We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay when visiting Eden Project”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lookout Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best place to stay when visiting Eden Project”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Lookout Guesthouse is special not just for its immaculate comfortable rooms, fabulous views across St. Austell Bay and close proximity to the Eden Project. The owners, Steve and Jackie, made the trip more memorable with their welcoming atitude. They have set a benchmark for all our future trips. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturalquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay at ’ The Lookout’. Jackie and I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We are glad you found everything to you liking. Also that our location was so convenient for your visit to the wonderful Eden project. Yes we have to agree the views across the bay are fantastic. ( sunrise…wow… :o)

Continued success with your business venture your quilts look wonderful.

We look forward to having you with us in the future..

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
203
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent one night at The Lookout Guesthouse, whilst I was working in the local area. Jackie and Steve have a fabulous home and B&B, and made us feel very welcome. Everything was immaculate and of high quality....the only things that would have improved our experience were more time there and more sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It was a pleasure having you both with us here at ‘The Lookout’. Jackie and I really do appreciate your positive comments. Sorry we could not muster up more sun for you this time around but we most certainly can offer you a longer stay in the future. It would be great to see you again. Hope the biz side of the trip went well and that ‘Ship Wreck Center’ at Charlestown was of interest with its fascinating history of the wrecks around Cornwall. The sections and collections of memorabilia on The Titanic and Lusitania are very interesting.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our first visit and hopefully not our last. If I could give an extra star I would. Great hosts, really nice contemporary feel & well situated. Rooms were spotlessly clean, amenities were excellent and the full cornish breakfast is all you need to keep you going for the day.

This was a great start to our short cornish break (thankfully the weather held out)

Steve & Jackie, keep up the good work and continued success !

Mark & Mariya

Room Tip: Go for the Sea Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyYab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Many thanks for your great review….our 50th . It was a pleasure having you with us here at the’Lookout’. It is a shame that we did not have longer to talk further about your fascinating careers…really interesting.
Hope you had an enjoyable time at the Eden Project….a very impressive and enlightening place.

We certainly would look forward to seeing you both again in the future…

Many thanks once again for your time.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

this was our 3rd visit to jackie and steves guesthouse stayed in the suite still as good as ever very clean and with a fantastic welcome and wonderful breakfast to set you up for the day and nothing to much trouble
many thanks and as arnie would say ill be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clingonshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
It was great to see you both once again. Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review. Jackie and I are just pleased that we can play our part in making your time here in ‘ SUNNY ‘ Cornwall enjoyable. What weather you had!!!
Many thanks for the cakes and in particular sourcing gluten free for Jackie :o)…very considerate. Once again Happy Anniversary and glad that Austell’s looked after you… or should I say ‘ Bret@Austells ‘ as it is now known .

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 'the sea' room which had such a beautiful view of St Austell bay and a very comfy bed! Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the day - had lots of choice and all freshly prepared to your liking! Location is perfect for the Eden Project as only a 5 min drive away. Jackie and Steve were so welcoming and had brilliant knowledge of the local area - it felt like we were staying with relatives! Thanks again for a fantastic stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gab1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lookout Guesthouse and that the ‘Sea room’ was so much to your liking. Yes the view there is pretty stunning, particularly the sunrise.
Have to say Jackie and I were impressed by the amount you ‘packed in’ during your stay here in this wonderful part of Cornwall.
Good luck with the golf handicap and career progress.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had an amazing summer stay at the Lookout guesthouse. A very high standard of accommodation, modern and well maintained. A fantastic breakfast with the best 'hogs pudding' we found in Cornwall. But, most of all fantastic hosts; warm and welcoming with brilliant local recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
We know that it has been an eventful year for you both and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Jackie and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad the locally sourced hogs pudding was to your liking - we have found a great supplier for all our pork products. Many thanks once again and we wish you all the very best for the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lookout Guesthouse. The rooms are beautifully decorated and of high quality and standard. Steve and Jackie did their utmost to make our stay easy for us and nothing was too much for them - they even gave us a ride to the restaurant around the corner. This is definitely the best B&B we have stayed in during our Cornwall trip. Highly recommend and looking forward to staying with you soon again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helli_ga97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Many thanks for the very positive review of your stay here at ‘ The Lookout ‘. It was great having you with us. Jackie and I are glad that you found the ‘ Cove ‘ so comfortable. It really means a lot to us to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your time in beautiful Cornwall went well. You were great guests and we most certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
2.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Number One Bed & Breakfast
Number One Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guesthouse

Property: The Lookout Guesthouse
Address: Coed-Duon Carclaze Road | Carclaze Road, St Austell PL25 3TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lookout Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Steve hope you will find all the information you require to inspire you to join them for a memorable stay in their welcoming luxury guesthouse in St Austell. The Lookout Guesthouse is a bespoke architect designed house with spectacular panoramic views over St Austell Bay. We offer a boutique Garden Suite and two beautifully appointed luxury guest bedrooms (The Sea and The Cove). All rooms complete with superb large en-suites. We are situated 5 minutes from the Eden Project and close to many of Cornwall's major attractions. Breakfast is served in our unique octagonal breakfast room or during the summer months on our decking overlooking St Austell Bay. Begin your day with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, muesli, fruit compote and yoghurt whilst you await your freshly cooked English breakfast. Alternatively, you can always try one of our specials, for example; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, or poached eggs on a toasted muffin. With a pot of freshly brewed tea or a cafetiere of ground coffee you will be set up for a full day exploring the delights of Cornwall! Our produce is locally sourced from quality suppliers. Where possible, we strive to use Fairtrade products. As Jackie is a coeliac, a gluten free menu is always available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Guesthouse Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing