We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break.”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was a fleeting visit...just 2 nights...but enough of a "taster" to want to come back for a longer stay. Staff very attentive and obliging. We tapped into the half board package which represented very good value. Good choice at dinner - all freshly cooked. Generous breakfast. Lots to do and see in the area but only had time for Charlestown, Fowey and the beach at Menabilly ( a mile walk but well worth it...no-one else there!)

Room Tip: If you can, go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, what lovely feedback. We were very happy to hear that your already thinking of your next stay with us (longer stay at that.) Your comments regarding the very attentive and obliging staff will be passed onto the team. Once again thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

excellent hotel if you have kids, like to relax and play golf. the service was excellent . has a private beach which is nice. it was quite easy to travel around and see local attractions. will definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rash1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your fantastic comments, we were very pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel as a family, the family packages we have available in the school holiday periods are there to try to ensure parents still find the time to relax in the spa or enjoy a round of golf. We were pleased to hear that this was the case for you. We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Such a lovely place to just chill out especially if going abroad isn't an option, just wish I could have stayed longer!!
Hotel is immaculate inside and out as is the golf course and clubhouse.
All food from breakfast to lunch to dinner is delicious and there's lots to choose from.
Staff in both the Hotel and Golf club are polite and helpful.
The views around the golf course are not to be missed, so if you do not play golf i highly recommend the coastal path walk.
They also have the best ladies golf shop, soon to be online!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments with regards to the hotel being immaculate both inside and out are very pleasing to hear. We were delighted to hear you were able to make use of a variety of facilities including our golf course and Club House. Our Ladies Boutique does prove to be very popular with our female golfers and we hope to have this response once the new retail site is launched. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our group of 12 had a great 3 night break with golf on a testing course in excellent condition, the quality of the accommodation and food was very good with plenty of choices. Every member of staff we encountered was very polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble they all made the break enjoyable and very relaxing. The hotel and golf facilities are second to none so even if you are not a golfer I would highly recommend this hotel as the location and views are outstanding, especially if you have a room with sea facing views like I had.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it is very rewarding to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We were pleased to hear you felt the golf was testing and the course was in excellent condition, i know our team of Green Keepers work very hard maintaining the course all year round. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a future golfing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to this hotel to celebrate my daughters birthday, started with a swim in the heated swimming pool, bubble spa, steam room and hotbeds, lovely meal in the restaurant, very good service , and buffet breakfast next morning. The rooms were spotless and very nicely presented, lovely comfy bed and soft pillows. The weather was fabulous for our visit, all the staff were very friendly , the hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated. I loved this hotel and hope to be able to return one day. Only criticism our ice bucket never arrived at our room .

Room Tip: Not all rooms have sea view, the ones on the front overlook the car park, but this wasn't a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyntonBarbie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, it is very satisfying to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. We do hope you have the opportunity to return to the Carlyon Bay Hotel for a future stay, and please except our apologies for the missing ice bucket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a great three night break with 15 mates at the hotel. Golf course was fine and in good condition food great staff looked after us well would recommend it as a venue for a golf trip.
Thanks to Kelly who ensured all was in place for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHA4139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass your comments onto Kelly. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you and your golfing party back for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Its not often you arrive home after four days feeling like you have been away for ten. Especially as we had some typical British weather to cope with. We were helped, aided and abeted by the staff at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed they could not have been more cheerful, helpful and polite. We felt very valued and looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. Comfort, relaxation, great views. We have already told friends and family and look forward to returning. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Sea View a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, it is very reassuring to read that you were made to feel so valued and looked after by our cheerful staff. Thank you for sharing your experience of the Carlyon Bay Hotel and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £109 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing