We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin”
Review of Nile's Cafe

Nile's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in St Austell
Restaurant details
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Completely unpretentious cafe on main road. Rang of cornish pasties excellent and very good value even if some of us natives blanche at the thought of anything but steak.

Good range of cakes, fresh doughnuts especially recommended.

Fry ups very good and good value.

Service is very friendly and quick - not always the case in Cornwall sadly.

WiFi quick too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlestownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Roadside surprise”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Reminding one of American style bakers, Nile's Café is a great hidden gem that most people will drive past. Good atmosphere, great pasties, and fine looking bread. Coffee could be better, but let that not dissuade you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lenpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Bacon Rolls”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you're in a hurry and missed breakfast before dashing out the door, try to allow yourself three or four minuteds (that's all, seriously!) to stop in at Niles Holmbush cafe and treat yourself to a freshly cooked and made bacon bap. Lovely bacon, choice of bap and sauce, all prepared quicker than you'd ever imagine. A couple of times it's arrived on the counter, still sizzling from the hotplate, before I've got the change into my pocket. Fantastic! Full of bacon. Delicious.
Of course, the large steak pasties are legendary, too. In my humble opinion, the best in the area...probably Cornwall, given the quantity they cook in the average day.
I love their granary loaf, my favourite bread from anywhere.
Breakfasts in the cafe are good value, too.
And I haven't even begun to mention all the wonderful array of cakes and sticky buns. This must be what heaven's like!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bearf00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cornish pasty delight at Nile Cafe Newquay”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited the cafe in Newquay and tasted our first Cornish Pasty - delicious - girls food was lovely too. Exactly what we wanted to find for lunch in Newquay - also tasted one of their cream cakes which was delicious! Lovely chat too with the cafe manager!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krusty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple food done well”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Often go for a good reliable breakfast or lunch, simple food done well...friendly staff , good selection , clean , parking outside

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nile's Cafe also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Nile's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing