We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and setting”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
torbay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and setting”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay - mother and daughter chilling out. Beautiful setting and grounds. Helpful staff. Excellent food - very impressed with evening meal. Thoroughly enjoyed outdoor pool and spa area. We only booked a standard room which was unbearaby hot in the really hot weather - we had a fan which was fairly efficient but was surprised there was no air conditioning (thought 4 stars hotels had this). Room nicely decorated, although not large, quite pricey for what it was, but everything else was really good.

Room Tip: Book a sea view if you can. Use the spa facilities. Have evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcardevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed many of our facilities including our outdoor heated pool and our fantastic spa. I'm very sorry your room was so hot we are experiencing some spectacular weather at the moment, all of our deluxe sea facing rooms are currently fitted with air conditioning units, however your comments will be passed onto our management team so we can keep this in mind for further developments. We hope to welcome you to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    343
    113
    35
    25
See reviews for
266
768
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NOTTINGHAm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a three night break and have to say the whole experience has been fantastic.
The staff are extremely friendly from the reception girls, to the various bar staff and even the gardener. The little touches like fruit around the pool and the appetisers before dinner made our visit even more special. We spent most of the time relaxing around the hotel and walked along the coastal path to Charlestown and spent time on the beach.
We visited the golf course and the staff in the pro-shop were very helpful too.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review about your fantastic stay with us recently. Our staff are trained to very high standards and I was pleased to read that the service you received has helped make your whole experience so enjoyable. We hope you can return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on honeymoon and the hotel and location were just perfect. I always worry about eating out as I have coeliac disease but gluten free diets where catered for with no problem to waiting or kitchen staff. Hotel facilities where good, with the added bonus of beautiful gardens and coastal walks on the doorstep.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing the Carlyon Bay hotel for your honeymoon. It was very encouraging to read of your experience of how well your gluten free diet was catered for. All of our staff are given relevant training to understand needs of guests following special diets. We would like to wish you all the best for married life and we hope that you will return to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was great to be greeted by smart Doorman in uniform - made the hotel feel very upmarket. Service was excellent from all staff members and our room was very nicely appointed with a lovely sea view and a wood pigeon nest on the windowsill - only minor complaint would be slightly patchy wifi. Was offered an excellent price when booking directly with the hotel which included dinner and golf and all in all was very happy with the value for money it delivered. Golf was a little slow as following a club competition but we had been warned this would be the case and the course was great.
Would (and already have!) happily recommend the Carlyon Bay to anyone looking for a break in this lovely area of Cornwall

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that from the moment you were greeted by our doorman you experienced our high standards of customer service. Booking directly with us here at the hotel is a fantastic way of getting great value for your money and also we can ensure you of a “lovely” room. I was sorry to hear that you found the golf to be slow, usually the competitions run very smoothly and do not tend to interfere with our residents. Thank you for recommending the Carlyon Bay Hotel and we hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent service from the porter to the restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Great facilities including gym, tennis courts, spa and beauty treatments. For a walk take the coastal path right from the hotel which will take you to Charleston, about a mile or so from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Many of our reviews mention the excellent service our staff provide here so I'm delighted to hear this has also been the case here! I'm sure future guests will find your review very helpful and informative. The walk from the Carlyon Bay Hotel to Charlestown is lovely at all times of year with the ever changing coastline. Thank you once again and hope that we can welcome you to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Service very poor starting from reception: the booked us in room 240 and were charging 140. The second day they wanted to move us to room 140 and after some firm discussion we stayed in room 240
Spa: the first afternoon we went to the spa to be told that Was fully booked. Disappointing as this was of the reason to choose this hotel. Futthermore the girl at the spa desk had just started her job two hours ealier and was not able to assist and promised to speak to spa
manager and get her to call us. This never happened.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gm51guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to write a review about your stay here. I was disappointed to hear you were unhappy with the service you received. It sounds like there was some confusion with your room allocations, but I was pleased to read that this was rectified and you were able to stay in your original room. I have passed on your comments about your conversation with the staff member in the spa and she has assured me this will be looked into. I hope that you can return to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again to experience our usually high standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just recently returned from our first (4) night stay at this beautifully located hotel and delighted to pass on our experience. Unfortunately we had to change dates at the last minute and Roz on reception, unbeknown to us kindly upgraded my reservation from a Sea-view to Deluxe Sea-view and the advantages that are attached to that upgrade were very much appreciated. The Carlyon staff were brilliantly professional and a credit to this hotel from the moment you arrive until you depart and those comments extend out to the Golf club run by Mark the pro and a golf course set up not to disappoint, along with both indoor and outdoor pools and the tennis are all there to be enjoyed or the supurb food that awaits you, or just relax and enjoy being pampered by these amazing people. The location is extremely quiet with stunning views and fantastic coastal walks and a nice little touch, is the hotel will buggy you to and from the beach, So yes, we'll definatly return and thank you to all at Carlyon Bay for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are south facing and generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I was delighted to read that your complimentary upgrade to our deluxe VIP package was much appreciated and we hope you had a very happy birthday. Your comments with regards to our staff being “brilliantly professional” and “a credit to the hotel “ are very pleasing to read. We have a fantastic team hear at Carlyon Bay and your wonderful feedback with be very rewarding for our staff. We are very lucky to be set within such a quiet and tranquil location and the superb views over the coast are rather special. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
640 reviews
17.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing