We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Could not find fault with this fantastic hotel. Room, staff, facilities, spa and of course the food all exceeded our expectations. Will definitely recommend to friends and family or anyone thinking of travelling to Cornwall!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it go for a Deluxe sea facing room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It is very rewarding to hear that we have exceeded your expectations, in all aspects of your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for recommending the Carlyon Bay Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    337
    107
    35
    25
See reviews for
259
752
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

excellent chef and food ...table d'hote was superb apart from once being given false information from a foreign speaking waiter re nuts in the vietnamese beef starter...I am allergic, and immediately felt sick on swallowing first mouthful with peanuts in
Waiter seemed to disappear, but replacement waitress said I should have read the menu allergy warning first, but I missed that and simply asked the waiter who probably did not understand me!

Also seemed to keep being shown to same table for breakfast and dinner...would have liked to move around a bit ...window view sometimes.
Surprised not to have had an egg station at breakfast so had to select from hot plate

...but generally first class, with fantastic views and wonderful food

Room Tip: de-luxe room that we had had lovely balcony for evening drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RogerCuss-Barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is extremely important to receive feedback so we can continue to work hard to achieve the high standards we thrive for. I'm sorry that on this occasion there has been a communication issue and i can assure that we will be reviewing our menus and additional training will be provided where needed. Your comment about the hotel been generally “first class” with fantastic views and wonderful food is very pleasing to read. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My Wife and I went for a 5 day break on recommendations from friends. We knew it was a traditional hotel bordering on old fashioned but actually loved it. Many men wear jackets, as I did, for dinner, some with ties but the quality of the main restuarant and level of service makes it appropriate and it works. The food was very British and excellent, our only comment is that the chef should include one asian/spicy main course dish to give wider appeal and choice.

The whole experience was good, spotlessly clean, friendly and polite service from all the staff with great ammenities especially for golfers as this is included the price. We had a car park rather than a sea facing bedroom but accepted this as we paid a lower rate knowing this. Nearly all the guests we met appeared to be regular guests for many years. We are looking forward to returning soon which says it all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am so delighted to read your review about your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience which will help others when deciding to stay at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the traditional value we have here at the Carlyon Bay Hotel, our dress code has been relaxed in our Bay View restaurant however many of our guests still like to dress smartly for dinner which we think is fantastic. I was very happy to hear your room was spotlessly clean and you found the staff to be very friendly and polite. We are very lucky that many of our guests have been returning to the hotel year after year and we are looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

very high and exacting standards are the norm at this fine hotel. Old fashion values with customer care at the top of the list. The staff the food and the hotel would be hard to better anywhere in the world. Very popular with international tourists and golfers. Highly recommended

Room Tip: you get what you pay for here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, we were thrilled to read you felt it would be hard to better the staff and the food we offer here at the hotel anywhere in the world, this is extremely rewarding. We work very hard and continuously to build well trained teams of staff across all our departments, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely break for a few days early July. We could not fault any aspect during our stay. Thank you to all the staff at the Carlyon Bay for making our stay a comfortable break in quality surroundings. We are planning our 2015 trip already.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments onto all departments and their teams who will also be pleased to hear about your stay here. If you need any help in the planning of your next trip please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team directly. We look forward to welcoming your back in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have not stayed in a better hotel in the uk. No one thing stands out but if you add quality of room, quality and variety of food, very attentive service plus a great 18 hole golf course plus 9 hole pitch and putt plus plus. Truly great

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we were delighted to read that the Carlyon Bay Hotel was the best UK hotel you have stayed in. I'm delighted that you found both our golf courses to be so worthwhile. There are a team of green keepers who work very hard to maintain the excellent condition of our golf courses throughout the year. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel with great facilities and an warm welcome
I expected another over expensive tired hotel like so many others and this is not
Crisp new decor, lovely rooms nad a great variety of dining options made me feel that when I came to pay the bill I was not beung ripped off as is so often the case

Well done to you all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are constantly re investing money back into the hotel to maintain and improve what we offer to our guests. We aim to offer fantastic value for money especially with our rates including FREE golf daily for residents. We try to offer a variety of dining options to ensure our guests have plenty of choice whist staying with us, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing