We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what you expect from a hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what you expect from a hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

An excellent hotel, spotlessly clean, room was very comfortable with modern bathroom, staff very helpful and obliging, beautiful panoramic views from the garden. The only fault was that the the lift was rather small. Will certainly recommend to others. It's exactly what you expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us especially the standards within our hotel room, both our housekeeping and maintained teams work extremely hard to maintain and improve on our high standards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    337
    107
    35
    25
See reviews for
259
754
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is perfect if you wish to see a gig at the Eden project. It is advisable to book a return taxi from the hotel to the project as it works out cheaper than buses from town as you will need a taxi to and from town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We hope that you enjoyed the Sessions at the Eden Project. We will be more than happy to arrange a taxi for you if you come for future events, we use a fantastic local firm often and all our guests have been happy with the service they provide. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gweek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for one night in May as a surprise for my husband's birthday and I can not fault the hotel in any way. The staff are so friendly yet remain very efficient. The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a wonderful location. We had a sea view room and this was also clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We had afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast and these were all delicious and the service perfect. Being naïve and a non golfer I made a mistake and did not book a tee time in advance for my husband's round of golf and the course was very busy. He was unable to play during our stay and this caused disappointment. I mentioned this to Ms Hetherington and Mr Brennan (Managers) and they offered a complimentary round of golf for my husband and a partner which they both enjoyed last week. I feel this is amazing service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: It is worth having a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to read of your stay with us, especially your comments about the beautifully decorated bedrooms and friendly yet efficient staff. We always advise to book in advance to guarantee your booking and tee time, I was happy to read that your partner was able to enjoy his round of golf at a later stage. We hope to welcome you both back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just had a two night stay, the hotel staff were warm and friendly. We were given a warm welcome. We arrived an hour or so before check in so had to wait a while but that was ok. We upgraded to a sea view room which was lovely first thing in the morning. We found the hotel to be very clean and well cared for. Our room was a good size and very well presented.
The brasserie was a bit disappointing not a great choice of inspired dishes. It was very dark and on a beautiful Summer evening it felt odd being in a dark restaurant. The staff in the Brasserie were very friendly and gave great service.
The breakfast was a standard buffet style with no outstanding elements. The toast was not very good it was poor quality thin sliced bread, the croissants were awful, they were large awful puffs of tasteless pastry yuk yuk.
The service after dinner in the main lounge was good again warm and friendly, however there did not appear to be many staff on so service was slow when ordering drinks.
We had spa treatments the staff there were very professional and gave us a good massage.
The hotel is in a beautiful location with lovely walks and amenities not that far away.
We really enjoyed our stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a really good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessEXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us. I do hope you were able to take a stroll on the coastal path which runs right along the front of the hotel, the views are beautiful from there. I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience was disappointing. The Taste brassiere offers a different dining experience to the Bay View restaurant which is why we give guests the opportunity to choose which they would prefer. Your comments about breakfast have been passed onto our head chef and restaurant team, so this can be investigated further. I was pleased to read about your treatment in the spa, our spa team are always working towards new qualifications and speciality treatments, so next time there may be something new to choose, such as our “Lava Shell” range! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

For a great stay in Cornwall you should book, you won't be disappointed. The hotel staff are very polite and helpful, the spa very clean and modern and the room, which we had upgraded for free with a lovely sea view was a good size and very clean

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruseell1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sure it will be very encouraging for guests looking to book a stay. I'm was pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience in our spa it is a wonderful place to relax and with the option of using our outdoor pool its the perfect place to unwind and watch the world go by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

found hotel clean and the staff very friendly ,evening meal in restaurant was excellent and also the breakfast ,the staff in the spa bar and restaurant could not do enough to help and made us feel very comfortable and relaxed ,the only thing is that I suffer from back pains and the mattress felt like a herd of elephants ran down the middle of it so I kept rolling back to the middle which resulted to a poor nights sleep ,other then that would return no problem and would recommend this hotel to family and friends on my return I will ask if they have a firmer mattress.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank luciano c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your stay. I was pleased to read about you impression of our very friendly staff and also your “excellent” evening meal in the restaurant. I was sorry to hear of your back problems, i can assure you our mattresses are regularly reviewed. Please do speak to our reservations team when placing future bookings who will be happy to try and fulfil any requests you may have. We shall look forward to welcoming you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our third visit to the hotel and I must say we are never disappointed. The location is stunning and, as golfers, we feel you would be hard pressed to find a more spectacular course than that at Carlyon Bay. The accommodation, the food and the standard of service are second to none and the facilities offer something for everyone. The staff are friendly, efficient and very professional with nothing being too much trouble. We will certainly be spending more holidays there, it is worth the effort of the long journey from Manchester. We had a 7 night stay in a deluxe room with fabulous views, it was everything we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review and all of your wonderful comments. Our championship golf course is extremely popular with our regular guests and local members. Its diversity sets it apart from the rest with spectacular views over St Austell bay. We hope that when you return to stay you will have an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing