We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Pyramid

The White Pyramid
Ranked #52 of 142 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“10/10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had the best roast beef in a pub for a long time. Loads of meat and FRESH vegetables. No room for pud. Thanx . The first time we visited but not the last, even though it a long way from Truro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carmaltoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Home again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you remember, I said, last time we ate at The White Pyramid, that we had left it far too long and as it’s just down the road, we’d be back soon. Well, just the other evening, we popped in for dinner on the way to see a band, over Mevagissey way.
We were quite early, about half past six and the place was packed. How good is that, these days? The reason is that if you order before half-six, there is a wide selection of items on the menu that qualify for their ‘Early Bird’ deal where the cheapest meal is free.
Fantastic for business and fantastic for the locals. If more pubs and restaurants did this, we’d be a nation of diners.
I want to get a couple of things out of the way before we go on: I see that some reviewers comment on the shabbiness of the thoroughfares between bar, restaurant and loos: They are right; sorry Pyramid but it is a bit of a mess out-back, and, yes, there can be a hint of haughtiness but it hasn’t put us off.
Enough – we still love it.

Elaine always looks right through the extensive menu; and has cod and chips. Every time. Wonderful flaky cod in a batter that is hard to beat. We’ve never asked but suspect the chips are cooked in proper beef dripping; they have that ultimate brown crispy outer with fluffy inner. I think that because they are not the all-too-common pale jobbies that we have sadly become accustomed too since the early ‘80’ that at least one reviewer thought they were not freshly cooked. I am of the opposite opinion: these are great chips.
The mushy peas at the Pyramid have more flavour than Port & Starboard’s.

I really fancied Chicken Tikka wraps. Think wraps and corner shop, supermarket, petrol station wraps in cardboard and plastic spring to mind. This country has some of the ultimate worst food I have come across anywhere on the planet. That said, I knew the wraps at The Pyramid would be good and cheffy. Well, what I got wasn’t exactly what I had anticipated but in a good way. I was looking forward to picking them up. I was looking forward to mauling some food. And I was looking forward to some curry-style heat.
Well, I was a little bit disappointed to find the wraps were too loose to grope and grapple with but the disappointment melted away when I tasted them. Big surprise. Not what I would strictly call Tikka, although the soft, moist chunks of chicken breast had been marinated and baked. This was better. A salsa chutney marriage, acid and sweet, tangy and smooth with fresh, fruity chilli heat from real slices that you can choose to eat or not, depending on how hot you like it. Total heaven. I think it should be re-named, because Tikka Chicken Wrap doesn’t go anywhere near doing it justice. This is a genius dish. Nirvana Chicken would be more like it.

As the Early Bird diners drifted out, the atmosphere changed gear from buzzing dining room to intimate, warm, country pub. After our meal, we could have sat there for longer with a good ale but heigh-ho; on we went to our evening’s engagement. When we got to our destination, The Ship Inn in Pentewan, they were holding a curry night and very successful it looked too. Watch this space.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful breakfast and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The room was clean and roomy. Got the usual things you need. The breakfast was very nice. Overall worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited here for my mums 50th birthday. We have eaten here before and the food was delicious. However on Sunday evening the food was not up to their normal standard. Chips tasted like they had been cooked yesterday and then microwaved for our meals. The steaks were tasteless. Really felt let downwith the food and will not visit again.
However it was nice to have the table decorated by the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muscles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value - Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were taken here for lunch while visiting Cornwall. What a good meal, served by courteous staff and such great value. I can see why our friends visit regularly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Pyramid also viewed

 
Pentewan, St Austell
 

Been to The White Pyramid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing