We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST PLEASANT BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
RUSHDEN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“MOST PLEASANT BREAK”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After a Spring Bank family Holiday in North Devon, wife & self fulfilled a long-standing plan to take in Eden Project & Heligan Gardens with St. Austell most conveniently situated midway between the two just down the coast into Cornwall.. Penwinnick House seemed to tick all the boxes & we were not disappointed with the location. Despite a somewhat late evening arrival, we were greeted most warmly by senior management & shown to our ( only available) room. Quickly out & a decent meal in Prezzo next to cinema in town. Soon decided that the house was fine for just a short stay but no longer as limited wardrobe space meant most clothes stayed in suitcases and bathroom a bit of a squeeze but well equipped & most taken ( we didn't) by the bathrobe & slippers, nice touch here. Our room no.1, was facing the busy main A390 & although it was a little way away, the traffic noise throughout created a disturbed nights sleep as a warm evening required an open window as no aircon.. Great breakfast with choices to suit all tastes taken in the conservatory. The in-house St. Austell guide gave plenty of local info particularly that the town centre was a 15 minute walk away but omitted to mention the bus/ rail station was all of that up a steep climb. Can't pass this review by without commenting on our final evening meal which was taken in the Hop & Vine, adjacent Trinity Church which I had spotted on our way to the bus station earlier that day. It attracted me as it looked a 'real pub' & despite the fact that it was a quiet Monday evening, we had the best meal of the holiday chosen by both of us - an absolutely moorish piping hot homemade fish pie washed down with a couple of pints of well-kept 'Tribute' which didn't have to travel too far as the brewery is only just around the corner - guided tours available I understand. Fantastic meal & we needed the walk home. In conclusion, I would say that our stay in Penwinnick House was OK , fine for what we wanted and 3 nights just right, anymore & we would have been frustrated by the small room & traffic noise. Possibly a little overpriced for what was on offer. JW

Room Tip: Negotiate a discount on room no.1. especially in busy holiday season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Gold Standard, what else is there to say?
Warm welcome by Tim,
Friendliest and efficient service.
Freshly decorated areas and bedroom.
Comfy bed and en suite had a free-standing shelving unit, not the usual silly little glass shelf.
Robes & slippers provided, more than most hotels.
Breakfast room bright and airy, breakfast real Cornish!
THE place to stay in St Austell, bar none.
Excellent, well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 72traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This B+B was a lovely place to stay for a mini trip to St Austell. Its location is super for a short walk into town in the evening, and a quick drive to the beach or tourist attractions during the day!
The B+B itself was very clean and tidy, the staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice. We loved the free wifi as it meant we could use our phone to look up where to go that day and what the weather was doing! They also provided details of places to visit and a map of how to get into town and where the nearest pub was!
Despite being on a main road we didn't hear much noise at all, slept beautifully!
Would definitely recommend this place as somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bea156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Greeted on arrival by tim & shown straight to our room after a quick briefing.
Room was lovely & clean, fresh & modern.
Awesome tv with full sky package to wind down after our busy days.
Lovely shower/bathroom facilities all within arms reach.
Comfortable nights sleep & lovely breakfasts to start our days off.
Fab friendly staff all round ;) good advice offered for various attractions to help out on cheaper prices & waiting times.
We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doolitttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly hotel. Tim made us all very welcome. Nice to have robes and slippers and a guest lounge. Breakfast was excellent. Location was ideal for the Eden Project. Would stay there again next time we are in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Penwinnick proved to be a pleasant stopover whilst working down in Cornwall. The premises themselves are clean and tidy and theere was a warm welcome on arrival. The breakfast the following morning was beautifully cooked. I would certainly look to use Penwinnick again when back in the area. For those who have slightly longer in the area, it would make a useful base.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Truth be told, I've not stayed in a BnB for a few years, due to lasting memories of matching floral bedspreads and curtains, curfews, and owners who seemed put out that you were spending money in their business. However, Penwinnick House blew this image out of the window, and offered a genuinely fantastic modern BnB stay with all the mod cons while keeping just the more pleasant aspects of a traditional BnB.

Firstly, the location is pretty good - easily accessible off a main road (but with sound-proof double glazing, before you worry). We found a great put to eat at just a 10-15 walk away too. Getting to The Eden Project was only a 15 min drive away. There was parking for about 5 cars which was one less worry.

The entire house was decorated to a high-end, modern standard (no paisley carpets or coral linen here, thank you!), and was spotlessly clean. The room we stayed in had thick, quality carpets, all the practical necessities (finally, somewhere that supplies enough coat hangers!), and the softest towels and bathrobes I've ever worn. Again, the bathroom was very modern - the only constructive criticism I'd like to add is: please add a shelf for toiletries, and perhaps offer face cloths.

Critically - this place offered some impressive extras such as free high-speed wifi and Sky TV including Sky Movies, so us gadgetphiles were very happy after a long day doing touristy things.

We were offered most of the usual breakfast items, from 'full Cornish' to cereal and toast, and had a nice view of the birds joining us at their table in the garden. The owner can cook some mean scrambled eggs!

What topped everything off was the sincere friendliness of the owner Tim, who made us feel very welcome during our entire stay, and seemed genuinely interested that we were having a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clockworkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Cornish Riviera, this 4-star Guest House offers a blend of charming period character and modern comfort and luxury. Penwinnick House is an ideal base from which to explore all of the area’s world-class attractions, including the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Only a short walk from the town centre shops, restaurants and cinema it is an ideal location for the perfect vacation.Rich in original character and charm, yet fresh and uncluttered, the light and spacious en suite rooms feature modern luxuries, including 32 inch LED HD televisions with the full SKY TV package including Sky Sports,Sky Movies and Sky Entertainment. All rooms have hairdryers and tea/coffee making facilities in addition to charming extras such as fresh filtered water and complimentary biscuits and a selection of toiletries.A hearty cooked Cornish or continental breakfast is included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing