We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have not stayed in a better hotel in the uk. No one thing stands out but if you add quality of room, quality and variety of food, very attentive service plus a great 18 hole golf course plus 9 hole pitch and putt plus plus. Truly great

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we were delighted to read that the Carlyon Bay Hotel was the best UK hotel you have stayed in. I'm delighted that you found both our golf courses to be so worthwhile. There are a team of green keepers who work very hard to maintain the excellent condition of our golf courses throughout the year. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    350
    116
    35
    25
See reviews for
271
784
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel with great facilities and an warm welcome
I expected another over expensive tired hotel like so many others and this is not
Crisp new decor, lovely rooms nad a great variety of dining options made me feel that when I came to pay the bill I was not beung ripped off as is so often the case

Well done to you all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are constantly re investing money back into the hotel to maintain and improve what we offer to our guests. We aim to offer fantastic value for money especially with our rates including FREE golf daily for residents. We try to offer a variety of dining options to ensure our guests have plenty of choice whist staying with us, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wasn't Expecting such High Standards. Fast check in, plenty of parking. Great Location with the beach next door, eden project and many more places to visit. Restaurant food was excellent, buffet breakfast was great. Spa is lovely, not large but the right size for the hotel. Even though it was fully booked it never felt too busy. Staff were faultless. The only negative I could make was that I ordered room desert at 10pm and the guy literally didn't have a clue. I had to tell him what was on the menu. He did find something to give is and it arrived quickly though! I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very pleased that you experienced very high standard during your stay and that you felt the hotel was in a great location. The private beach is very popular and with free buggy rides and picnics available to order, its a great day out on our doorstep. I was sorry to hear about the confusion with your room service order. I will pass these comments onto restaurant team. I hope that when you return to Cornwall again we can welcome you back to the Carlyon Bay Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Well, we were amazed. Most hotels we have stayed in recently have disappointed. Not the Carlyon Bay!

Beautiful location and setting. Beautiful grounds. Beautifully maintained hotel. Friendly and helpful staff (reception, restaurant, poolside, bar, cleaners & doorman - have I missed someone out?). As you walk through the hotel staff smile and wish you Good Morning.

We booked a standard inland facing room, which was small, however acceptable. The white bathroom was gleaming & spotless. The bed supremely comfortable with 100% cotton bed linen and plump cushions. Traditional, smart furnishings

The dining room, huge lounge, poolside bar (where we watched the World Cup) all well appointed and far more comfortable and welcoming than a 5* we stayed in recently!

The indoor and outdoor pools were wonderful. Very comfortable sun loungers, with clean comfortable mattresses, and plenty of sun umbrellas. Again all spotless.

Dinner was excellent, & well presented. Again quite unexpected! And efficiently served. As a vegetarian, I did get frustrated by the choice, invariably risotto or a deep fried cheese (both however very good. But the chef excelled both times I asked instead for a main dish of 'interesting' vegetables (which included al dente bok choi, spinach, asparagus and fondant potatoes).

Lovely places to visit in the vicinity. We went Fowey, Rock (opposite Padstow), the Roseland Peninsula (Portscatho, St Mawes), and St Ives. Also visited Bodmin Jail, and had a glass of good champagne at Camel Vineyards (both on way to Rock). Also great 20 mn walk along the cliff head to Charlestown which has a few pleasant cafes, pubs & restaurants.

If I have to make any suggestions: 1) Breakfast - Great choice (fresh fruit, including melon, pineapple), interesting cheese, the usual cereals & hot English Breakfast, kippers, fish of the day etc) - but didn't enjoy the toast or bread. Also the tomatoes, fried eggs and scrambled eggs were dull. The butter too soft (standing around too long). And why wasn't the order for coffee and toast taken straight away - they always arrived 2/3 of the way through the meal!

Why not offer 'artisan' breads (as in sourdough, campagne, rye)

2) The room did get quite hot on sunny days. Air-conditioning?

3) It would be useful to have a shower outside by the pool. After a swim, I had to inside to shower).


All in all a great hotel, & fairly priced. I really think the owners and staff are to be highly commended. I had no idea* we had such a good hotel on the South Coast (*excluding some of the new wave contemporary hotels, usually more expensive and perhaps less welcoming and a little pretentious!)

I will definitely consider other hotels in the Brend group. I wish they would take over a couple of the former 5* hotels in Bournemouth!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your comments are extremely pleasing to read and i am sure will be very reassuring for future guests looking at coming to stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including our indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Carlyon bay is a fantastic base for those wishing to explore some of Cornwalls enchanting fishing villages, attractions and walking trials and your recommendations are very helpful. I will be more than happy to pass on your suggestions to our management team. We are always looking at ways of improving the service which we offer and customer feedback is an essential part of this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you to all staff in Carlyon Bay Hotel. It was an outstanding experience. Especially, the food was amazing! We had a card and special table for our anniversary day! Thank you so much again! Definetely recommended! See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denizozgurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is much appreciated and it is very reassuring that the standards maintained here at the Carlyon Bay Hotel have given you great confidence within Brend Hotels. The high level of quality and customer service, are maintained throughout the group. Over the years at Brend Hotels we have gained a unique understanding of how to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay at our luxury hotels. We are still very much a family run business and we are proud of what we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a first class hotel, with a more than friendly staff, excellent facilities, large pool. The food was very very good. We went full board and did not regret that decision. Our room was perhaps a little compact and overlooked the car park, but it was very smart and all that we required. Would definitely stay there again. Very near the Eden Project, and wonderful golf courses

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sea, will be slightly dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 500Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are passionate about great food here, we carefully select the finest quality fresh ingredients. Our chefs take time and care to seek out the most delicious, distinctive foods – many supplied fresh from local farms here in the Southwest, as well as freshly caught fish and seafood from Cornish fishermen. We are delighted to that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us so much. We hope to welcome you back on the in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

An excellent hotel, spotlessly clean, room was very comfortable with modern bathroom, staff very helpful and obliging, beautiful panoramic views from the garden. The only fault was that the the lift was rather small. Will certainly recommend to others. It's exactly what you expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us especially the standards within our hotel room, both our housekeeping and maintained teams work extremely hard to maintain and improve on our high standards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing