We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Base for Eden and Heligan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Perfect Base for Eden and Heligan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

A great choice as a base to visit Eden and Heligan. As said in other reviews - Sue thank you so much for everything - fab breakfasts, lots of supplies in room, pub recommendations and advice on Eden and Heligan. Room and bathroom/shower exceptionally clean. Very quiet and peaceful location. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Excellent welcome from Sue including traditional cream tea. Helpful advice on where to visit, maps of local area etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

The cream tea on arrival set the standard for the rest of our stay. In the very clean and comfortable room not only the usual tea and coffee making facilities but a good selection of speciality teas, fresh fruit and bottled water every day. The TV had Freeview offering a good selection of programmes to watch as you rested after walking around The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of heligan which are close by. As for the breakfast it was wonderful, nothing to much trouble for Sue who was always willing to advise on nearby attractions and really good places to eat. Already planning our next visit next spring! Thank you Dave and Sue for a wonderful time Carole and Barry x

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshirePeridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Very friendly and welcoming hosts, couldn't fault the cleanliness or comfort of the room. Food very well cooked/presented. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank x_stitcher124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed for two nights from 24th July to 26th July. We were welcomed very warmly by Sue, and offered tea or coffee once we had been shown to our room. This was served in the breakfast room along with scones, jam and clotted cream - delicious and very welcome after a long drive. This room has a lovely large patio door overlooking the well tended garden. Our room was very good, nicely decorated, and with a well proportioned shower room en suite. There is a tray in the room with a kettle and a good choice of tea/ coffee and speciality teas along with milk and biscuits. The rooms are separate from the main house with their own front door. Sue sat and talked to us whilst we had our tea and scones, and was very helpful with recommending somewhere to have an evening meal and in fact offered to drive us down to Charlestown, which we gladly accepted. The breakfast was really good, with a choice of fruit juice, along with a good choice of cereal or grapefruit, then a cooked breakfast. Unless you have an enormous appetite, I would recommend that you make a choice of items for the cooked breakfast, or you may not have room for the toast. I have to say that we only needed a very light snack at lunchtime. The breakfast was very well cooked and presented. Sue's husband Dave helps out at the weekend and is a very friendly chap.
Our booking was dealt with very efficiently, and I would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Dave and Sue a lovely couple with stories to tell over a fantastic breakfast. The room was clean and very tidy with en-suite shower room. Could'nt ask for a better service and will definately be booking up again next time we travel to Cornwall.
Thankyou Sue and Dave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Sue and Dave Allen are the perfect hosts. We would very much recommend staying there without hesitation and are already very much looking forward to returning. Very welcoming (cream tea on arrival) and the breakfasts were second to none. Fresh fruit and bottled water always available in the room and nothing was too much. Plenty of information available as to what to do and see. The facilities were excellent and always tidy and perfectly clean.
So well done Sue and Dave and hope to make a return trip soon.
Stephen & Jill West Sussex

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.5 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#11 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Southbourne Road | 3 miles from Eden Project, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allen's Bed & Breakfast is a small, clean, family-run bed & breakfast with modern en-suite bathrooms, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, tea/coffee, hair dryers, & private off street parking. Close to The Eden Project (4 miles) & The Lost Gardens of Heligan (5 miles) makes this the ideal base to explore beautiful Cornwall. We are also within walking distance from St Austell train/bus station & town centre. Unlike other B & Bs in St Austell we offer value for money. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allen`s Bed And Breakfast
Allen`s Hotel St Austell
Allen's Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing