We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful B & B in st.austell”
Review of Bedford House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bedford House B&B
Ranked #90 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“wonderful B & B in st.austell”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

comfort, cleanliness and a very caring host. Thank you for a wonderful stay and the most comfortable beds and lovely spacious rooms. obviously a lot of hard work has gone into the décor of each room - it was a very restful stay

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of house - it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The room was great along with the ensuite- it was much better than a big hotel. The breakfast was yummy with a wide selection of cereal- i loved the sausage!
The owner was very welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed our stay at the b and b.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspink1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I booked a single room and when I arrived found I had been given a spacious twin room with a decent sized bathroom and a conservatory area off it, which was had comfortable sofas in it to relax on. Everything was clean, tidy and well looked after. I had to leave before breakfast was served in the morning, but Richard showed me where everything was so I could help myself to cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc and very kindly, as I was heading off to do a charity bike ride, made me some hard boiled eggs to take with me. I thought it was very good value for the room and I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the house and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hananmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were a little disconcerted upon arrival to find that the owner, Richard, wasn't there! We had his mobile number, however, and he arrived shortly after we rang, giving us a warm and friendly welcome. Our first impressions on entering the house was that it was well appointed and welcoming, and we were very pleased with our room, which was comfortable, spacious and decorated to a good standard - very attractive. En-suite shower room was also of a good standard and the beds were comfortable. There was also a sofa on which to relax when reading or watching TV. As well as a TV, a tea/coffee making facility and hair dryer were also provided, plus some toiletries. Although the days were sunny and bright, temperatures at night dropped to almost freezing, but the heating was more than adequate, plus there was plenty of hot water for showering. Substantial breakfast provided: a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, full English, plus toast, orange juice, tea or coffee. The B&B is well located for trips to all the well-known local attractions: Eden Project, Charlestown, Mevagissey, to name a few. Don't forget, this is a B&B and not a hotel and should not be compared to a hotel (although it's a lot better than some hotels I've stayed in!). We rather enjoyed the personal touch, instead of the anonymity of a larger establishment, and we would have no hesitation in returning to Bedford House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyla45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked this accommodation for 3 adults for 2 nights and 11 days later I received an email stating that the B&B was no longer available ... 4 days before we were due to travel! Perhaps this was a breakdown in communication between Trip Advisor and the guest house, however, from our perspective, this was truly appalling customer service.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Austell hotels

Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Poor signposting for the B&B then the phone numbers did not work to get in, the heating was not switched on and the bedding was insufficient to make up for the lack of heating,3 of the 5 lights in the room had blown bulbs, the TV did not work properly and the breakfast was not what i would have expected from a B& B OF THIS STAR CLASS.
we will not be using them again on our now frequent trips to Cornwall to see family

Room Tip: Use another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulujeepman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Friendly owner Richard gave us a warm welcome on arrival and recommended nice restaurant nearby. Room is spacious and beautiful. Clean and quite. We travelled with a 9 month old baby and she slept soundly at night. Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford House B&B

Property: Bedford House B&B
Address: 2 Pondhu Crescent, St Austell PL25 5DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford House B&B 3*
Also Known As:
Bedford House B&B Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing