and we had booked 3 different hotels to stay in different areas. We had booked a different hotel in St Austell and unfortunately it was not acceptable to us and we decided not to stay there. I telephoned the Carlyon Bay to see if they had any availability. From the very first conversation the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the whole experience lived up to my first impressions. A wonderful hotel, with exceptional staff. The food on the whole was excellent. The Bistro food was fantastic and the main restaurant very good with the exception of the desserts. The desserts were disappointing and let them down (a minor point I realise!)
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Braz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a long weekend here and overall were pleased with all the hotel facilities and location, staff were polite, courteous and obliging. The Spa staff were friendly and helpful and the Spa facilities are a pleasant size - not too big but more than adequate.

The only downside was the bed - great if you like a soft mattress - although apparently upgraded rooms have better beds! So could be worth asking! You can ask for a choice of pillows so that was a nice touch.

Would definitely stay again...

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view if you can - better beds as well as better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jokoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing