We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camping trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pleasant Streams Farm Camping
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful camping trip!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My boyfriend and I came here in April 2014 to camp for 3 nights, as we wanted to explore a bit of Cornwall. It was a little hard to find but once we did, we were warmly greeted by the owners' (Lesley and Tony- a very kind and considerate couple!) daughter who said we could set up and settle in and her mum would be round to the tent to see us later that day.

It was the week after the Easter Holidays, and there was only one other tent when we arrived (and only 2 other tents arrived by the Friday, our last night). We were blessed with the weather until the last night, when we had to abandon the trip to start our 330 mile journey home at midnight, but Lesley did say we were welcome to leave whenever we wanted on the Saturday morning if we needed our tent to dry out.

The campsite is absolutely beautiful, just a big field with a lovely pond/lake in the centre and lots of 'stone circles' for campfires dotted around the edge. There is also a variety of picnic benches and tables for your perusal and plenty of wood for the campfires.

The owners are extremely friendly and encouraged us to wander around their farm. We bought a bag of fire logs from them on the first night and we managed to use them over all three nights for the campfire, and some duck eggs at 20p each!

The toilet/shower block was lovely too- clean, well lit and with plenty of hot water.

On our wander we were also encouraged to have a look inside the beautiful caravans as they were all vacant, and they're just lovely! Very quaint, and all the soft furnishings have been made by Lesley so it's apparent a lot of love has gone into them! They each come with a campfire, a bench, some scones (with Cornish cream and jam!) and their own separate lake (shared between the two caravans). We're definitely staying in one on our next trip!

We would absolutely recommend this campsite as somewhere to relax and take some quiet time out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here for one night this summer. The place is absolutely idyllic! It is hidden away in a beautiful field and it isn't overcrowded at all! Facilities aren't gold standard, but they are clean, tidy and there is plenty of hot water which for the price you can't ask for more! There is also a beautiful lake in the middle of the campsite and a lovely little boat which anyone can use.

The people who run it are also really lovely and they were so helpful to us. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone wishing to stay in the area as it was the best place we stayed all week on our cycling tour!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed and the campsite for two nights in July and it really is like something out of the Darling Buds of May! Super basic (but isn't that what camping is about??) I am not an frequent camper (first time in 10 years) but here are my pros and cons to help you may your choice.

Pros
Being able to light your own fire and roast marshmallows under the stars
A total back to nature feel
The pond with the row boat was small but a fun way to spend an hour
Reasonably priced
Not overcrowded
Friendly owners
Local pub is a gem proper 1980's style massive meals, slice of orange in your coke!! and happy staff
Cute farm yard animals
Good location for getting around Cornwall

Cons
Shower block had no hot water whilst we were there, as the pilot light kept going out
If you stay by the hedge with the shower block on you can hear lots of different animals all night…….
Bitten by lots of mosquitos

We did have a great time and I would recommend the site especially in the summer but the shower thing sucked!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you want peace and quiet and a field almost all to your self?
We rented the smaller caravan for 10 days in July and were really happy with the space and quiet we had whilst staying.
The kids disappeared to play where ever they could in two different fields and streams.
I loved the retro caravan and its lovely setting.
The toilets and showers are basic but added to the charm for me.
Luxury can take away from the camping feel
Hot shower is important...one or two days we on the Ladies side were without but we just went to the mens.
Lesley and her husband had the shower fixed within 48 hours...due to a part having to be ordered.
They were very informative about the area, friendly and always around to help out when needed.
However, they were never intrusive and did not have too many dos and donts attached to the campers or caravanners.
Relaxation pure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.0 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 18 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Streams Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Streams Farm Camping

Property: Pleasant Streams Farm Camping
Address: Lower Sticker, St Austell PL26 7JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pleasant Streams Farm Camping Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing