We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect overnight stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bedford House B&B
Ranked #91 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect overnight stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Ideal for an overnight stop when I had a meeting in Bodmin the next morning. Very clean and comfortable, and the cooked breakfast was absolutely great! Many thanks to Richard (the owner) for being so welcoming!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very comfortable. Helpful owners. Good breakfast. Recommend for people wanting good value and service for their stay in Cornwall. It is really convenient for Eden Project plus the coast and lots of other places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting The Eden Project. Richard, the owner, was there to welcome us and recommended a good place to eat locally as we had a very hungry 13 month old with us.
The Family room was very spacious and comfortable for 2 adults, 2 teenage girls ( who had bunks in a separate area ) and baby in a travel cot.
Lovely breakfast and both Richard and mum (there to help) were more than accommodating re washing baby's bowl cutlery etc
Would definitely look at staying there again when it's too cold for camping.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank woodytopone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at this B&B back in August 2013. It was a great choice. The room was clean, very spacious with a huge double bed that was so comfortable. Staff was very kind and helpful. It is just a short drive from Charlestown Harbour and restaurants. We were recommended to go to Wreckers (http://www.wreckers.me.uk/home.htm) and it was the best advice we could get. Food and service were amazing. Super market and city center was also very close by. Very convenient location if you are going to Eden project. Only few minutes drive. Breakfast was nice too. Would certainly book again if we were to go back.

Room Tip: I see some people say it was noisy as it is close to main road. If you want a quite room, ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pav Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Let me first start by saying that this is a small, family run, B&B. The owner doesn't live on site, so you have to phone when you arrive. Beds were comfy, room was pretty big, breakfast was very good, and the lady there is the mornings was really kind and friendly. It's very quiet, close to bus stops, cinema, St Austell train station, and bus stops.

Really, for what it is, it's pretty damn good.

Only 1 negative. The TV was a big old fashioned TV, which wasn't a problem, but it was wall mounted in a doorway. Kept hitting heads on it.

Room Tip: The family room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omearatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was just an overnight stay to break a 400 mile journey. The only negative was the lack of signs on arrival (are these restricted by the council as they are in some areas?) so was not sure it was the right house until I got to the door, but no problem parking, and ideally located near to the main road through town. Had to ring for the owner, as per the sign on the door, but he was there in under 5 minutes.
I had booked a single room with shared facilities, but was given a suite with private facilities and a double bed. Room was clean, well decorated and comfortable. This was at the front of the house - some have mentioned the noise from the road, but it really was not intrusive - and I am used to living in a quiet location.
Breakfast was very good and friendly service throughout. No problems on arrival or departure and can recommend this B&B. Will consider using it again when I next need to take the same trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Useful location for a lot of nearby attractions. We were asked if there was anything in particular we wanted for breakfast. Two of our party are vegetarian and we were well taken care of in that regard. Our room was OK - could do with updating. We paid £95 a night which I thought was a bit on the high side.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DougShaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.0 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#11 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford House B&B

Property: Bedford House B&B
Address: 2 Pondhu Crescent, St Austell PL25 5DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford House B&B 3*
Also Known As:
Bedford House B&B Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing