We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just recently returned from our first (4) night stay at this beautifully located hotel and delighted to pass on our experience. Unfortunately we had to change dates at the last minute and Roz on reception, unbeknown to us kindly upgraded my reservation from a Sea-view to Deluxe Sea-view and the advantages that are attached to that upgrade were very much appreciated. The Carlyon staff were brilliantly professional and a credit to this hotel from the moment you arrive until you depart and those comments extend out to the Golf club run by Mark the pro and a golf course set up not to disappoint, along with both indoor and outdoor pools and the tennis are all there to be enjoyed or the supurb food that awaits you, or just relax and enjoy being pampered by these amazing people. The location is extremely quiet with stunning views and fantastic coastal walks and a nice little touch, is the hotel will buggy you to and from the beach, So yes, we'll definatly return and thank you to all at Carlyon Bay for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are south facing and generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I was delighted to read that your complimentary upgrade to our deluxe VIP package was much appreciated and we hope you had a very happy birthday. Your comments with regards to our staff being “brilliantly professional” and “a credit to the hotel “ are very pleasing to read. We have a fantastic team hear at Carlyon Bay and your wonderful feedback with be very rewarding for our staff. We are very lucky to be set within such a quiet and tranquil location and the superb views over the coast are rather special. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    343
    113
    35
    25
See reviews for
266
768
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent service, excellent food with a choice of two restaurants.
Fantastic spa facilty although the gym was a little on the small size.
We had a full body massage, my wife said it was the best one she has ever had.
All in all great location, great hotel with lovely people.

A special thank you to Cassie working on the bar, she was outstanding.

Room Tip: Sea view is absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roymcd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we were very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your fantastic comment about your wife’s massage onto our spa team “best one she has ever had” I am sure they will be thrilled and I will also pass on your thanks to Cassie, who is a very valued member of our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I ate in their main restaurant with some friends and the experience was truly excellent. We were not staying there as I live locally but I am a member of their spa so I know the place well. The food and service were first rate and we had a table by the window overlooking the bay. The view was spectacular. All in all, it was a memorable evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome our spa members to the hotel, I was very pleased to hear that you have had such a memorable evening in our Bay View restaurant. I couldn’t agree more the views are spectacular. Your comment about the food and service being “first rate” is very reassuring. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice Hotel with nice sorroundings. Staff is great and high level of service. If there is anything to complain about there is no air condition and breakfast If you gave not pre paid is expensive but more dissapointing the selection is way below the standard like a Hotel like this. But golf, spa and indoor and outdoor pool, brilliant!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I was very pleased to hear that you found the hotel and surroundings to be very nice and the staff to maintain a high level of service. The weather has been very hot recently and i will be sure to pass your recommendation on with regards to the air conditioning. Your comments with regards to the breakfast selection will be passed onto our management team and head chef. We value your feedback and appreciate your time taking to write your review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we found the experience excellent,,with a level of service that amazed us, with staffing level that surprised us nothing seemed to be to much trouble for the staff not our general experience.
we look forward to retuning to the hotel in the future and do not think based on our experience that we would want any changes to be made

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the carpark are very good and meant to us that the sea view extra cost was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
What a wonderful review, we are very pleased that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Could not find fault with this fantastic hotel. Room, staff, facilities, spa and of course the food all exceeded our expectations. Will definitely recommend to friends and family or anyone thinking of travelling to Cornwall!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it go for a Deluxe sea facing room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It is very rewarding to hear that we have exceeded your expectations, in all aspects of your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for recommending the Carlyon Bay Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

excellent chef and food ...table d'hote was superb apart from once being given false information from a foreign speaking waiter re nuts in the vietnamese beef starter...I am allergic, and immediately felt sick on swallowing first mouthful with peanuts in
Waiter seemed to disappear, but replacement waitress said I should have read the menu allergy warning first, but I missed that and simply asked the waiter who probably did not understand me!

Also seemed to keep being shown to same table for breakfast and dinner...would have liked to move around a bit ...window view sometimes.
Surprised not to have had an egg station at breakfast so had to select from hot plate

...but generally first class, with fantastic views and wonderful food

Room Tip: de-luxe room that we had had lovely balcony for evening drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RogerCuss-Barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is extremely important to receive feedback so we can continue to work hard to achieve the high standards we thrive for. I'm sorry that on this occasion there has been a communication issue and i can assure that we will be reviewing our menus and additional training will be provided where needed. Your comment about the hotel been generally “first class” with fantastic views and wonderful food is very pleasing to read. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
640 reviews
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing