We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“destination without sophistication”
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlyon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“destination without sophistication”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Upon arrival a uniformed doorman opened my partner’s door of the taxi but made no further attempt to help us. We were not offered assistance with luggage and were cursorily waved in the direction of reception. This was our first visit and the porch and entrance hall was congested by a large wedding party so it would have been useful to have been navigated through that. Instead we were made to feel that we were an inconvenience.

Having arrived at 12.45 our priority was lunch but thanks to said wedding the main bar was unavailable, as was the garden beyond. We were dispatched to the Spa Bar, where the terrace had a view of a mini golf course. To quote the hotel website “sea views will take your breath away.” I can confirm that the view of the mini golf course from the terrace of the Spa Bar does not take one’s breath away.

Again the wedding had precedence over hotel guests. When later we were able to inspect the grounds freely, we found a nice sea view from the garden to which we had been denied access. Alas, much of the rest of the 250 acres is dominated by an 18-hole “championship” golf course. 

We should have been warned that this is a place to go for golf, mini golf, swimming pools, a spa, even on our upper floor (where overnight a chid’s buggy was parked in the main corridor) a nail salon; for character, sophistication and elegant surroundings there are other destinations in the area.

My partner ordered an omelette for lunch; the ingredients were fine but, not having been cooked properly, it was dry on top. I ordered the mussels and bread. Although this was Cornwall there were no mussels available. I ordered a crab sandwich instead. When it arrived a lady at the next table said, “I had one of those yesterday - all I could taste was mango and mayo: can you taste any crab?” She had a point.

Wishing to refill our glasses, we discovered that staff standing nearby were more attentive to each other than to the needs of their customers. A gentleman at the next table advised us that the only way to avoid frustration was to go to the bar oneself. The remainder of our stay confirmed that to be the case.

Once able to access our room the telephone didn’t work, the kettle lid didn’t close and one of our packets of complimentary biscuits had been opened, to be robbed of half its content. The sea view from the room was nice enough but by now we had had enough of a supposed four star hotel and headed out elsewhere. One shudders to think what an evening meal here might have been like...

Returning around 10.00 pm we found our room to have been turned down. The cushions and pillows had been rearranged and a chocolate plonked on each pillow - I say plonked since there had been no attempt to smooth out the pillows beforehand. I am not worried either way about a turn down service but if you are going to do it, do it properly. To me that vignette sums up our entire experience of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: Check Fowey for sophisticated hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zeppo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I believe our General Manager Peter Brennan has been in contact with you privately, about many of the issues raised in your review and I also believe our doorman apologised in person for not offering assistance with your luggage.
We were very disappointed by some of the issues raised in your review and I can assure you this is not usual practice here at the Carlyon Bay Hotel.
We do cater for weddings here however this is kept very separate to reduce any inconvenience to our residents or to our wedding party. I am sorry that on this occasion you found this to be a problem.
With regards to your comment of being disappointed about not being warned of the hotels facilities, we do apologise. The hotel website and the literature make reference to the extensive spa & leisure facilities we have available here at the hotel.
Recently we have had some exceptional weather and unfortunately due to the high climate there has been a shortage in the mussel supply throughout Cornwall.
We value all guest feedback it plays an essential part in our development here at the Carlyon Bay Hotel, so thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    350
    116
    35
    25
See reviews for
270
784
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Had a very spacious room with a great view of the sea. The food was very good and the staff very friendly. However, there was only one lift which was way too small for the size of the hotel. I didn't think much of the local town St Austell

Room Tip: Look for a room with a sea view and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I was very happy to read that you loved the hotel, i have to agree the views are great! I will be sure to pass your comments to the chefs and managements team with regards to the food and the staff both being very good. We are currently discussing the hotel lift and looking at replacing this in the near future. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torbay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay - mother and daughter chilling out. Beautiful setting and grounds. Helpful staff. Excellent food - very impressed with evening meal. Thoroughly enjoyed outdoor pool and spa area. We only booked a standard room which was unbearaby hot in the really hot weather - we had a fan which was fairly efficient but was surprised there was no air conditioning (thought 4 stars hotels had this). Room nicely decorated, although not large, quite pricey for what it was, but everything else was really good.

Room Tip: Book a sea view if you can. Use the spa facilities. Have evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcardevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed many of our facilities including our outdoor heated pool and our fantastic spa. I'm very sorry your room was so hot we are experiencing some spectacular weather at the moment, all of our deluxe sea facing rooms are currently fitted with air conditioning units, however your comments will be passed onto our management team so we can keep this in mind for further developments. We hope to welcome you to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAm
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a three night break and have to say the whole experience has been fantastic.
The staff are extremely friendly from the reception girls, to the various bar staff and even the gardener. The little touches like fruit around the pool and the appetisers before dinner made our visit even more special. We spent most of the time relaxing around the hotel and walked along the coastal path to Charlestown and spent time on the beach.
We visited the golf course and the staff in the pro-shop were very helpful too.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review about your fantastic stay with us recently. Our staff are trained to very high standards and I was pleased to read that the service you received has helped make your whole experience so enjoyable. We hope you can return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on honeymoon and the hotel and location were just perfect. I always worry about eating out as I have coeliac disease but gluten free diets where catered for with no problem to waiting or kitchen staff. Hotel facilities where good, with the added bonus of beautiful gardens and coastal walks on the doorstep.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing the Carlyon Bay hotel for your honeymoon. It was very encouraging to read of your experience of how well your gluten free diet was catered for. All of our staff are given relevant training to understand needs of guests following special diets. We would like to wish you all the best for married life and we hope that you will return to the Carlyon Bay Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was great to be greeted by smart Doorman in uniform - made the hotel feel very upmarket. Service was excellent from all staff members and our room was very nicely appointed with a lovely sea view and a wood pigeon nest on the windowsill - only minor complaint would be slightly patchy wifi. Was offered an excellent price when booking directly with the hotel which included dinner and golf and all in all was very happy with the value for money it delivered. Golf was a little slow as following a club competition but we had been warned this would be the case and the course was great.
Would (and already have!) happily recommend the Carlyon Bay to anyone looking for a break in this lovely area of Cornwall

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that from the moment you were greeted by our doorman you experienced our high standards of customer service. Booking directly with us here at the hotel is a fantastic way of getting great value for your money and also we can ensure you of a “lovely” room. I was sorry to hear that you found the golf to be slow, usually the competitions run very smoothly and do not tend to interfere with our residents. Thank you for recommending the Carlyon Bay Hotel and we hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent service from the porter to the restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Great facilities including gym, tennis courts, spa and beauty treatments. For a walk take the coastal path right from the hotel which will take you to Charleston, about a mile or so from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Many of our reviews mention the excellent service our staff provide here so I'm delighted to hear this has also been the case here! I'm sure future guests will find your review very helpful and informative. The walk from the Carlyon Bay Hotel to Charlestown is lovely at all times of year with the ever changing coastline. Thank you once again and hope that we can welcome you to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Property: The Carlyon Bay
Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing