We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The GRILL - CLOSED

The GRILL
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: St. Austell's new and only Steakhouse/Grill. Serving mouthwatering Pulled Pork/Brisket, Steaks, Beer Butt Chicken, Racks of Ribs and lots more!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the grill on Saturday, very open minded. We were not disappointed at all. The food was great with massive portions. The staff could have been ore educated on the food. But it did not spoil the quality of the food. Will definitely go again. P.s have the longhorn burger.. Amazing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamespayne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Well impressed with the steak, mouth watering and so tender a steak knife not needed. The portion sizes are also good and the typical grill menu you would expect. We visited on a quiet night so not much atmosphere however will definitely be back for the food and service which we could not fault.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Quality meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal with the family. I ordered a very nicely done peice of garlic bread for a starter and a very filling bacon cheese burger. Didnt wait long for the food. Excellent service. Excellent meal great value for money would definitely be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Call into the grill tonight (24/01/24) had what I can only say was the best rib-eye steak ever, perfectly cooked onion rings, and homemade fries, starter of potato skins smothered in homemade chilli and jack cheese were also sublime. 5* food, great service, one barmaid, who always had a smile to go with the drinks. Already booked for next week, to try a T-bone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puds694@gmail.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was the second time me and my family have been to this restaurant. We went on opening night and the service was terrible and same went for the food. We just though it was teething problems being a newly opened place. Well we were very wrong!!!! Its been open a good few months now and though it must of improved. We got there on a Saturday evening and there was one poor girl running the bar waiting on tables and cleaning the tables..... It wasn't overly busy to be fair two or three tables. It taken us over 15 minutes to get a drink and seated. Eventually placed our starters and they taken half a hour to come out and was not impressed at all. Thick greasy onion rings and garlic bread that was soggy and dripping in oil. Next the mains... It taken over a hour to get the food. When it came out it was cold!!! Chips looked like they were re-fry's from the afternoon. By then the manager had decided to turn up. She apologised for the long wait. And when we said we didn't want the cold food and were not willing to eat it she said the best she could do was give us 20% off. Ha not likely we ended up paying for our drinks and the starters. Over all a wasted night and TERRIBLE food. 2 very awful night experienced there. NEVER again!!! P.s we are not snobby people writing a bad review just your standard middle class working people. Thanks for reading

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The GRILL also viewed

 
St Stephen, St Austell
Stenalees, St Austell
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing