We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf break”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a marvelous overnight stay with golf on both days. The room, food and service were all first class and the staff were very friendly ad helpful. The golf course looked straightforward, but it was not easy to score. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had an inland facing view which was perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, food and facilities. To hear that guests feel they have received a first class stay is very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you to The Carlyon Bay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Superb hotel, very comfortable and clean, good facilities all round.
The staff were all very helpful, polite and attentive.
Excellent breakfasts, buffet and cooked to order, delightful dining room with superb sea veiws.
A perfect hotel for a couple of nights relexing, walking or sitting in the spa.
Good value all round, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room, the veiws were perfect, especially from the beds room 217. Really quiet e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trippin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review stay here at The Carlyon Bay Hotel. We were very pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay and hope you are able to come back to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is located on edge of a cliff with very nice garden and view. The terrace, pool and tennis courts are great to enjoy a day of sunshine in Cornwall. The staff are very friendly and are welcoming guests warmly. Proximity to tourist attractions makes Carlyon Bay a good base for daytrips to see places nearby. Very effortless experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveller123998659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is very pleasing to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience with us. We are in a great location for reaching many of the fantastic attractions Cornwall has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a fantastic week at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. The location was part of the attraction of this hotel plus the golf. The food was excellent and we came home heavier than we went! While there we celebrated out 45th wedding anniversary - the restaurant staff made it a special evening for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stevens100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Congratulations to you both again and we are honoured that you choose the Carlyon Bay Hotel to spend such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you both to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Carlyon Bay Hotel is very nice, we stopped for 7 nights and I have to say it has to be one of the best hotels we have stopped at. staff, food, location is perfect I truly recommend this hotel. try and book a sea view room it is worth the extra.

Room Tip: sea view a must !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us, we couldn’t agree more the views from our sea view rooms are spectacular. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was the second time that I stayed here, so that says something i suppose. The hotel has an excellent location and the staff are friendly. The golf course for which a round a day is included when you stay is average although located by the sea. The ladies pro shop is excellent my partner tells me. Although I stayed in a 'deluxe' sea facing room, the room faced the swimming pool and the sitting area was small. In fact there were so many chairs in it that it was easier to sit on the bed than fight them. Which room you get is a matter of luck and I guess I was unlucky. All elements of the cooked breakfasts were over salted. The hotel is quite large and it seems to want to provide a fine dining experience, but sadly falls short. So a mixture of emotions about the hotel. For me twice is enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed186277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for returning to The Carlyon Bay Hotel.
I was surprised to hear your comments about our 18 hole championship golf course. It is an extremely popular golf course with our residents and members, the diversity of the cliff top holes along with the challenging parkland setting seems to be enjoyed by most. I was dissapionted to read that you felt the course was average and we hope that a future stay may change your opinion.
We have a number of dining options available to our guests including the Bay View Restaurant and Taste Brassiere. Our chefs source the best local produce which is prepared fresh every day.
We hope that we can welcome you again to The Carlyon Bay Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel. In a idyllic location, pool just lovely with an amazing setting, had a fantastic trip to the beach by golf buggy what fun! The picnic we requested could have been better crab sandwiches gorgeous just lacked the star quality you would expect from such a lovely hotel, served in a basket with a fees special bits would finish it off perfectly! The meal in the main restaurant was outstanding overall a really lovely and enjoyable stay, definitely would go again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your 'Lovely stay'. The Buggy Rides are lots of fun so we were very pleased to read that you were able to experience this. I will ensure your comments with regards to the picnic are passed on to our chefs and reviewed. We pride ourselves on using the best local produce so I'm delighted to hear your meal in the restaurant was outstanding. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
15.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £124 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing