We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous deals to be had”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Book each side of the high season and you are in for a treat. The room cleanliness and standard are excellent, the food is fabulous and the facilities are superb. Dinner bed and breakfast with 2 rounds of golf is a great favourite of ours. Mark Row the golf professional remembers us each year and greets us with a smile and a friendly chat.
This is an all round package which we enjoy every year! Highly recommend this hotel and the golf.

Room Tip: If you don't spend much time in your room book an inland facing one. Much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Carlyon Bay Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the excellent standards. I know that Mark takes a personal interest in getting to know each of our golfers and its always a delight to welcome our guests back each year. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed yet another stay here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I love Cornwall and we always spend the first few days of our annual June holiday at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. The service is always first class and the facilities are fabulous. For the past few years we have been staying in Room 112 which is one of the deluxe rooms with access to the balcony. We love it. The weather was perfect this year and we were able to play tennis, golf and swim in the outdoor pool. The food and service is consistently good in both of the hotel's restaurants. In particular, we dined in the brasserie on the night of one of England's games in the World Cup and the staff were very accommodating in ensuring we were able to finish our meal before the start of the match. We've stayed in lots of hotels in Cornwall, but Carlyon Bay is the best.

Room Tip: Room 112 has access to a balcony and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were very pleased to hear you have enjoyed another stay with us and that you felt you received “first class service”. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed our fabulous facilities and to hear that the weather also contributed to your stay. Cornwall is fantastic all year round, however a little bit of sunshine makes it that extra bit special. Such a wonderful compliment “The best hotel in Cornwall” i know our management and staff will be thrilled to read this. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First time stay at the hotel. The service was first class from the moment we arrived, through to the cleanliness of the room and the food and service provided in the main Bay View restaurant. It was a wonderful stay and a real treat!

Room Tip: Side rooms with a sea view are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 60Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is very pleasing to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you can return to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It is refreshing to find, in these days of slack or indifferent services, a hotel that focuses on customer care.
My wife and I have just spent three nights at The Carlyon Bay. It was our first visit. From the time we checked in to the time we left the staff could not have been more helpful. The quality of the food was good consistently and the Spa facilities excellent.
We would have no hesitation at booking again for a summer break.
Philip

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room. Those facing the car park are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for your review Phillip. I was delighted to read about your experience here at the Carlyon Bay. To hear that you had the traditional quality and service we strive to provide within the Brend Hotel group is very pleasing. We hope to welcome you back for your summer break very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely hotel we stayed Saturday night and Sunday night and made full use of the Spa facilities
the indoor pool is great and we had it to ourselves before breakfast.
The rooms were clean and the sea view one spacious, great food and service we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantelle141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a relaxing weekend with us. We appreciate your kind comments about the service that you received, our spa & leisure facilities & our “great” food. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlyon Bay Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a marvelous overnight stay with golf on both days. The room, food and service were all first class and the staff were very friendly ad helpful. The golf course looked straightforward, but it was not easy to score. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had an inland facing view which was perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service, food and facilities. To hear that guests feel they have received a first class stay is very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you to The Carlyon Bay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Superb hotel, very comfortable and clean, good facilities all round.
The staff were all very helpful, polite and attentive.
Excellent breakfasts, buffet and cooked to order, delightful dining room with superb sea veiws.
A perfect hotel for a couple of nights relexing, walking or sitting in the spa.
Good value all round, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room, the veiws were perfect, especially from the beds room 217. Really quiet e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trippin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review stay here at The Carlyon Bay Hotel. We were very pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay and hope you are able to come back to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,399 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £143 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing