We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Griggs Restaurant

Griggs Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 143 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
695 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Tucked away from the main road. Lovely clean restaurant with plenty of room for parties. Food looked good, we only had coffee and cakes, just wished we had more time to partake of the menus, which seemed good value and not overpriced. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments! We do hope you'll visit again to try out our main menu also!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    105
    29
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Back last weekend in Cornwall visiting family and couldn't leave without having at least one visit to Griggs. Lunch on Thursday was great as usual.
I was however persuaded to try lunch on Sunday, not something I would normally do because my experience in other restaurants is not good.(Not like home made!)
However what a surprise we had a lovely roast with all the trimmings and best of all homemade proper gravy.
Well done I should have known better!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thecakemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank u so much for your lovely review of our Sunday roast! I have passed your comments on to our kitchen. I hope you enjoyed your visit down to Cornwall and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went for lunch while on holiday in Polgooth the food was great and the staff very helpful and cheerful. 4 of us all had different food and there were no complaints at all. Just wish it was open early evening so we could have dinner there as items on menu were so tempting but we prefer our main meal later in the day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thankyou very much for such a pleasant review. We do hope you come again when you are visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

A very nice atmosphere, lovely friendly staff and great food. Can be quite noisy when busy, and a bit too warm, but small things considering how nice it is

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
I will pass all your comments onto the team.
Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would be 5 stars but for the noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a beef roast and a veggie crumble roast, both with roast potatoes, roast parsnips, 3 other veg to share and yorkshire puds (I asked for one to go with the veggie roast and it was happily provided quickly and at no extra cost).

The veggie dish, which had sweet potato mash, beetroot, goats cheese and walnuts, was quite tasty and a welcome difference to normal veggie fare around here, the meal was a little dry though so perhaps a sauce or veggie gravy on the side would get it full marks. I do hope the veggie roast option changes occasionally.

The beef roast dinner was deemed delicious with notably tender beef.

We had no room for desserts although having seen some being served it was very tempting.

Every member of staff we spoke with was polite, friendly, unobtrusive and helpful.

The only down side was the noise. As Ma Griggs is under a metal roof and in a vast open space the noise was so deafening that we were unable to hold any kind of conversation until the restaurant had emptied out substantially. I have to say though, we will be returning soon, we will just have to time it to avoid the crowds.

Finally, we've tried a few Sunday Roasts in the area and this came out top for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TattyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thankyou very much for your feedback. We do value all comments. The kitchen team do vary their veggie option every week and we do always have veggie gravy available.I am glad you think our roast is the best you've had.
We do hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Griggs Restaurant also viewed

Sticker, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Griggs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing