We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beaut B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
nambucca heads australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beaut B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

No big sign at the foot of the drive so missed it .

Once you do find the driveway there is plenty of space for the car.

The tea and scones were a very welcome sight and smell in what was a rotten English summer day. Cold wet and miserable.

The positive comments made by others about Sue, the rooms , the cleanliness of the place, the meals etc are all correct.

It is in an ideal locationfor the Eden Project and the lost gardens of Heligan. It is a short (20 Mins) uphill walk to the centre of town and Sue can tell you the best Pub in town for dinner.

A great placeto spend time at.

Hope we see you in Australia some day. Thanks for your hospitality - Ilene and George

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdlnambucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

After a long journey we were greeted by Sue and a fabulous cream tea! Our room was beautiful and exceptionally clean with all the mod cons!

Breakfasts were stunning and plenty of it!

Sue and her family were very welcoming and have running their B&B down to a fine art, lovely people, lovely rooms................the best B&B we have stayed in by far.

P.s I am still reading the Ulrika book Sue!

Thanks very much for our relaxing stay and im sure we will be back very soon!
Louise & Andy - Derbyshire

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubiepookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

This was our first visit to St Austell, or indeed Cornwall, so we weren't sure what to expect. At the end of a 5 hour drive we were greeted by Sue, and it felt more like she was family than someone running a business. She introduced us to the pleasures of a cream tea and settled us into our lovely, clean room. After she had pointed us in the direction of some pleasant places to spend the evening, we had a very comfortable night. Each morning she served us the most fantastic breakfasts, exactly as we wanted them. She provided us with information about local points of interest and was an absolute joy to spend time with. We were treated like royalty throughout our whole 3 day stay and cannot praise Sue and the accomodation enough. We will certainly be returning and I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting that part of the country. Thanks Sue, you're one in a million. Sally & Darren

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Many plus points. Well actually just one minor negative.....sited on a busy main road....However, Sue (Allen) was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food, clean room, linen, and helpful instructions on where to begin/conclude our walks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BottleboyShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

A great choice as a base to visit Eden and Heligan. As said in other reviews - Sue thank you so much for everything - fab breakfasts, lots of supplies in room, pub recommendations and advice on Eden and Heligan. Room and bathroom/shower exceptionally clean. Very quiet and peaceful location. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Excellent welcome from Sue including traditional cream tea. Helpful advice on where to visit, maps of local area etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

The cream tea on arrival set the standard for the rest of our stay. In the very clean and comfortable room not only the usual tea and coffee making facilities but a good selection of speciality teas, fresh fruit and bottled water every day. The TV had Freeview offering a good selection of programmes to watch as you rested after walking around The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of heligan which are close by. As for the breakfast it was wonderful, nothing to much trouble for Sue who was always willing to advise on nearby attractions and really good places to eat. Already planning our next visit next spring! Thank you Dave and Sue for a wonderful time Carole and Barry x

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshirePeridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trevanion Lodge
Trevanion Lodge
#50 of 97 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Heights
Alexandra Heights
#31 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale House
Langdale House
#23 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allen's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 Southbourne Road | 3 miles from Eden Project, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allen's Bed & Breakfast is a small, clean, family-run bed & breakfast with modern en-suite bathrooms, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, tea/coffee, hair dryers, & private off street parking. Close to The Eden Project (4 miles) & The Lost Gardens of Heligan (5 miles) makes this the ideal base to explore beautiful Cornwall. We are also within walking distance from St Austell train/bus station & town centre. Unlike other B & Bs in St Austell we offer value for money. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allen`s Bed And Breakfast
Allen`s Hotel St Austell
Allen's Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing