We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, quick and very cheap.”

Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 149 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: http://www.eatoutcornwall.com/restaurants/st-austell/trebonney-fish-and-chip-restaurant.html
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.eatoutcornwall.com/restaurants/st-austell/trebonney-fish-and-chip-restaurant.html
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, quick and very cheap.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Called in for fish and chips, greeted with a cheery smile, served very quickly and excellent value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niceoneshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roche, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experiences with the food”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Usually smothered in oil and have a very oily taste and a lot is thrown away. This week however, thankfully, oil taste had gone BUT chips were hard and not freshly cooked to order whereas fish and pea fritter were. How long were the chips sitting there ? Shop was empty when we went in, while we were being served and as we left. Over half the food ( chips ) were inedible and had to be thrown away, what a waste.
We are not at all satisfied with this Fish and Chip shop, not the takeaway side anyway. We haven't been for months, but we hope they would have improved between visits, they haven't so will not be wasting money in there again. They need a rival shop to set up and maybe they will then pull their socks up. Terrible, either too oily with a nasty taste or not freshly done to order.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigman23, Owner at Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Hi, thank you for your comments, i did send you a message via tripadvisor "contact reviewer" but have not received a response, so not sure if its a genuine review. However, all feedback is valuable and taken very seriously. My wife an i took over this business recently, and have only made a few key changes, as you said, the cooking oil has been changed, and we now use the finest quality 100% vegetable fat, which is the healthiest and cleanest available, and despite being the most expensive, the quality of the food justifies the expense. As for the chips, these are always cooked fresh, we never ever re heat them. Unfortunately, potatoes suitable for frying are very hard to find right now, due to poor growing conditions at the start of the year, so the potatoes we use, are not our first choice, but they are "Markies" which are a very popular potato within the industry, however, they are a dry potato, which means when fried, they are crispy, with a fluffy centre, they dont absorb fat, so they dont go soggy. many people prefer chips like this, and many prefer softer ships. If you would be kind enough to respond to the email i sent then i would be more than happy to discuss this further, and i would like to assure you we make every effort to ensure our food and service are of the very highest standard at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tredinnick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chips ever!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Had chips and a pea fritter - best chips I have ever had and pea fritter was great too. Staff really nice and friendly and prices a bit lower than most others in the area. Will make this a regular stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueg668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten free fish is a must try, better than normal batter!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We went to try the gluten free fish at Trebonney after hearing good things about it. We weren't disappointed! The gluten free batter is crispy and delicious, and doesn't go "soggy" like traditional batter.

Highly recommended and we shall return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwilkyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At last coeliac gluten free friendly fish and chips!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my family - one of whom is gluten free who chose coeliac friendly battered haddock (other fish available). It was delicious, fairly priced and service was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ponderosa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
Par, St Austell
 

Been to Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing