We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel!”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our third visit to the hotel and I must say we are never disappointed. The location is stunning and, as golfers, we feel you would be hard pressed to find a more spectacular course than that at Carlyon Bay. The accommodation, the food and the standard of service are second to none and the facilities offer something for everyone. The staff are friendly, efficient and very professional with nothing being too much trouble. We will certainly be spending more holidays there, it is worth the effort of the long journey from Manchester. We had a 7 night stay in a deluxe room with fabulous views, it was everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and all of your wonderful comments. Our championship golf course is extremely popular with our regular guests and local members. Its diversity sets it apart from the rest with spectacular views over St Austell bay. We hope that when you return to stay you will have an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
There are newer reviews for The Carlyon Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay, to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. Upon arrival we were told that our room was not ready and would we like to store our luggage in their secure locked room, we handed it over to the doorman, who took it away. We returned about 2 hours later, after having some lunch, to find our luggage left un-supervised in a busy corridor near the restaurant . When we went back to reception they re took our luggage, saying it should have been locked away and they would send it up to our room once it was ready, they didn't really apologise and we didn't make a fuss. However, on our last day the weather changed and my wife went to put on her Ralph Lauren Cardigan/jacket but couldn't find it. The weather had been beautiful and she was sure that she hadn't worn it. To be on the safe side we went to reception to ask if she had left it anywhere and if it had been handed in. We were told to come back in 20 minutes so that receptionist could phone all the various departments and personally check the lost property. Upon our return we were told that sadly it had not been handed in. My wife then said that she didn't think that she had worn it anyway, but had definitely bought it, and maybe it went missing when our luggage was left untended. I then mentioned CCTV. The receptionist then went away and returned in seconds with my wife's cardigan/jacket which she said she had just found behind a pile of boxes!!! On a positive note, the food was excellent, although the service was poor. The spa and pools were lovely and spotlessly clean and the treatments and service my wife received in the spa were excellent. I would just recommend that you keep your luggage with you or store it in your car if your room is not ready when you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed the spa and pools during your stay and I was also very happy to hear that your wife enjoyed the spa treatments. I apologise for any confusion over your luggage and your wife’s cardigan, however i was pleased to hear that it was later found. I will pass the comments about this onto our management team, where this will be investigated further. We hope to welcome you back to The Carlyon Bay Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Returned to this lovely hotel knowing that the service would be second to none. So many people on hand to help us and wonderful attention from all the staff. My 91 year old Mother and I are not golfers but loved the Spa facilities and buggy ride across the golf course to the private beach. Food - fabulous.
Thank you, everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RWr003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was lovely to hear you and your Mother were able to enjoy our facilities. I will pass on your thanks to the staff and we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just experienced a fabulous three day stay at this hotel in a party of four. The superb location, facilities, and all members of staff including the gardeners made this a first class hotel. The food and service alone makes this more than a four star hotel and now that I have discovered this hotel I shall be returning. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AlanW109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank for you very kind review about the hotel and our staff. We are lucky to be in such a spectacular location and work very hard to maintain the high levels of customer service and the quality of the facilities. We are delighted to hear you would recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a fabulous Hotel!...We have just returned from a four night stay at This Hotel...it was our first
Stay at The Carlyon Bay ...from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more attentive & courteous whilst also being personable ...we were upgraded to a sea view room...the room was clean & pleasant...the restaurant staff were impeccably dressed & observed the upmost in etiquette whilst being very friendly. The reception team & management were first class.The facilities were very good..Tennis, spa, golf ..with racquets/clubs available...lovely surroundings..the setting was perfect. nothing was too much trouble...it's my Birthday today & I was sad to leave...I would definitely recommend this hotel & look forward to returning soon. Fabulous

Room Tip: Rooms to the first floor are generally quieter & may give you a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and i hope you have had fantastic birthday. Your feedback is very rewarding to read and i will be sure to pass your comments onto the management team and staff. I am sure everybody from the “impeccably dressed” restaurant staff to the “first class” reception team we be thrilled to read your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful setting and fabulous service throughout. Enjoyed the hotel facilities and excellent food at breakfast. Clean and comfortable room with an excellent view. Good spa facilities. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah16072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your comments with regards to our beautiful setting and fabulous service throughout are very pleasing to hear. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and also for highly recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you to The Carlyon Bay hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I came to stay for my 40th birthday. We stayed a Saturday and Sunday night and the weather was fantastic for our whole visit.We arrived quite early so our room wasn't ready yet so we went to the lounge/bar terrace and managed to find a table outside. Wow! What lovely surroundings. We had a very tasty lunch and when finished and went up to our room, found they had upgraded us to a sea view room, free of charge and without telling us, which was a really nice surprise. The views were fantastic and really made our trip. I specifically chose this hotel because of its spa facilities and was not disappointed. We were lucky to be able to use the lovely warm outdoor swimming pool, which was luxury and you felt you were on a tropical island. And the indoor pool and other spa facilities were also without fault. Very clean and in good order. We had a lovely couple of nights sleep in the comfortable beds. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel so couldn't comment. But all in all one of the best short breaks I have had.
I would like to single out the young girl who served us by the pool and the maître d at breakfast as the most friendly and helpful.
The only downside was the service at breakfast. I know this is one of the most busiest time for restaurant staff in any hotel but took ages for us to get served coffee and have our order taken. At other similar hotels, we were always served coffee and had our order taken practically the minute we sat down no matter how busy they were.
Would highly recommend and want to come and stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you had some fantastic weather whilst staying with us and i was thrilled to hear you felt like you were on a “tropical island” whilst relaxing by the outdoor pool. You mentioned some many fantastic aspects of your stay which are very reassuring to hear. I'm sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast, I will pass your comments onto the management team so they are able to investigate as to what happened on this occasion as i can assure you this is not usual practice. Thank you for recommending the Carlyon bay Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
893 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £148 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing