We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lookout Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
315
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitesea roomjackie steveperfect hostsb bguest houseeden projecton arrivalgluten free breakfastwalk in wardrobelots of local knowledgeplaces to visitblueberry muffinslittle touchesattentive hostsgive advicebreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We only stayed one night at The Lookout Guesthouse in St Austell, but would of happily spent more nights there. We had a nice welcome from Jackie and Steve who showed us to our room- We were in "The Cove" room. It was spotlessly clean. The room was beautifully decorated, the beds very very comfy and the bathroom was spacious, clean and tidy with little bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc... There was a TV in our room and we were told we were welcome to watch any of the dvds they had in the bookcase in the hall- There was a good selection!

Breakfast was served in the lovely breakfast room which was bright and sunny and had a fantastic view. The food itself was great, my partner had a full English and said it was one of the best he had ever had and I went for croissants and coffee. There was a selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juices on the sideboard which was nicely presented. We both enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this guesthouse to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellieczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review… and such a positive one at that! Jackie and I agree it would have been great to have had you with us longer. Really glad the ‘Cove’ was so to your liking and from reading your review that you felt it very comfortable and well equipped. Also pleased you both enjoyed our breakfast options as we do strive to source good Cornish ingredients where possible. Excellent also that you managed to sample the ‘ produce’ Of the St Austell Brewery….has to be said they do brew a good pint there!!

It certainly would be good to see you both again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were at a loss to fill 3 days between a week in Dartmoor and a week down in Portreath. By chance a quick Internet search had The Lookout available for 3 days. How fortunate we were to have found this place by accident. Turned out to be the best accommodation of the whole holiday! We had booked the Garden suite and we can only describe this as well above the 5 stars it has been awarded. Jackie and Steve have a fantastic place to share with guests and our stay was extremely relaxing and the service was tip top! Beautiful, room, fantastic breakfast and wonderful views from the decks across the Cornish coast, awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nedkelly2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Wonderful review from wonderful guests. Jackie and I cannot believe how fortunate we have been with all our fantastic guests in this our first year. You continued that fortune. It was a pleasure having you with us at The Lookout. So pleased you managed to return to your old ‘stomping ground ‘at St Mawgan. What a coincidence that whilst you were here you found that one of our other guests had served there as well. Hope the trip brought back great memories.

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a uplifting review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jackie and Steve were the perfect hosts, the best guest house we've ever stayed in! I would recommend this to anyone! Rooms immaculate attention to detail was amazing bedrooms beautiful made and the breakfast was superb would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieW1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Likewise you were fantastic guests to have with us. Thank you so much for the kind words. Jackie and I really get a buz when guests take the time to post their thoughts on thier expirences of ' The Lookout '. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the Future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the welcome (home baked choc chip muffins and tea),to the food and the accommodation, we could not rate it highly enough. Beautiful room with quality linen and towels.

This was a great base for travelling We hadn't realised how easy it was to reach Port Isaac, Fowe, Polperro and Looe. Great coastal walks. Great cycling track from Wadebridge to Padstow along the estuary - brilliant.

Room Tip: If you cant decide between the twin (which is less expensive) and the double room (Sea Room) go for the double which has a lovely view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. Jackie and I really appreciate your positive comments. We are very happy that you found The Sea room so comfortable and are pleased that you found the location of ‘The Lookout’ so convenient for seeing many of the beautiful areas of Cornwall. It has to be said you certainly made very good use of your time here both on foot and with public transport.

We were also very impressed by your admirable artistic talents (both of you).

It would be great to see you sometime in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having just returned from a quick tour of Devon and Cornwall we just wanted to say a huge "Thank you" to Steve and Jackie for making us feel so welcome and at home in their lovely B&B. Fabulous views which ever way you look. Really warm welcome and they really do go that extra mile to make sure that your stay is as hassle free as possible. The bedroom was lovely and comfortable with the softest, fluffiest towels ever in the very stylish en-suite bathroom. Well done Jackie and Steve. We hope it won't be too long before we can make a longer stay with you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acronPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

As always Jackie and I are so proud when our guests take the time to give us such a great review as you have. Pleased you enjoyed the views from the ' Sea ' room...they are quite spectacular particularly during sunrise. As said before we have been so fortunate to have had such fantastic guests as yourselves. We look forward to seeing you here again at The Lookout.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews