We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An odd mix of good and bad”

Highland Court Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Court Lodge
Ranked #91 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An odd mix of good and bad”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My experience of this b & b seems to embrace opinions & attitudes of other reviewers from both camps. On arrival our first impressions weren't great - we had booked 2 de luxe rooms - my daughter and her husband were in the main house and their room looked nicely decorated with reasonable amenities - ours was in a very unprepossessing looking outside building - although once inside the room was again nicely decorated and comfortable. The web site we thought deceiving since it gave the impression that we were closer to the sea with the picture displayed. On the + side - the breakfasts were wonderful - but what a pity we never got to meet the cook. Victoria never once made any effort to come out of the kitchen to welcome us - strange for someone whose business relies on good PR I would have thought. Nigel however was very helpful - our toiletries had not been replenished on one occasion which he was quick to rectify and he also helped us work out the workings of our shower quite late in the evening. We had assumed we would be eating in the b&b but this was not possible on the first evening and we certainly would not have been prepared to pay the price being asked in any event. £49 for a meal not to include coffee is way over the top for this type of establishment. Overall on balance I'm afraid I wouldn't be quick to recommend Highland Lodge. Victoria has obviously worked very hard at the decor which was delightful and her kind gesture of chocolatesetc on our last night, knowing it had been our wedding anniversaries, was appreciated but her initial telephone manner when booking wasn't encouraging, her inability to welcome us personally was unacceptable and generally her great breakfasts didn't alone make up for the high cost of staying there taking into account the above observations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank acrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaWright, Owner at Highland Court Lodge, responded to this review, 4 December 2010
These guests have criticised one of the rooms they booked. The room in question is obviously rated 5 star, like all of our accommodation, by the AA and Visit Britain.The building is only 2 years old, and naturally much more contemporary than the main lodge. Quite why its appearance has been criticised in this way is unclear. Victoria, the owner and cook, had very recently lost a very close and dear relative. This was explained to the guests , together with the fact that she did not feel up to coming out and socialising the our guests. However, the co-owner was always on hand to ,meet and greet, help and generally assist with any questions or problems. The situation has obviously cut no ice with the guests who have penalised Victoria for losing a member of her family. Why they "assumed" they would be eating in the accommodation is also unclear.We never put guests under any pressure to dine with us. The cost of £49.00 per person, may appear to be at the top end of the scale, but it is a five course a la carte dinner and is superb. To criticise a meal/cost before sampling it, is at the very least, unfair. Victoria does all the cooking and did not feel up to cooking dinner for 4 people at this time. The guests have acknowledged Victoria's kind gesture of chocolates etc. in the bedroom, knowing that it was their wedding anniversaries, was over and above what you would expect in any 5 star hotel. However, these people have still taken it upon themselves to criticise certain aspects of the accommodation. The most amazing aspect of this review, however, is that they have criticised the value for money of their stay when they were on a "three nights for the price of two" deal! They received one night free! Bearing in mind the above, would you leave the premises, saying that everything was delightful, arrive home, and post a review that does not recommend this accommodation? Once again, we have a situation of people hiding behind the internet to criticise accommodation that they stated was great upon leaving the premises! We could understand if the grievances were justified, but to criticise an evening meal that they did not have, a proprietor who had just lost a dear one, the cost of the accommodation that has been reduced by one third, and an en-suite that is 5 star rated and only two years old, is priceless. 99% of our guests , over an 8 year period, have a fantastic time with us but unfortunately, after writing in our guest book, go home, and forget all about posting anything on the internet. The other 1%, who will always find something, however small, to complain about, are the ones who gohome and go to town on the computer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    3
    2
    13
See reviews for
7
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

A very disappointing experience. The 'hotel' advertised itself as a five star B&B, when what was really offered was small rooms with nowhere to store our clothes. Flowers were left in the room to die and were not removed. Complementary coffee was of a very low quality and quantity. There was also nowhere to sit in or out of the rooms.

The proprietor was short to the point of rudeness on all occasions, including being told off for being two minutes early for breakfast, which was not offered earlier than 9am. We were on holiday hoping to get full days in and to not offer breakfast before nine is extremely inconvenient.

We booked for the food but when we were arrived we were told food was not available.

The B&B was twice as expensive as alternatives while offering a tiny fraction of the service available elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dischuffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaWright, Public Relations Manager at Highland Court Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2010
All our rooms have at least one double wardrobe with 12 coat hangers in each. Your room had a double waldrobe with 24 hangers. Your booking was for 3 nights. We are 5 star guest accommodation with both the AA and Visit Britain. We have also received a Gold award for the last 3 years with Visit Britain. Since opening 7 years ago we have received 14 awards for our food, hospitality and cleanliness. As the owner of this establishment I do not feel my products are of poor or low quality. I always buy local products which are organic or of good quality. When you made your booking you wanted the cheapest option. I do not consider a room which is 14ft square with a 9ft square ensuite and a 15ft square patio to be small. Nor do I feel Kenco fair trade sachets, decaffinated Kenco coffee, Twinnings Breakfast tea, Twinnings Earl Grey, Twinnings Assam, Jacksons Green Tea and Tea pigs super fruits tea, Cadburys chocolate, brown sugar, white sugar, sweetners, Cornish shortbread and Cornish Just Water to be of low quality and as for quality we give you 6 of each of these coffees every day. At any time you can come to reception and collect more. Ground coffee is also on tap in the Dining room all day. You also mentioned there was nowhere to sit; you had chairs in your room, garden furniture on your patio and a very large guest lounge to relax in. The reason why you were unable to have food was because I had just lost my Grandfather. It appears you found this unaccpetable but unfortunatley to me it was a sad loss. You said our accommodation was twice as expensive as the alternatives, available. Why did you select us if we were so expensive? The only alternative I can think of for that price would be a budget hotel at £30.00 per night with no breakfast. Also 99% of people who are on holiday love having breakfast at 9:00am.They say it is a very sociable time, because they are on holiday! If you had wanted an earlier breakfast all you needed to do was ask. Unfortunately we are not mind readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Austell hotels

Reading, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This lodge was the perfect base to explore the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan and Lanhydrock. It's also very near to Fowey, Megavissey & Charleston. The owners were so friendly, I really can't believe the other comments made on this site. We had no problems with them at all! Wireless worked & the spa bath was a hoot! (especially as my mum didn't know how they worked & didn't fill it enough!).
As it is their own home too, they made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts included all choices from fruit, cereals, yoghurts to cooked bacon, eggs, porridge - Because I am wheat intolerant, they'd got special bread & yoghurts in to accomodate that.

Although it's a little bit further away from Fowey than we'd anticipate, the peace and quiet of the surroundings was excellent. You have your own private patio which was very welcome after a long hot day at the Eden Project!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We didn't even make it to this place. I booked through Late Rooms, since there was no online booking and I wanted to book - and have my booking confirmed - at a time when it was inappropriate to phone a small guesthouse.
A gentleman called the next morning and explained that I had booked with no breakfast. I said that I hadn't realised that, and he quizzed me as to why I had booked with Late Rooms despite the booking being 2 months in advance so I explained. I requested that they add breakfast and just let me know how much extra that would be. At this point he asked me to hold and then a woman came on the line and asked how she could help. I explained that I was already being helped, but she said abruptly and quite rudely "Well obviously I'm taking over now" and began to rant about Late Rooms and their arrangement with them, etc. I replied that I'd just like to add breakfast, whatever the cost, and that there was no problem as far as I was concerned, as long as she could confirm that the room was booked. At this point she became quite astonishingly rude and announced very aggressively that she was cancelling the booking!
I travel a lot, I stay in hotels constantly and I have NEVER come across this kind of behaviour before.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank erromango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

After reading a couple of the reviews for Highland Court Lodge, myself and a colleague are in complete disbelief at some of the guests comments of dissatisfaction, and we could not disagree more.

Myself and a colleague have stayed at the lodge on several occasions and it will always be our first choice of accommodation when we travel for business to the surrounding areas which we do frequently from our company based in Worcestershire. Yes, there are many more hotels closer to the Truro area to where we mainly travel for business; however, do we want standard service and rooms? Absolutely not, we want an affordable little touch of luxury. We are also comparing Highland Court to some of the largest hotel chains and their superior accommodation on offer in our assessment.

It sounds very much to us that some of these guests are wanting the luxury experience without expecting to be charged a fair cost for it. Perhaps a visit to one of the more commercialised venues on offer with a ‘meal deal’ for a small additional charge on a basic room would suit them better? Highland Court Lodge is something rarely found these days, good value for money.

Nigel and Victoria are always so very accommodating with nothing being too much trouble. They are always on hand to ensure your stay with them meets your requirements. The rooms are a good size and offer a varying level of luxury items, dependant on room choice, but all are well appointed with high levels of cleanliness and none of which can possibly be described as disappointing. All needs have been well thought through ranging from luxury complimentary toiletries and towels, a wide range of drinks and chocolate in the mini bars including locally produced beverages, a wide range of hot drink choices and plenty of them, room service for scrumptious locally produced Cornish ice-creams, a library of DVDS to select from, comfortable beds with crisp white luxury linen and dependant on room selection, a wonderful relaxing Jacuzzi bath. The decor of the rooms has clearly been well planned. Each room we have stayed in also affords you a lovely private patio area for relaxing and enjoying a well deserved beverage of your choice at the end of a busy day either working or sightseeing.
The in-room dining menu is more than adequate, as is the seating area to accommodate this with comfortable chairs and large coffee table. The restaurant dining is a treat for those who want to experience truly delicious food. However, for those who seem to take issue over the price for a 5 course dinner, why not try the local produce on offer elsewhere? After all, most people are staying there for a break and we would assume are wanting to explore the local surrounding areas?
Breakfast is outstanding and includes a full range of beverages, cereals, fruit, toast and a full cooked breakfast, and whilst there is a set time for breakfast, Nigel and Victoria have always been accommodating and catered for our needs, even having our cooked breakfast ready at 6:30am!

We feel the website gives an accurate description of what you can expect on visiting Highland Court Lodge and displays current up to date photographs of rooms available today. Our advise would be to simply check on the specification of your room at the time of booking as all rooms are individual which makes it a pleasurable stay each visit.

We really fail to see how you could not enjoy your stay at Highland Court Lodge to the full, and having stayed on several occasions, we feel well qualified to comment and totally justified in our comments. This lodge is well suited to both business and leisure breaks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We have just spent four nights at Highland Court Lodge which provided us with a relaxing, enjoyable time in Cornwall. The lodge is centrally-placed, allowing us to easily visit the Eden Project, Newquay, & Landsend amongst others. However, there were some issues which we would like to highlight later on in the review as suggestions for improvement. We are widely-travelled professionals, both having stayed in a variety of different types of accommodation around the world & eaten in wide-ranging styles of restaurant, so feel we are qualified to comment.

On our arrival, we were greeted by the owner who was friendly & courteous. Car parking was easy, as was the check-in procedure. We paid for a Deluxe Premier Suite on a 4-for-3 night offer (equivalent of £127 per night) so were expecting a high standard of accommodation for the price. The room was well furnished & decorated to a high standard; the bed was comfortable & wardrobe space plenty for all our belongings. As advertised, there were tea & coffee-making facilities & fresh-cut flowers on our arrival. The 'open-plan lounge area' is quite a generous description, more some wicker chairs & a small coffee table in the corner of the room. We had a flat-screen TV, however were disappointed to find that there was no DVD player, contrary to description on the website. We raised this with the owner at the time, who informed us that some of the rooms did not have DVD players & there was none spare, surprising considering we were in the Deluxe Premier Suite & were the only guests staying at the time. However, two days later, a DVD player did appear in our room which was a pleasant surprise & we were grateful for the effort made.
The en-suite bathroom was spacious, extremely clean, with an excellent shower & lovely bath with jacuzzi feature. Unfortunately, there were no bathrobes present & the 'lovely, large fluffy towels' were very small! Again, we brought the bathrobe issue up with the owner who stated that he wasn't sure whether the robes were back from the laundry. Shortly afterwards, two bathrobes were delivered to our room - a shame we had to ask for them. There were some small sample-sized toiletries present, however, we were misled by the website advertising luxury toiletries available & consequently had to go and buy some at Tescos on our first night - there were no bath-related toiletries, a shame with such a nice bath.
The layout of the lodge & our room was such that it was possible to hear a lot of the goings-on of the family. It felt like we were intruding on their family home & consequently felt uncomfortable at times.
The breakfast's were fantastic: the range & quality of food on offer was second-to-none from fruits & yoghurt to pancakes to cooked breakfasts. Although we recognise that this is a small establishment, we think that the breakfast times of 9am-10am could be potentially restrictive, especially as room-servicing was from 10.30am onwards.
We ate out on all four of our night's stay but not by choice. The Lodge offers a 5 course fine dining menu (including bread & olive oil, & a sorbet palate cleanser as 2 of the courses) for £58 per person (as advertised in the in-room menu), not including service or alcohol. We did not sample the food, but suspect that it is of a good standard if the breakfast is anything to go by, however, the prices are grossly extortionate by any standards. To compare, we visited the St.Kew Inn near Wadebridge (as recommended by the Good Food Guide) which provided some of the best 3 course cooking we have tasted for £76 in total including service & alcohol!

In summary, this is a high-end B&B which is well-equipped & well-located. The owners were friendly & helpful. However, the website is misleading & confers a level of luxury which just doesn't quite deliver. The room prices are very expensive compared to other luxury abodes & the little things were missing e.g. bathrobes & DVD which one would expect on the most expensive room available without having to ask.
The in-house dining option is flawed: despite not having eaten there, it is evident that this is grossly overpriced when compared to other local options. We suggest breaking the menu up to offer one or two course options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My wife and I decided to spend our first anniversary in Cornwall and chose this place for a long weekend stay. Some factors that influenced our decision were its close proximity to Eden project (30 minute walk or £4.50 on the cab), hotel rating, breakfast menu and the countryside location. I must admit that we were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on this website.

Highland court lodge is a small family run establishment and it has its own pros and cons. On the plus side, each room is well designed and catered for. We opted for the luxury deluxe suite (£170 per night) which is a tad too expensive for a room of its size and given the location of the lodge. The room was very spacious, came with an equally large bathroom with its own jacuzzi and some small nice personal touches. We had a restful nights sleep during our stay and were pampered in the morning with a sumptuous and delicious breakfast. Both of us are vegetarians and we were very nicely accommodated.

Breakfast is normally served between 9 and 10 AM and this could be a little restrictive. We were fairly relaxed with our schedule and hence were not too bothered by it. Eden project is pretty close and we spent an entire day there and returned late in the evening. It is worth mentioning that there aren't too many choices of restaurants. We did visit a pub (Brittania Inn) close by and were thoroughly impressed with the ambience and quality of food served. We felt that our mobility was a little restricted as we drive and were reliant on public transport.

We checked out on a Monday morning and made our way to Heligan Gardens (£18 by cab). On the whole, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaWright, Public relations Manager at Highland Court Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
Thank you for your appreciative comments. It is nice to know that all our hard work is not always in vain. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Court Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Court Lodge

Property: Highland Court Lodge
Address: Biscovey Road, St Austell PL24 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Highland Court Lodge Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing