We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic breakfasts and great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic breakfasts and great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

After finding Sue & Dav'e B&B on the internet our recent stay (along with two friends) all the reviews listed here are spot on! Although there are only two rooms available this proved to be an added bonus as we didn't have to share space with anyone else.

Sue's breakfasts have to be seen to be believed! After witnessing the delivery of a fresh egg from their own chickens, they don't come any fresher than that.

The en-suite bedrooms are spacious, modern & clean with tea & coffee facilities provided plus a basket of fresh fruit each day. A small sitting room provides a small fridge with ample milk & bottled water for guests.

We can not recommend Sue & Dave's B&B highly enough - if you are hoping to stay there be sure to book well ahead or you might miss out on this fantastic, home away from home location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, Warks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Every review you read below this one is correct. We were absolutely spolied by Sue from the moment we arrived, (very late) and were given scones with clotted cream, to the moment we left. Her breakfasts kept us going all day. They were huge, with eggs laid that morning by her 'girls' and tomatoes from her garden. The rooms were clean (and more modern than you will see in some of the pictures) and every day we had a bowl of fresh fruit in the room and a choice of decaff as well as normal coffee, every kind of tea you could wish for, unlimited milk and also chilled bottled water. Sue helped us decide where we should spend our days and was always around when we needed her. I'd definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahameKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Having found this place on the internet, myself and my wife were extremely pleased with the quality of the room with en-suite, and the plentiful and tasty breakfast. Sue and Dave were very friendly, and made us feel very welcome, but at the same time we were able to come and go without feeling as though we were imposing upon their daily life. I would happily stay at this B & B again, should myself and my wife head back down to Cornwall. Thanks Sue and Dave!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seedam1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a great place!As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a cup of tea and scones! Was so impressed with everything! Sue and Dave are just the loveliest people and their B+B is clean, tidy and modern. Our room was great, comfy bed, excellent bathroom, tv,and all the tea and coffee requirements you could wish for!! Their location is handy to everything and they also have parking. They are very helpful with local attractions and maps etc. The breakfast is nothing short of amazing! we were so stuffed when we left I don't think we even had lunch that day!! Thank you so much for such an enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our stay with Sue and Dave was a very pleasant experience.
Only two rooms but this was the advantage . Sue had plenty of time for her guests, lots of local info, where to go and where not to bother. Her breakfasts were simply amazing, added to that her own "girls" provided the eggs,wonderful.
Rooms were very clean ,with fresh towels each day. Tea/coffee tray , fresh fruit.
Small fridge with a plentiful supply of water in small sitting room.
The house is well position for travel to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden project. Close to lovely little harbours with great restaurants and bars.
All in all ,a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vcsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

A great B&B where you are looked after by Sue, who not only cooks the biggest and best breakfast we have ever had, but is just so pleasant, friendly and helpful. But if you don't want the full breakfast there is so much more choice to had! The breakfast room also has great views of the fields in the distance and the lovely front garden, complete with a well stocked pond, while the chickens have got their own place in the back garden, so eggs don't come any fresher!
The location is great for the town centre and if like us you are visiting the Eden Project it is no more than a 15 minute drive away. There is ample off road parking to be able to leave your car and walk that big breakfast off, as the town centre is within easy walking distance.
It is also a great base for touring the many other attractions in the area.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, towels were changed daily and there is tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit in there for you.
We would definately book this B&B again for our next visit to the area

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivensue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Best B&B we have stayed in and beats some hotels. The room was spacious and the en-suite was more than you would expect and both were spotless and modern. Sue's breakfast are excellent and there is always plenty of choice and nothing is too much trouble. Sue's knowledge of the area was very helpful to us - it was like having our own tourist information centre. Great location especially for the town (only a short walk away), and most other attractions and places to visit. Would stay again without a doubt. Thanks Sue and Dave for making our break away special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.5 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#11 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Southbourne Road | 3 miles from Eden Project, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allen's Bed & Breakfast is a small, clean, family-run bed & breakfast with modern en-suite bathrooms, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, tea/coffee, hair dryers, & private off street parking. Close to The Eden Project (4 miles) & The Lost Gardens of Heligan (5 miles) makes this the ideal base to explore beautiful Cornwall. We are also within walking distance from St Austell train/bus station & town centre. Unlike other B & Bs in St Austell we offer value for money. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allen`s Bed And Breakfast
Allen`s Hotel St Austell
Allen's Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing